Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Oregon Parks and Recreation Department accepting comments on proposed lost-and-found rule change
The Oregon Parks and Recreation Department (OPRD) is accepting comments on a proposed change to a rule that requires anyone who finds high-value items in state parks or along the ocean shore to turn them over to park staff.

The amendment increases the value of found items that must be turned over from $100 to $250, in accordance with a state law passed in 2013. Submitting items valued at less than $250 would be optional.

OPRD is accepting comments on the change through 5 p.m. March 30, 2018.

The full text of the amendments to Oregon Administrative Rule 736-010-0040 and 736-021-0150 is available online at oregon.gov/oprd/RULES/pages/index.aspx. Comments can be made directly on this webpage, via e-mail to OPRD.publiccomment@oregon.gov or in writing to Oregon Parks and Recreation Department, Attn.: Katie Gauthier, 725 Summer St NE, Suite C, Salem OR 97301.

After reviewing public comments, agency staff plan to present a final recommended rule for consideration by the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission at its April 2018 business meeting.