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Nine out of 11 businesses in Hood River County pass OLCC and Hood 
River Co. Sheriff’s Dept. checks for alcohol sales to minors  

 
 

Hood River, OR – Eighty two percent of the businesses checked in Hood River County for 
alcohol sales to minors passed by refusing to sell to the minor volunteers.  The compliance check 
was performed by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission and Hood River County Sheriff’s 
Department Feb. 26.  The checks were supported through a coalition of the Hood River County 
Commission on Children and Families, Hood River Sheriff’s Office and the Hood River Police 
Department. 
 
The 82 percent compliance rate was above the 2008 statewide average of 78 percent.   
 
“It is so important for licensees and their employees to check ID’s correctly,” said Carl Lewis, 
Regional Enforcement Manager.  “By taking a little longer to get a good look at the ID being 
presented, clerks and servers are protecting themselves and the community.” 
 
Hood River County (2/26/10) 
82% Passed 

EGG HARBOR CAFÉ GROUND 
ALPENSTUBE (MT HOOD 
MEADOWS)  

1313 OAK ST 12 OAK ST US 35, 2.5 MILES FROM GOV. CAMP 
HOOD RIVER, OR HOOD RIVER, OR MT. HOOD, OR 
COOPER SPUR MOUNTAIN 
RESORT 

ELLIOT GLACIER PUBLIC 
HOUSE THREE RIVERS GRILL 

10755 COOPER SPUR RD 4945 BASELINE RD 601 OAK ST 
MT. HOOD, OR PARKDALE, OR HOOD RIVER, OR 

CELILO RESTAURANT 
ORCHARDS LANES BOWLING 
CENTER BOYS PINE GROVE GROCERY 

16 OAK ST 1141 TUCKER RD 2375 HWY 35 
HOOD RIVER, OR HOOD RIVER, OR HOOD RIVER, OR 

18% Failed  

THE PINES 
MICHOACAN SPORTS BAR & 
GRILL   

202 STATE ST 3405 ODELL HWY   
HOOD RIVER, OR HOOD RIVER, OR   

 
 
The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which 
is a serious problem throughout the state.  The OLCC tests about 1,800 licensed liquor 



businesses each year.  Licensees or their employees can be held liable for alcohol-related 
damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor. 
 
The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s.  Participants learn how to identify 
false identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol.  Additional training opportunities 
are available including classes for store clerks and service permit holders.  Interested persons 
can call the local OLCC office to schedule a training session.  (Samples of OR Driver Licenses for 
minor and adult attached) 
 
During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed 
business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 21.  
Commission inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor volunteers.  The 
volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and do not disguise their age 
or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol.  
 
Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an equal 
chance of being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check.  A business can also be 
selected for a compliance check if there is a documented complaint of sales to minors.  
Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and unincorporated areas in counties are not 
subject to these selection requirements.   
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“Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service” 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


