A "practice agreement" is a written agreement between a physician assistant and a supervising physician or supervising physician organization (SPO) that describes what and how the physician assistant will practice and was entered prior to July 15, 2022.
The Oregon Legislature passed HB 3036 (2021) to shift PA practice from a supervision to a collaboration model. Starting July 15, 2022, a PA may enter a collaboration agreement to practice in Oregon. During the transition, PAs may continue to practice under an existing practice agreement with a supervising physician until December 31, 2023. However, starting July 15, 2022, a PA may not enter a new practice agreement or make changes to an existing practice agreement. If changes are needed on or after July 15, 2022, the PA will need to transition to a collaboration agreement. Also, a physician may not apply to be a supervising physician on or after July 15, 2022. See the HB 3036 webpage for more information.
You must terminate a practice agreement by logging in to Licensee Services and choosing "Practice Agreements" when a PA transitions to a collaboration agreement
If the PA is supervised by a Supervising Physician Organization (SPO), the designated primary supervising physician must terminate the practice agreement.
Modifying a Supervisory Relationship
If the relationship is currently on file as a practice description (approved prior to 2012), it must be terminated (see Termination of Supervisory Relationship below) and a new collaboration agreement must entered, see the HB 3036 webpage.
If the relationship is currently on file as a practice agreement (filed in 2012 through July 14, 2022), it must be terminated (see Termination of Supervisory Relationship below) and a collaboration agreement must entered, see the HB 3036 webpage.
8 Hour On-site Supervision Requirement: On January 15, 2022, the requirement for 8 hours of on-site supervision of physician assistants was permanently removed from OMB rule.
Terminating a Supervisory Relationship
Both the supervising physician and the PA must report termination of a supervisory relationship online within 15 days following termination of supervision. When the initial termination report is made by either the supervisor or the PA, both parties will be notified via e-mail that a termination report has been initiated, and the other party will be instructed to submit an independent termination report (see
Log in to Licensee Services and choose "Practice Agreements" to submit a termination report.