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March 31, 2020 

 

 

New! Liability Limitation for Volunteers During COVID-19 Emergency Response (Federal) 

Federal law (CARES Act, H.R. 748, Section 3215) provides that health care professionals are not be liable 

under Federal or State law for harm caused by an act or omission while volunteering their health care 

services during the COVID–19 public health emergency. For the law to apply, the health care provider 

must be volunteering (not receiving payment) in response to the public health emergency, the services 

must be within the scope of the professional’s state license, and must be provided in good faith. This 

section preempts the laws of a State or any political subdivision of a State, unless such laws provide 

greater protection from liability. The are exceptions to the limitation, such as willful or criminal 

misconduct, gross negligence, reckless misconduct, or if the health care professional rendered the 

health care services under the influence of alcohol or an intoxicating drug. The federal limitation is not a 

substitute for insurance coverage; for additional information on exceptions and definitions, see the 

CARES Act, Section 3215. 

 

Liability Limits for Emergency Medical Assistance (Oregon) 

Oregon law (ORS 30.800) provides liability protections for health care professionals providing voluntary 

emergency medical assistance, without the expectation of compensation, to an injured person who 

needs immediate medical care. The emergency medical assistance must be provided in a place where 

emergency medical care is not regularly available. The Oregon law disallows an action for damages for 

injury, death or loss that result from acts or omissions of a person while rendering emergency medical 

assistance unless grossly negligent in rendering the emergency medical assistance.  

 

Liability Limitation for Volunteer Service (Oregon) *program registration required 

Oregon law (ORS 676.340-676.345) establishes a Liability Limitation for Volunteer Services Program to 

limit the liability for health care professionals who provide services without compensation. The program 

is not a substitute for insurance coverage; rather Oregon law limits the liability for health practitioners 

who meet the requirements of the program and have registered with the Board. Registration is free.  

Program registration forms, requirements, and patient notice forms are available on the Liability 

Limitation Program webpage. For questions, contact the Oregon Medical Board at 

licensing@omb.oregon.gov. 

 

Malpractice Insurance 

The Oregon Medical Board is unable to advise licensees on malpractice insurance coverage decisions 

during this public health emergency. Please contact the institution where you are providing care during 

this emergency and/or your professional liability carrier for questions about malpractice insurance 

coverage. 

 

 

Summaries are provided for informational purposes, please review actual laws for requirements. 

  

https://www.oregon.gov/omb/Topics-of-Interest/Pages/COVID-19.aspx
https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/748/text?q=%7B%22search%22%3A%5B%22hr+748%22%5D%7D&r=1&s=1#toc-H16DA8E9326B14CE8B59468B2CC20C7FF
https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/748/text?q=%7B%22search%22%3A%5B%22hr+748%22%5D%7D&r=1&s=1#toc-H16DA8E9326B14CE8B59468B2CC20C7FF
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors030.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors676.html
https://www.oregon.gov/omb/Topics-of-Interest/Pages/Liability-Limitation-for-Volunteer-Services.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/omb/Topics-of-Interest/Pages/Liability-Limitation-for-Volunteer-Services.aspx
mailto:licensing@omb.oregon.gov
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Malpractice Insurance Providers Reference List 
Reference list provided for informational purposes only, list is not a Board endorsement and does not include all providers 

 

Medical Protective Company 

5814 Reed Rd 

Fort Wayne, IN 46835 

www.medpro.com, 800-463-3776 

 

NORCAL Mutual Insurance 

P.O. Box 2080 

Mechanicsburg, PA 17055 

www.norcal-group.com, 844-466-7225 

 

Physicians Insurance (Mutual) Company 

PO Box 91220 

Seattle, WA 98111 

www.phyins.com, 800-962-1399 

 

ProAssurance Casualty Company 

100 Brookwood Place 

Birmingham, AL 35209 

www.proassurance.com, 800-282-6242 

 

ProSelect Insurance, Coverys 

One Financial Center 

Boston, MA 02111 

www.coverys.com, 800-225-6168 

The Doctors Company 

PO Box 2950 

Napa, CA 94558 

www.thedoctors.com, 800-421-2368 

 

The Mutual Risk Retention Group 

3000 Oak Rd, Suite 600 

Walnut Creek, CA 94597 

www.tmrrg.com, 925-949-0100 

 

Western Litigation 

1900 W. Loop S., Ste 1500 

Houston, TX 77027 

www.westernlitigation.com, 800-588-0619 

 

Willamette Valley Insurance Corp 

PO Box 14001 

Salem, OR 97309 

www.willamettevalleyins.com, 541-466-3689 

 

 

 

 

 

Citations Reference  
Excerpts of citations provided for informational purposes only, please review actual laws from source 

 

Federal: Limitation on Liability for Volunteer Health Care Professionals During COVID-19 

 
CARES Act, H.R. 748, Section 3215. 

