

## **News Release**

Oregon Liquor Control Commission 9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Portland, OR 97222-7355 1-800-452-6522

For more information: Matthew Van Sickle, Public Affairs Specialist matt.vansickle@oregon.gov, (503) 872-5002 www.oregon.gov/olcc

August 29, 2018

## OLCC Commissioners Appoint Liquor Store Contracts, Ratify Stipulated Alcohol and Bottle Bill Settlements, hold on mark-up for distilled spirits

**PORTLAND, OR** – At its monthly meeting Aug. 23, 2018, the Commissioners of the Oregon Liquor Control Commission appointed the following incoming retail liquor store agents at traditional retail liquor locations. Both stores are pre-existing locations:

Portland, Division #1145 – Narinder Sachdeva

Lincoln City, South #1023 – Kenny Morgan, Inc., Kenny "Andy" Morgan

Retail liquor agents are private, independent contractors; they are not state employees. The Retail Services Division of the OLCC works closely with liquor agents to help them understand and follow liquor regulations and store operating procedures.

Commissioners ratified the following fines and liquor license suspensions based on stipulated settlement:

**Pieology Pizzeria**, 2860 Gateway Street, MT 202, Springfield, will pay a \$2,640 civil penalty or serve a 16-day suspension for failing to verify the age of a minor before allowing him/her to buy or be served an alcoholic beverage when he/she reasonably appeared to be under 26 years of age. Licensee additionally permitted an employee to mix, sell, or serve alcoholic beverages, or supervise those who do, without a valid alcohol service permit. Licensee is Northwest Pizza Partners, LLC; 2 Sisters Ranch Investments, LLC, managing member; Brian Bouma, Renee Bouma, Seaside Investment Group, LLC; and Michael Sheehan, members.

**Restaurant & Taqueria Zam's**, 1075 SE Baseline, Hillsboro, will pay a \$6,435 civil penalty or serve a 39-day suspension. Licensee allowed alcoholic liquor to be sold, dispensed, served or consumed on the licensed premises between 2:30 and 7:00 a.m. Additionally, licensee's employees made false representations to the Commission in order to induce or prevent action by the Commission regarding the incident involving afterhours consumption. Licensee is Ricardo Zamudio Rodriguez.

Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for permitting employee(s) to mix, sell, or serve alcoholic beverages, or supervise those who do, without a valid alcohol service permit:

**Qdoba Mexican Grill**, 2288 NW Allie Avenue #850, Hillsboro, will pay a \$1,485 civil penalty or serve a nine-day suspension. Licensee is Qmexhil, LLC; Mission Group LLC, Stephen McPhie, North-by-Northwest Ventures LLC; Stanton Kramer, members.

**Spirits Pub**, 4037 NE Cully Blvd., Portland, will pay a \$1,485 civil penalty or serve a nine-day suspension. Licensee is Anthony Schmidt.

**Stickers Asian Cafe**, 6808 SE Milwaukie Ave., Portland, will pay a \$1,485 civil penalty or serve a nine-day suspension. Licensee is Alex Murrell.

Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for failing to verify the age of a minor before allowing him/her to buy or be served an alcoholic beverage when he/she reasonably appeared to be under 26 years of age.

**Moothart's Market**, 94 South Main St., Independence, will pay a \$1,815 civil penalty or serve an 11-day suspension. Licensee is Idriss, Inc; Salah Hagag, President; Eiman Idriss, Secretary

Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for violations of the Oregon Bottle Bill by wilfully refusing to accept empty beverage and refusing to pay the customer the value of those containers:

**New Season's Market Woodstock**, 4500 SE Woodstock Blvd., Portland, will pay a \$990 civil penalty or serve a six-day suspension. Licensee New Seasons Market, LLC; Forrest Hoffmaster and Kristi McFarland, copresidents; Michelle Lantow, secretary; MSM Markets, Inc., managing member; and Endeavor Capital V, LP, member.

On the Commissioner's agenda was a discussion of the possible technical change to the mark-up for distilled spirits which is currently in a 45-day comment period. Commission Director Steve Marks informed Commissioners of his desire to table the discussion and pull-back the proposed technical change on the transportation surcharge. He cited that the proposed technical change needed a closer look, and he wanted to have additional time to look at the transportation surcharge in the larger context of the markup formula. With this action, the Commission will still honor the 45-day comment period and accept written testimony up through 5:00 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 27. However the commission will not hear public comment at the Sept. 21 Commission Meeting nor will a vote be taken at the October Commission Meeting.

###