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BEFORE THE LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

OF THE STATE OF OREGON 

 

 

In the Matter of the Application   ) FINAL FINDINGS OF FACT 

For a Service Permit Filed by:  ) CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

      ) AND ORDER 

 JOEL HERNANDEZ  ) OLCC-09-SPR-011 

 

 

HISTORY OF THE CASE 
 

On February 2, 2009, the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC or Commission) 

received an application for a service permit from Joel Hernandez (Applicant).  On March 3, 

2009, the OLCC issued a Service Permit Denial Notice to Applicant.  The Notice alleged that the 

application should be denied pursuant to OAR 845-009-0020(7)(a)(A), because within three 

years Applicant had two Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII) convictions or 

diversions, one of which was within the past 12 months.  Applicant filed a timely request for 

hearing.  The case was referred to the Office of Administrative Hearings on April 17, 2009. 

 

A hearing was held by telephone on June 8, 2009, before Administrative Law Judge 

Robert L. Goss.  Applicant appeared without counsel and testified.  Gwenn McNeal presented 

the case for OLCC and testified.  The record closed at the conclusion of the hearing. 

 

The Administrative Law Judge considered the record of the hearing and the applicable 

law and issued a Proposed Order mailed June 29, 2009. 

 

No Exceptions to the Proposed Order were filed within the 15-day period specified in 

OAR 845-003-0590. 

 

The Commission adopts the Proposed Order of the Administrative Law Judge as the 

Final Order of the Commission and enters the following based on the preponderance of the 

evidence: 

 

EVIDENTIARY RULINGS 

 

OLCC’s Exhibits A1 through A3 were admitted into the record without objection.   

 

ISSUES 

 

 1.  Whether Applicant’s application for a service permit should be denied because, within 

three years of the application for a service permit, he had a DUII conviction and a DUII 

diversion, at least one of which was within 12 months of the date of his application.  ORS 

471.380; OAR 845-009-0020(7)(a)(A); ORS 670.280. 
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 2.  If the application should be denied because of Applicant’s convictions, whether he has 

shown good cause to overcome the denial.  OAR 845-009-0020(3) and (7)(b). 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1.  Applicant applied for a service permit.  The Commission received the application on 

February 2, 2009.  (Ex. A1; Test. of Ms. McNeal.)  

 

2.  On January 14, 2008, Applicant was arrested for DUII.  As a result of the arrest and 

resulting charge of DUII, Applicant entered into a DUII diversion agreement through the Circuit 

Court of Multnomah County on March 12, 2008.  The diversion ended on March 11, 2009.  (Ex. 

A2; test. of Applicant.) 

 

 3.  On February 23, 2009, Applicant was convicted of DUII in the Circuit Court of 

Washington County.  The DUII crime occurred on January 12, 2009.  Applicant is currently on 

probation for the DUII, which he believes should last for approximately two years from the date 

of conviction.  (Ex. A2; test. of Applicant.) 

 

 4.  Applicant is currently enrolled in a substance abuse program through Lifeworks.  

Applicant plans to be through with treatment in August or September 2009.  Applicant has 

abstained from alcohol since the end of January 2009.  (Test. of Applicant.) 

 

 5.  Applicant currently works as a waiter/bartender at the Juan Colorado restaurant in 

Portland.  Because the restaurant has a liquor license and sells alcoholic beverages to customers, 

Applicant must have a service permit to continue his employment.  (Test. of Applicant.) 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

 1.  Applicant’s application for a service permit should be denied because, within three 

years, he had a conviction and diversion for DUII, both of which were within 12 months of the 

Commission's receipt of his application. 

 

 2.  Applicant has not shown good cause to overcome the denial.   

 

OPINION 

 

The Commission proposes to deny Applicant's service permit application on the basis of 

the service permit rule, OAR 845-009-0020.  ORS 471.380(1)(a) and (d) allows the Commission 

to deny a service permit based on the applicant's habit of using alcohol or controlled substances 

to excess and on the applicant's law violation history.
1
  OAR 845-009-0020 describes how the 

Commission applies these statutory provisions.
 2
    

                                                 
1
  ORS 471.380 provides, in relevant part: 

 

Grounds for refusing to issue permit; request for hearing.  (1) The Oregon Liquor 

Control Commission may refuse to grant a service permit if it has reasonable grounds to 

believe any of the following to be true: 
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Where conviction of a crime is the basis for agency action, ORS 670.280 applies and the 

Commission must show the relationship between the conviction and the person’s fitness to sell or 

serve alcoholic liquor.
3
   The Commission has concluded that DUII convictions are convictions 

for violations of alcoholic liquor laws and are relevant to a person's fitness to serve and sell 

alcoholic liquor.  Dorothy J. Hamblin (OLCC, Final Order, 03-APR-036, December 2003); 

Carolyn A. White (OLCC, Final Order, 98-SPR-050, January 1996). 

 

OAR 845-009-0020(7)(a)(A) provides that the Commission will deny a service permit if 

within three years, an applicant has had two DUII convictions or one diversion and one 

conviction, any one of which was within 12 months of the date the application is received by the 

Commission.  