(a) Limitation On Liability.—Except as provided in subsection (b), a health care professional shall not be liable 

under Federal or State law for any harm caused by an act or omission of the professional in the provision of health 

care services during the public health emergency with respect to COVID–19 declared by the Secretary of Health 

and Human Services (referred to in this section as the “Secretary”) under section 319 of the Public Health Service 

Act (42 U.S.C. 247d) on January 31, 2020, if— (1) the professional is providing health care services in response to 

such public health emergency, as a volunteer; and (2) the act or omission occurs— (A) in the course of providing 

health care services; (B) in the health care professional’s capacity as a volunteer; (C) in the course of providing 

health care services that— (i) are within the scope of the license, registration, or certification of the volunteer, as 

defined by the State of licensure, registration, or certification; and (ii) do not exceed the scope of license, 

registration, or certification of a substantially similar health professional in the State in which such act or omission 

occurs; and (D) in a good faith belief that the individual being treated is in need of health care services. 

https://www.oregon.gov/omb/Topics-of-Interest/Pages/COVID-19.aspx
http://www.medpro.com/
http://www.norcal-group.com/
http://www.phyins.com/
http://www.proassurance.com/
http://www.coverys.com/
http://www.thedoctors.com/
http://www.tmrrg.com/
http://www.westernlitigation.com/
http://www.willamettevalleyins.com/
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(b) Exceptions.—Subsection (a) does not apply if— (1) the harm was caused by an act or omission constituting 

willful or criminal misconduct, gross negligence, reckless misconduct, or a conscious flagrant indifference to the 

rights or safety of the individual harmed by the health care professional; or (2) the health care professional 

rendered the health care services under the influence (as determined pursuant to applicable State law) of alcohol 

or an intoxicating drug. 

(c) Preemption.— (1) IN GENERAL.—This section preempts the laws of a State or any political subdivision of a State 

to the extent that such laws are inconsistent with this section, unless such laws provide greater protection from 

liability. (2) VOLUNTEER PROTECTION ACT.—Protections afforded by this section are in addition to those provided 

by the Volunteer Protection Act of 1997 (Public Law 105–19). 

(d) Definitions.—In this section— (1) the term “harm” includes physical, nonphysical, economic, and noneconomic 

losses; (2) the term “health care professional” means an individual who is licensed, registered, or certified under 

Federal or State law to provide health care services; (3) the term “health care services” means any services 

provided by a health care professional, or by any individual working under the supervision of a health care 

professional that relate to— (A) the diagnosis, prevention, or treatment of COVID–19; or (B) the assessment or 

care of the health of a human being related to an actual or suspected case of COVID–19; and (4) the term 

“volunteer” means a health care professional who, with respect to the health care services rendered, does not 

receive compensation or any other thing of value in lieu of compensation, which compensation— (A) includes a 

payment under any insurance policy or health plan, or under any Federal or State health benefits program; and 

(B) excludes— (i) receipt of items to be used exclusively for rendering health care services in the health care 

professional’s capacity as a volunteer described in subsection (a)(1); and (ii) any reimbursement for travel to the 

site where the volunteer services are rendered and any payments in cash or kind to cover room and board, if 

services are being rendered more than 75 miles from the volunteer’s principal place of residence. 

(e) Effective Date.—This section shall take effect upon the date of enactment of this Act, and applies to a claim for 

harm only if the act or omission that caused such harm occurred on or after the date of enactment. 

(f) Sunset.—This section shall be in effect only for the length of the public health emergency declared by the 

Secretary of Health and Human Services (referred to in this section as the “Secretary”) under section 319 of the 

Public Health Service Act (42 U.S.C. 247d) on January 31, 2020 with respect to COVID–19. 

