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Graduation Party Safety 
 

 
PORTLAND, Ore. – High school graduation season is here for many Oregon schools. The 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission wants to remind graduates and parents to celebrate 
the occasion safely. 
 
There are legal, health and social consequences for minors if they drink alcohol and for 
parents who provide alcohol to underage parties. More information on Oregon’s alcohol 
laws and minors is available on OLCC’s webpage.   
 
“Research shows that parents play a large role in whether minors choose to drink or not,” 
said Steven Marks, OLCC Executive Director. “We know that graduation is a milestone 
worthy of celebration. It’s important to remind parents that it’s illegal for adults to host 
underage drinking parties, even in your home.  If you’re hosting a graduation party where 
alcohol will be served, please have safeguards in place to make sure minors aren’t getting 
access to it.”   
 
Approximately 29 percent of Oregon high school students surveyed admitted to drinking 
alcohol in the previous 30 days, according to the Oregon Health Authority. According to 
OHA, sixteen percent of surveyed students said they have had five or more drinks in one 
setting.  
  
“We can’t close our eyes and pretend like underage drinking isn’t happening,” said OLCC 
Regional Manager, Shannon Hoffeditz.  “But we can start a conversation about negative 
outcomes. Not only are students likely to get grounded or lose friends due to poor 
behavior from being intoxicated, there are more serious legal, health, and safety 
consequences.  We hope to spark discussions with parents and friends - and encourage 
minors to stay sober.”   
 
OLCC’s video, “Wasted” can be used a conversation starter to help parents open 
discussions with their kids about underage drinking.  The National Council on Alcoholism 
and Drug Dependence also has a helpful list of ten tips for parents.  
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