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OLCC announces “First Call,” to improve economic and
public safety success of local businesses

PORTLAND, Ore. — The Oregon Liguor Control Commission is launching First Call, a program
designed to provide newly licensed businesses a variety of resources and the knowledge to be
economically successful while improving public safety.

First Call is specifically designed for businesses with a new liquor license or where there has
been a change of ownership. A key component of the program will involve visits by OLCC
Inspectors within 90 days of the business being licensed.

“Last call is what happens when a bar is closing for the night,” said Rudy Williams, OLCC Deputy
Director of Public Safety Services. “The First Call program is a proactive way for our inspectors
to work with businesses, answer questions, and help them be successful when they first open
their doors.”

By increasing the emphasis on alcohol education, understanding liquor laws, and providing
businesses with resources, tools and training, the OLCC hopes to establish a solid partnership
with liquor license holders.

“We've been around the state talking to business owners. What we've heard is they want the
OLCC to create a business model to help them be successful and avoid alcohol-related tickets,”
says Williams. “First Call will give people a great start where they can succeed economically and
operate a safe business. By learning how to avoid tickets on the front end, they not only save
money to reinvest back into their business, but they also create a safer environment for their staff,
customers and community.”

Some of the topics covered in First Call include:

o0 Common violations and how to prevent them
Alcohol sales to minors — preventing minors from obtaining alcohol
Free training opportunities available through OLCC
50 signs of visible intoxication and the good faith effort law
Industry trade group resource list
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Program materials can be found online: http://oregon.gov/OLCC/first call program.shtml
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Did you know that in the last two years, the OLCC distributed more than $343
million to Oregon's General Fund, Cities, Counties, and Drug and Alcohol Abuse
Programs? See the distribution of dollars on OLCC's Website.




