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Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL (CERA) APPLICATION & AGREEMENT 
 

INTRODUCTION 
 
What are the privileges of a Certificate of Approval permit? 
An Oregon wholesaler of wine, cider or malt beverage may import the wine, cider or malt beverage into Oregon only 
if one or both of the following applies: 
• If the wine, cider or malt beverage is being sent to the Oregon wholesaler from a person in the United State but from a 

state other than Oregon, the person sending the alcohol must have a valid CERA, or 
• If the wine, cider or malt beverage is being sent to the Oregon wholesaler directly from a person outside of the United 

State, the Oregon wholesaler must have a valid CERA. 
 
Note: A CERA is not needed for distilled liquor. 
 
What are the definitions in Oregon for wine, cider, malt beverages and distilled liquor? 
• Wine is made via the fermentation process, is not a cider or malt beverage, and contains not more than 21% alcohol 

by volume. Note: Cider containing more than 8.5% alcohol is considered wine 
• Cider is made from the fermentation of the juice of apples or pears that contains not more than 8.5% alcohol by 

volume, including, but not limited to, flavored, sparkling or carbonated cider. 
• Malt Beverage is made from the fermentation of grain and contains not more than 14% alcohol by volume. Malt 

beverage includes beer, ale, porter, stout and similar alcoholic beverages. Malt beverage does not include cider or an 
alcoholic beverages obtained primarily by fermentation of rice, such as sake. 

• Distilled liquor is any alcoholic beverage that does not qualify as a wine, cider or malt beverage. Other common 
names for distilled liquor are distilled spirits, hard liquor and hard cider. 

 
What is the fee for a Certificate of Approval permit? 
The fee is $350. 
 
For what period of time is a Certificate of Approval permit valid? 
A CERA is valid for a period beginning on the date of issuance and ending on December 31st of the fifth calendar year. 
Renewal notices will be mailed in October of the year your permit expires.  
 
What are the qualifications to obtain a Certificate of Approval permit? 
In order to obtain a CERA you must submit: 
• A completed and signed application, and 
• A $350 fee, made payable to OLCC 
 
Do my employees or agents need an OLCC license or permit? 
Your employees or agents who solicit wholesale order for wine, cider or malt beverages in Oregon are not required to 
have a license, provided they do not conduct tasting or pour or serve alcoholic beverages on a licensed premises. 
However, employees or agents who conduct tasting or otherwise serve alcohol for consumption at any license premises in 
Oregon must have a valid Oregon Service Permit. 
 
Is there a bond requirement? 
No. A bond is not required for a CERA permit. 
 
What are the record keeping and reporting requirements? 
You must submit a monthly report to the OLCC of all wine, cider and malt beverage sales to wholesalers in Oregon. The 
OLCC will send you the reporting forms within 30 days of issuance of your CERA permit. Any questions regarding 
reporting requirements should be directed to OLCC.PrivilegeTax@oregon.gov.  
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CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL (CERA) APPLICATION & AGREEMENT 
 

What is a territorial agreement? 
Oregon law prohibits an Oregon wholesaler from selling any brand of malt beverage (but only malt beverage) in Oregon 
unless there is an agreement between the Oregon wholesaler and either the manufacturer of the malt beverage or CERA 
holder authorizing sale by the Oregon wholesaler of the brand within a designated territory.  This agreement is called a 
territorial agreement.  It must designate a wholesaler, territory, and each brand covered by the agreement.  Agreements 
must be signed by both parties or their authorized agents and a copy provided to the OLCC.  Any questions regarding a 
territorial agreement need to be directed to Bryant.Haley@oregon.gov. 
 
What are label requirements in Oregon? 
All labels must comply with Oregon law and have federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) approval. 
Oregon law does not require you to obtain prior OLCC approval, unless the label is a private label. Private labels contain 
an Oregon retailer’s trade name, trademark, or other words or symbols identifiable with a retailer. If you have questions 
about Oregon label requirements, please contact Bryant.Haley@oregon.gov. 
• Wines: Generally, wine labels that receive TTB approval are legal for sale in Oregon. If a wine has Oregon as an 

appellation of origin, it must also comply with the wine labeling requirements under Oregon rules. 
• Malt Beverages: Generally, malt beverage labels that receive TTB approval are legal for sale in Oregon.  However, if 

a malt beverage contains more than 6% alcohol by volume, the alcohol content must be stated conspicuously on the 
container in terms of volume and the product may not be labeled as “beer.” This required labeling may be on a sticker 
applied by the Oregon wholesaler. 

• Bottle Bill Compliance: An Oregon refund statement of not less than 5 cents must be clearly indicated on the container 
of all malt beverages.  The refund statement can be in the form of a sticker and may be applied by the Oregon 
wholesaler.  Oregon law prohibits pull tabs or rings.  Any plastic rings connecting beverage containers must be 
biodegradable.  If you have questions about Oregon’s bottle bill you may contact OLCC.BottleBill@oregon.gov. 

 
What are the rules/law regarding supplier/retailer relationships in Oregon? 
Oregon has guidelines and rules about promotions, advertising and financial relationships between manufacturers, 
importers, wholesalers and retailers. Please read the Supplier-Retailer Relations Guidelines. If you have questions you 
may contact Bryant.Haley@oregon.gov. 
 

http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/docs/publications/supplierretailerguidelines.pdf
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Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL (CERA) APPLICATION & AGREEMENT 
 
 
 
Applicant Name (Entity or Individuals):  __________________________________________________________________  
 
 
Trade Name of Business:  ____________________________________________________________________________  
 
 
Premises Address:  _________________________________________________________________________________  
                            Street Address        City        State            Zip 
      
Mailing Address: ____________________________________________________________________________________   
                 Street Address                    City        State            Zip 
 
Email:  ________________________________________________________________  Fax:  _____________________  
 
 
Name of Contact Person:  _______________________________________________  Phone:  _____________________   
 
 
Please include with your application: 

• $350 fee. Enclose check or money order made payable to OLCC. 
 
 
I certify that I have read the Information Memo and the Supplier-Retailer Relations Guidelines. I further certify that the 
applicant I represent agrees to comply with all laws of the State of Oregon pertaining to the sale of malt beverages, cider 
or wine and all rules and regulation of the Oregon Liquor Control Commission.  
 
 
Print Name: _______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Signature: _________________________________________________________________ Date: __________________ 
 
 
 

Return to: OLCC, PO Box 22297, Milwaukie, OR, 97269 Phone: 503-872-5123 

http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/docs/publications/supplierretailerguidelines.pdf
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