Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission

WINE SELF DISTRIBUTION PERMIT APPLICATION AND AGREEMENT



INTRODUCTION

What are the privileges of a Wine Self Distribution permit?

A Wine Self Distribution Permit holder may sell wine or cider that the manufacturer (permit holder) <u>produced</u> directly to Oregon retailers whose license is endorsed by the Commission to receive such shipments.

This permit doesn't allow the permit holder to ship wine/cider directly to an Oregon resident (a Direct Shipper permit is needed to ship wine/cider directly to an Oregon resident).

What are the definitions in Oregon for cider and wine?

- Cider is made from the fermentation of the juice of apples or pears that contains not more than 8.5% alcohol by volume, including, but not limited to, flavored, sparkling or carbonated cider.
- **Wine** is made via the fermentation process, is not a cider or malt beverage, and contains not more than 21% alcohol by volume. Note: Cider containing more than 8.5% alcohol is considered wine

What is the fee for a Wine Self Distribution permit?

The fee is \$200 per calendar year.

For what period of time is a Wine Self Distribution permit valid?

A Wine Self Distribution permit expires on December 31 of each year. Every year you must renew the permit and pay the \$200 fee to maintain a valid Wine Self Distribution permit. The OLCC will mail you a renewal application every year.

What are the qualifications to obtain a Wine Self Distribution permit to ship WINE or CIDER?

A person who holds a license issued by another state, within the United States, that authorizes the manufacture of wine or cider and who also holds an Oregon Certificate of Approval is eligible for the Wine Self Distribution Permit.

What is a privilege tax?

Oregon assesses a tax on the privilege of shipping malt beverage, wine, or cider into Oregon. This is called a privilege tax. The holder of the Wine Self Distribution permit is responsible for declaring and paying the privilege tax to the OLCC.

Is there an exception to the requirement to obtain a privilege tax bond?

Possibly. The holder of a Wine Self Distribution permit with approval to ship **ONLY WINE** may be eligible for a bond waiver (see page 3). There is **no waiver** for cider.

What are the record keeping and reporting requirements?

Wine Self Distributor Statements must be filed by the 20th of the month for the previous month's activity with the Privilege Tax Department. The Privilege Tax department will mail all forms within 30 days of issuance of the Permit. Any questions regarding reporting requirements need to be directed to OLCC.PrivilegeTax@oregon.gov.

What are the delivery requirements?

You must follow the delivery requirements in Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 845-006-0400. These include:

- You may ship only wine or cider.
- You may ship only to an Oregon retail licensee that is endorsed by the OLCC to receive such shipments. Contact
 to <u>Olcc.AlcoholLicensing@oregon.gov</u> obtain a list of the retail licensees with an endorsement to receive direct
 shipments of wine and cider.
- Keep records for at least 2 years of the name of the retail licensee, the date of shipment, and the amount of wine or cider.

Page 1 of 3 Rev: 2.1.23

Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission

WINE SELF DISTRIBUTION PERMIT APPLICATION AND AGREEMENT



Name of Applicant (Entity or Individual)			
Trade Name of the Business (Name Cu	stomers See)		
Premises Address (Number and Street	Address)		
City		State	Zip Code
Mailing Address – if different from prem	ises address (Number and Str	eet Address)	
City		State	Zip Code
Name of Contact Person	Email		Phone Number
Please include with your application:			

- A copy of your home state license.
- \$200 fee. Enclose check or money order made payable to OLCC. If your application will be approved by the OLCC between October 1 and December 31 you must send a total of \$400 to cover the renewal fee.
- A copy of your OLCC Certificate of Approval (CERA) permit.
- Privilege tax minimum bond of \$1,000 or bond waiver. If you will ship only wine you may be eligible for a bond waiver (see page 3). If you apply for the bond waiver you must include the bond waiver form with your application.
 - o If you do not qualify for the bond waiver you will be contacted with information regarding the bond requirement after receipt and review of your application materials.
- A copy of your federal TTB permit if you manufacture wine or cider.

I certify that I have read and will follow OAR 845-006-0400. I affirm that I am authorized to sign this application on behalf of the applicant.

Name (Print)	Signature	Date

Payment and Return Information

OLCC is able to accept only check or money order made payable to the OLCC (we are unable to accept electronic forms of payment, such as by a credit or debit card).

Please mail your completed application and \$200 fee to:

OLCC, PO Box 22297, Milwaukie, OR 97269

Page 2 of 3 Rev: 2.1.23



Bond Waiver Certification

The OLCC may waive the required surety bond for licensees or permit holders that meet specific criteria. If you qualify for a waiver, complete the certification at the bottom of this form and submit it in lieu of a surety bond with your initial permit application and/or renewal application.

This waiver will need to be received and approved by the OLCC **PRIOR** to your license or permit being issued or renewed.

If you have questions about the privilege tax bond or waiver, please email OLCC.Bonds@oregon.gov.

As per Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 473.065 (4), unless the OLCC determines that a licensee or permit holder presents an unusual risk for nonpayment of any license fees, privilege taxes, agricultural products taxes or other tax, penalty or interest imposed under this chapter or ORS chapter 471, the OLCC shall waive the bond required under ORS 471.155 (1) for the licensee or permit holder if:

- (a) The licensee or permit holder was not liable for a privilege tax under this chapter in the immediately preceding calendar year and does not expect to be liable for a privilege tax under this chapter in the current calendar year; or
- (b) The licensee or permit holder of a business established during the current calendar year does not expect to be liable for a privilege tax under this chapter in the current calendar year.

ORS 473.050 (5) **No privilege tax** shall be levied, collected or imposed upon the first 40,000 gallons, or 151,000 liters, of wine sold annually in Oregon from a United States manufacturer of wines producing less than 100,000 gallons, or 379,000 liters, annually.

Unusual Risks:

- 1. Non-reporting: licensee or permittee has not filed its privilege tax statements or its Oregon Wine Board statement by the required due date.
- 2. Licensee or permittee checks returned to OLCC for non-sufficient funds.
- 3. Any activity that is noncompliant with Commission statutes or rules.

APPLICANT / PERMITTEE NAME	
TRADE NAME (OF BUSINESS)	
PERMIT/LICENSE TYPE	
PREMISES ADDRESS	CITY/STATE
CONTACT PHONE NUMBER	EMAIL
I certify that my <u>OREGON</u> license or permit type is one or r Warehouse, Direct Shipper, Wine Self Distribution.	more of the following: Winery, Grower Sales Privilege,
I certify, as a licensee or permittee, that I owed no privilege current calendar year. I request a waiver for the bond requ	e tax in the prior calendar year and will not owe any tax in the irred under ORS 471.155.
I certify that I am the duly appointed and authorized represe	entative and that the foregoing statement is true and complete.
PRINT NAME	
SIGNATURE	DATE

Page 3 of 3 Rev: 2.1.23