 

 

Oregon: Liability for Emergency Medical Assistance 
 

Oregon Revised Statute  

30.800  

    (1) As used in this section and ORS 30.805, “emergency medical assistance” means: 

      (a) Medical or dental care not provided in a place where emergency medical or dental care is regularly 

available, including but not limited to a hospital, industrial first-aid station or the office of a physician, naturopathic 

physician, physician assistant or dentist, given voluntarily and without the expectation of compensation to an 

injured person who is in need of immediate medical or dental care and under emergency circumstances that 

suggest that the giving of assistance is the only alternative to death or serious physical aftereffects; or 

      (b) Medical care provided voluntarily in good faith and without expectation of compensation by a physician 

licensed under ORS chapter 677, a physician assistant licensed under ORS 677.505 to 677.525, a nurse practitioner 

licensed under ORS 678.375 to 678.390 or a naturopathic physician licensed under ORS chapter 685 and in the 

person’s professional capacity as a provider of health care for an athletic team at a public or private school or 

college athletic event or as a volunteer provider of health care at other athletic events. 

      (2) No person may maintain an action for damages for injury, death or loss that results from acts or omissions 

of a person while rendering emergency medical assistance unless it is alleged and proved by the complaining party 

that the person was grossly negligent in rendering the emergency medical assistance. 

      (3) The giving of emergency medical assistance by a person does not, of itself, establish a professional 

relationship between the person giving the assistance and the person receiving the assistance insofar as the 

relationship carries with it any duty to provide or arrange for further medical care for the injured person after the 

giving of emergency medical assistance. 

https://www.oregon.gov/omb/Topics-of-Interest/Pages/COVID-19.aspx
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Oregon: Limitations on Liability of Health Practitioners Providing Services Without Compensation 

 
Oregon Revised Statute  

676.340  

     (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a health practitioner described in subsection (7) of this section 

who has registered under ORS 676.345 and who provides health care services without compensation is not liable 

for any injury, death or other loss arising out of the provision of those services, unless the injury, death or other 

loss results from the gross negligence of the health practitioner. 

      (2) A health practitioner may claim the limitation on liability provided by this section only if the patient 

receiving health care services, or a person who has authority under law to make health care decisions for the 

patient, signs a statement that notifies the patient that the health care services are provided without 

compensation and that the health practitioner may be held liable for death, injury or other loss only to the extent 

provided by this section. The statement required under this subsection must be signed before the health care 

services are provided. 

      (3) A health practitioner may claim the limitation on liability provided by this section only if the health 

practitioner obtains the patient’s informed consent for the health care services before providing the services, or 

receives the informed consent of a person who has authority under law to make health care decisions for the 

patient. 

      (4) A health practitioner provides health care services without compensation for the purposes of subsection (1) 

of this section even though the practitioner requires payment of laboratory fees, testing services and other out-of-

pocket expenses. 

      (5) A health practitioner provides health care services without compensation for the purposes of subsection (1) 

of this section even though the practitioner provides services at a health clinic that receives compensation from 

the patient, as long as the health practitioner does not personally receive compensation for the services. 

      (6) In any civil action in which a health practitioner prevails based on the limitation on liability provided by this 

section, the court shall award all reasonable attorney fees incurred by the health practitioner in defending the 

action. 

      (7) This section applies only to: (a) A physician licensed under ORS chapter 677; …. (e) A physician assistant 

licensed under ORS 677.505 to 677.525; … (k) An acupuncturist licensed under ORS 677.757 to 677.770.  

 

Oregon Revised Statute  

676.345  

     (1) A health practitioner described in ORS 676.340 (7) may claim the liability limitation provided by ORS 676.340 

only if the health practitioner has registered with a health professional regulatory board in the manner provided by 

this section. Registration under this section must be made: (a) By a physician, physician assistant or acupuncturist, 

with the Oregon Medical Board; …. 

      (2) The health professional regulatory boards listed in subsection (1) of this section shall establish a registration 

program for the health practitioners who provide health care services without compensation and who wish to be 

subject to the liability limitation provided by ORS 676.340. All health practitioners registering under the program 

must provide the health professional regulatory board with: 

      (a) A statement that the health practitioner will provide health care services to patients without compensation, 

except for reimbursement for laboratory fees, testing services and other out-of-pocket expenses; 

      (b) A statement that the health practitioner will provide the notice required by ORS 676.340 (2) in the manner 

provided by ORS 676.340 (2) before providing the services; and 

      (c) A statement that the health practitioner will only provide health care services without compensation that 

are within the scope of the health practitioner’s license. 

      (3) Registration under this section must be made biennially. The health professional regulatory boards listed in 

subsection (1) of this section may not charge a fee for registration under this section. 

https://www.oregon.gov/omb/Topics-of-Interest/Pages/COVID-19.aspx