 

Applicant entered into a DUII diversion agreement that ended on March 11, 2009, and he 

was convicted of DUII on February 23, 2009.  Both events are within one year of the receipt of 

his service permit application by the OLCC on February 2, 2009.  Therefore, under OAR 845-

                                                                                                                                                             
(a) That the applicant is in the habit of using alcoholic beverages or controlled substances 

to excess. 

* * * * * 

(d) That the applicant has been convicted of violating any of the alcoholic liquor laws of 

this state, general or local, or has been convicted at any time of a felony. 
  
2
  OAR 845-009-0020 provides, in relevant part: 

 

(1)  ORS 471.380(1)(a) and (d) allow the Commission to deny a service permit based on 

the applicant's habit of using alcohol or controlled substances to excess and on the 

applicant's law violation history.  This rule describes how the Commission applies these 

statutory provisions. 

(2)  For this rule, references to a period of time means a period of time ending on the date 

the Commission receives the application.  For example, "within two years" means within 

two years of the date the Commission receives the application. 

* * * * * 

(7) Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII)/Furnishing Alcohol to Minors/ 

Liquor Law Violations: 

(a)  The Commission will deny a service permit if: 

(A)  Within three years the applicant has had two DUII convictions or one diversion and 

one conviction, any one of which was within 12 months[.] 

 
3
  ORS 670.280 provides:   

 

Denial, suspension or revocation of license prohibited solely because of criminal 

conviction; exception.  Except as provided in ORS 342.143 or 342.175, no licensing 

board or agency shall deny, suspend or revoke an occupational or professional license or 

certification solely for the reason that the applicant or licensee has been convicted of a 

crime, but it may consider the relationship of the facts which support the conviction and 

all intervening circumstances to the specific occupational or professional standards in 

determining the fitness of the person to receive or hold such license or certificate. 
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009-0020(7)(a)(A), the Commission is authorized to deny Applicant's application for a service 

permit, unless he can show good cause to overcome the denial. 

 

Good Cause 

 

 OAR 845-009-0020(3) and (7)(b) provide that an applicant may show good cause to 

overcome the denial by showing that the applicant has an alcohol or drug addiction disability; 

that the applicant has not used alcohol or controlled substances within 24 months of the service 

permit application; that the applicant has met drug treatment requirements as set out in the rule; 

and that the applicant has completed all parole or probation requirements.
4
 

 

 Applicant last consumed a controlled substance (alcohol) in January 2009, which is 

within the 24 months immediately preceding the Commission’s receipt of his service permit 

application in February 2009.  Moreover, Applicant is currently on probation following his 

February 2009 DUII conviction, and that probation is not scheduled to end for approximately 

two more years.  The Commission has previously decided that, to qualify for good cause, 

applicants must complete all probation or parole requirements.  This good cause requirement is 

strict, and includes completion of an inactive supervision or bench probation program.  Rita 

Vanatta (OLCC, Final Order, 01-SPR-018, July 2001).  Because Applicant consumed a 

controlled substance within the 24 months immediately preceding the Commission's receipt of 

his application and he has not completed his probation on the DUII conviction, he cannot 

establish good cause.  His service permit application must be denied. 

/  /  /  /  / 

/  /  /  /  / 

/  /  /  /  / 

/  /  /  /  / 

                                                 
4
  OAR 845-009-0020(3) and (7)(b) provide, in relevant parts: 
 

(3)  To be qualified for good cause under this rule: 

(a) An applicant must have had a drug addiction disability or alcohol addiction disability 

at the time of: 

* * * * *   

(D) DUII convictions or diversions which form the denial basis under OAR 845-009-

0020(7) and (8); or 

(b) The applicant was diagnosed as drug or alcohol addicted at the time of or as a result 

of the incidents described above. 

* * * * * 

(7)(b) If applicant has DUII convictions or diversions, good cause may apply.  Good 

cause to overcome the criteria in subsection (a)(A) through (C) above is the applicant's 

sworn statement on a Commission-supplied form that: 

(A) He/she has not used or consumed controlled substance within 24 months; and 

(B)  He/she has successfully completed a state certified drug treatment program or is 

actively involved in a state certified treatment or recovery program, and is following 

treatment recommendations.  If a completion certificate or other proof that the applicant 

successfully completed a treatment program is available, the applicant will provide a 

copy to the Commission; and 

(C) He/she has completed all parole or probation requirements. 
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FINAL ORDER 
 

The Commission orders that the application for a service permit filed by Joel Hernandez 

and received by the Commission on February 2, 2009, be DENIED. 

 

 It is further ordered that notice of this action, including the reasons for it, be given. 

 

Dated this 21
st
  day of July, 2009.  

 

 

 

/s/ Stephen A. Pharo 

Stephen A. Pharo 

Executive Director 

OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

 

Mailed this 21
st
  day of July, 2009. 

 

THIS ORDER IS EFFECTIVE ON THE DATE MAILED.   

 

NOTICE: You are entitled to judicial review of this Order.  Judicial review may be obtained 

by filing a petition for judicial review within 60 days from the service of this Order. 

Judicial review is pursuant to the provisions of ORS Chapter 183. 

 

 

 


