Recreational Marijuana Program

Compliance Education Bulletin

Bulletin CE2018-02
January 31, 2018

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission is providing the following information to: recreational
marijuana licensees and Marijuana Worker Permit holders.

The bulletin is part of OLCC’s compliance education. It is important that you read it, and
understand it. If you don’t understand it please contact the OLCC for help.

Failure to understand and follow the information contained in this bulletin could result in an
OLCC rules compliance violation affecting your ability to work or operate your business.

Bulletin CE2018-02 covers the following issues:

® Marijuana Worker Permit Compliance

Marijuana Worker Permit Compliance

Beginning February 1, 2018 the Oregon Liquor Control Commission will, as part of its regular compliance
activity, check to ensure a licensee’s employees have valid Marijuana Worker Permits.

OLCC recreational marijuana licensees are required to employ only individuals who possess an approved
Marijuana Worker Permit, with the exception of OLCC licensed labs or employees whose duties do not
include the recording, securing or handling of marijuana.

If a licensee is employing an individual without a Marijuana Worker Permit the licensee will be cited for
a Category lll violation. Under OLCC Recreational Marijuana Sanctions a first-time Category Il violation
can result in a 10 day license suspension or $1650 fine.

In December, 2017 the OLCC provided a temporary reprieve to licensees and individuals whose
Marijuana Worker Permit status had been delayed due to the backlog of applications. See OLCC
Compliance Education Bulletins CE2017-17, CE2017-18, and CE2017-19.

The OLCC has processed all Marijuana Worker Permit applications submitted up to January 31, 2018.

Who CAN work for licensees?

Employees who have an approved and active marijuana worker permit.


http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/marijuana/Documents/Bulletins/Compliance_1718.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/marijuana/Documents/Bulletins/Compliance_1718.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/marijuana/Documents/Bulletins/Compliance_1719.pdf

Who CANNOT continue to work for a licensee?
Employees cannot work for recreational marijuana licensees if:

e They have applied for a marijuana worker permit and it has not been approved;
e They have been approved for a marijuana worker permit by OLCC but it is not
active because they have not paid the $100 permit fee;

e Their marijuana worker permit has been denied, suspended, or revoked, or a
denial notice has been issued to the permit applicant.

For OLCC Marijuana Worker Permit applicants

How do | know if the OLCC has approved my application?

If you have applied for and been approved for a Marijuana Worker Permit by the OLCC you will
receive an official email (see example below) notifying you that there is a change in status (of
your application). Upon notification of your change in status you are required to pay your $100
permit fee.

Subject: OLCC - Change to the Status of Your Marijuana Worker Permit

Hello  Applicant Name

The Oregoen Liguor Control Commissien has indicated that there is a change in status to
your Recreaticnal Marijuana Worker Permit.

Please log in to the Marijuana Worker Permit System at

hitp://apps.oregon.gov/OLCC/Marijuana/elicense/ to see the change and provide any
additional information necessary.

If you have any guestions, please contact us at (503) 872-5000 or
marijuana.workerpermit@oregon.gov

Do not respond to this system-generated email.

Thank you,

Oregon Liguor Control Commissien
Recreational Marijuana Program
http://www.marijuana.oregon.gov




OLCC Recreational Marijuana Sanctions

Category

1 violationina 2
year period

2 violations in a
2-year period

3 violations in a
2-year period

4 violations in a
2-year period

10 days license
suspension or
$1650 fine

30 days license
suspension or
$4950 fine

30 days license
suspension

License
revocation




