OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

SAMPLE TASTING APPLICATION OFF-PREMISES SALES LICENSE

PRINT

CLEAR FORM

Applicant Name (this is the individual person or legal entity owner of business)

Is applying to provide sample tastings of malt beverages, wine, and/or cider at the following location:

Trade Name (DBA)

Business Location Address

City

Zip Code

Tastings will be provided only in the following described area and customers may not leave this area with a
sample taste of alcohol: (describe area, including boundaries, or attach an 8% " x 11" floor plan drawing that

clearly identifies the area and boundaries).

The applicant named above will follow the requirements of OAR 845-006-0450 (see back of this form). |

affirm that | am authorized to sign this application on behalf of the applicant.

Name (please print):

Signature:

OLCC USE ONLY. Application approved:

By:

Date:

Oregon Liquor Control Commission

www.oregon.gov/olcc

(rev. 3.5.17)


http://www.oregon.gov/olcc

OAR 845-006-0450
Retail On-Premises Malt Beverage, Cider or Wine Sampling
Involving Suppliers

The Commission allows certain other Oregon licensees to conduct or participate in malt beverage, cider, or wine
sample tasting on Full On-Premises Sales, Limited On-Premises Sales, and Off-Premises Sales licensed
premises as specified in OAR 845-005-0427, subject to the requirements and limits identified in this rule.

(1) Sample Sizes. The size of each sample must not exceed one and a half ounces for wine or cider and three
ounces for malt beverages.

(2) Identified Tasting Area.

(a) Any Off-Premises Sales retailer who conducts tastings or who allows manufacturers to conduct tastings on
the retail premises must identify a specific tasting area or areas.

(b) The area/s must be of a size and design such that the person(s) conducting the tasting can observe and
control persons in the area to ensure no minors or visibly intoxicated persons possess or consume alcohol.

(c) Customers must remain in the tasting area or areas until they have finished consuming the sample.

(d) The retailer must keep on file at the premises a floor plan identifying the tasting area(s).

(e) If a retailer does not have an identified tasting area or areas, the Commission may require prior approval of
an area or areas before the retailer conducts any more tastings or allows any more manufacturer-conducted
tastings on the premises.

(3) Number of In-Store Tastings.

(a) A manufacturer may be in each retail premises no more than 12 days per calendar year for the purpose of
tastings.

(b) There is no limit on the number of tastings a retailer may conduct, but the retailer must not allow a
manufacturer on the retailer’'s premises more than 12 days per calendar year for the purpose of tastings.

(4) Server Requirements. Alcohol servers must have a valid Oregon service permit.

(5) Record Keeping. The manufacturer or wholesaler must keep a record of each tasting they conduct, including
the date and location of each event, the products served and the names of the servers.

(6) Manufacturer-Conducted Sample Tastings: Oregon law allows Oregon Winery, Grower Sales Privilege,
Brewery, Brewery-Public House and Warehouse licensees and Oregon Certificate of Approval holders, for the
product for which they hold the certificate, to conduct tastings:

(a) These license holders must provide the product to be tasted, and remove any remaining product at the end
of the tasting;

(b) These license holders must provide or pay for a person to serve the wine, cider, or malt beverages. The
server must be the manufacturer's employee or agent. The manufacturer may not compensate any employee or
agent of the retail licensee to participate in the tasting;

(c) The retailer may advertise these events. These license holders may advertise these events as allowed in
OAR 845-013-0040;

(d) An Oregon Wholesale Malt Beverage and Wine licensee may conduct tastings under this section only if
representing a Certificate of Approval holder.

(7) Retailer-Conducted Tastings. Retailers with Full On-Premises Sales, Limited On-Premises Sales and Off-
Premises Sales licenses may conduct tastings on their licensed premises only as follows:

(a) The retail licensee must provide the product to be tasted.

(b) The retail licensee must provide the person to serve the wine, cider, or malt beverage. The server must be
the retail licensee’s employee or agent and may not be an employee or agent of an Oregon Winery, Grower
Sales Privilege, Brewery, Brewery-Public House, Warehouse, Wholesale Malt Beverage and Wine licensee or
an Oregon Certificate of Approval holder.

(c) The retail licensee may not accept any financial assistance from an Oregon Winery, Grower Sales Privilege,
Brewery, Brewery-Public House, Warehouse, Wholesale Malt Beverage and Wine licensee or an Oregon
Certificate of Approval holder.

(d) The retailer may advertise the tasting.

(e) The retailer may hold an unlimited number of retailer-conducted tastings.
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