
Who is required to file an Oregon Wine Board report?
All licensees who hold a Winery or Growers Sales Privilege (GSP) 
license are required to file an annual report. Any vineyard that 
exports vinifera or hybrid grapes or grape products is required to file 
an annual report. Unlicensed vineyards who do not export are not 
required to file, but are encouraged to file “Information Reports” on an 
annual basis for OLCC tracking purposes.

Do I need to file a report if I have no activity for the year?
All licensee’s who hold a Winery or GSP license are required to 
file an annual report, even if they have no activity for the year. 
Unlicensed vineyards that have no export activity are never required 
to file, however they are encouraged to file “Information Reports” for 
OLCC tracking purposes.  

When do I file and when is the tax due?
Reports are due to the OLCC annually by December 31 of the 
tax year being assessed.  Half of the tax is due with the report by 
December 31. The second half of the tax is due to OLCC no later 
than June 30 of the following year.  

If a report is received without payment, penalty and interest will be 
assessed.

Who is responsible for the taxes?
A winery that uses the vinifera or hybrid grapes or grape products in 
the production of wine or cider over 8.5%, and any Oregon vineyard 
that exports vinifera or hybrid grapes or grape products is responsible 
for paying the tax.

Is the Oregon Wine Board tax a harvest or grape tax?
The Oregon Wine Board tax is neither a harvest nor grape tax. It is 
a tax on the sale or use of all agricultural products used in a winery 
for making wine, as well as all vinifera or hybrid grapes or grape 
products exported out of Oregon. 
 
Do I owe tax on apples or other fruit that I have grown to use in 
making wine or cider?
Yes, a tax of $.021 is imposed upon all agricultural products other 
than grapes used to make wine or cider over 8.5%.

If I export my grapes out of the state do I still owe tax?
Yes, a tax of $12.50 is imposed upon all vinifera or hybrid grapes or 
grape products sold outside of Oregon.

For more information contact:

Angie Nelson
Revenue Control Coordinator

phone: 503-872-5169
toll free: 800-452-6522

email: angie.nelson@oregon.gov
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Do I have to pay tax on juice or juice concentrate that I use to make wine?
Yes, a tax of $25 per ton is imposed upon juice or juice concentrate used in the production of wine.

What is the difference between a custom crush facility and an alternating proprietorship?
A custom crush facility is a federally bonded, state licensed winery that crushes and/or  produces wine for 
other wineries.

An alternating proprietorship is when two or more federally bonded, state licensed wineries take turns using 
the same equipment, located at the same premises, following the federal regulations set for alternating 
proprietorships.

I have a custom crush facility. Do I have to pay the tax for the wine I produced for other wineries? 
Yes, if you are the winery producing the wine you are responsible for the tax, regardless of whose label is put 
on the wine. 

I have an alternating proprietorship which consists of five wineries using my equipment to produce 
their wine. Am I responsible for the tax for all wine made on the premises?
In order to be an alternating premises, you must have a federal authorization, and all parties  involved 
MUST be federally bonded and state licensed wineries. Therefore, each winery would be responsible for the 
tax on the wine they produced.

I purchased grapes from out of state. Do I owe tax on those grapes used?
Yes, if you used the grapes to make wine. The tax is imposed on all grape or vinifera products, true or hybrid 
harvested or imported into the state of Oregon, which are used to make wine. 

Is the Oregon Wine Board tax the same thing as privilege tax?
No, the Oregon Wine Board is an assessment of the agricultural products used in the making of wine. 
Privilege tax is assessed on the finished product, for the opportunity to conduct business in Oregon as a 
manufacturer or distributor.

If I produce only cider, do I have to file this report?
Yes, although if your cider is 7% or under, there is no tax liability.
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