
 
 

APPLICATION 
INDUSTRIAL ALCOHOL AUTHORITY 

 
1. Business or Individual Applying for the Authority    

 

2. Trade Name of Business    
 

3. Business Location 
 

Street Address    
 

City State Zip    
 

PO Box (if applicable)    
 

City State Zip    
 

4. Name of Contact Person(s)    
 

5. Contact Phone(s)    
 

6. Contact E-Mail(s)    
 

7. Name of vendor you will be purchasing from:    
 

8. This alcohol will be used for:    
 
I certify by signing below that I have read OAR 845-004-0101, understand it, and will comply with it. I 
also certify that I am 21 years of age or older. 

 
9. Name of Person Signing    

Must be printed or typed. 
 
 
 
Signature  Date    

Must be signed. 
 

Please allow 30 days for processing. 
RETURN TO: 
OLCC 
Attn: Neel O’Donnell 
PO Box 22297 
Milwaukie, OR 97269 
- or - 
Email: 
OLCC.IndustrialAlcoholAuthority@Oregon.gov 
Phone: 503-872-5157 
Fax: 503-872-5018 

(Revised 08/20) 

 
 



 

OAR 845-004-0101 
 

(1) Definitions. For this rule: 
 

(a) “Denatured alcohol” means ethanol (ethyl alcohol) with additives for the purpose of making it unfit for 
human consumption. Denatured alcohol is not considered an alcoholic beverage or alcoholic liquor under 
ORS 471.001(1). 

 
(b) “Non-denatured alcohol” means alcohol as defined in ORS 471.001(1). 

 
(2) Denatured alcohol may be imported into Oregon and stored, possessed, sold, purchased, transferred, 
shipped, delivered, and transported in Oregon without an Industrial Alcohol Authority or license from the 
Commission. 

 
(3) A person without a distillery license issued under ORS 471.230 may not manufacture non-denatured 
alcohol but may obtain an Industrial Alcohol Authority to: 

 
(a) Import into Oregon and store 190 to 200 proof non-denatured alcohol without a distillery licensed 

issued under ORS 471.230 if the person holds a certificate of approval issued under ORS 471.251. 
 

(b) Convert non-denatured alcohol into denatured alcohol. 
 

(c) Sell or transfer 190 to 200 proof non-denatured alcohol to the holder of an Industrial Alcohol 
Authority. 

 
(d) Acquire 190 to 200 proof non-denatured alcohol from the holder of an Industrial Alcohol Authority. 

 
(e) Use 190 to 200 proof non-denatured alcohol for scientific, pharmaceutical, manufacturing, 

mechanical, and industrial purposes. 
 

(4) Application. Applicants for an Industrial Alcohol Authority must apply in writing using the application 
form provided by the Commission. The Commission may require additional forms, documents, or 
information as part of the application. The Commission may refuse to process any application not 
complete or not accompanied by the documents or disclosures required by the form or the Commission. 

 
(5) The Commission may refuse to issue an Industrial Alcohol Authority, and may cancel or revoke the 
Industrial Alcohol Authority, if the person makes a false statement to the Commission or uses or proposes 
to use the alcohol other than for scientific, pharmaceutical, manufacturing, mechanical, or industrial 
purposes. 

 
(6) A person may hold both a distillery license issued under ORS 471.230 and an Industrial Alcohol 
Authority. 

 
(7) A person with an Industrial Alcohol Authority must keep a record of all non-denatured alcohol imported 
into Oregon including the date and amount of all alcohol imported. These records must be kept for a 
minimum of two years from the date the alcohol was imported into Oregon. The authority holder must 
allow the Commission to audit the authority holder’s records upon request and shall make those records 
available to the Commission in Oregon no later than 60 days after the Commission mails the notice. 
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