Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission will meet April 16-17

March 26, 2019

SILVERTON, Ore. — The Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission will hold its second meeting of the year April 16-17 in Silverton, Oregon.

On April 16, Commissioners will tour Silver Falls State Park. An afternoon training and work session will follow at The Oregon Garden, 985 W. Main Street in Silverton.

On April 17, Commissioners will convene an executive session at 8:15 a.m. at the same location to discuss real estate and legal issues. Executive sessions are closed to the public. A public business meeting will follow at 10:15 a.m. The agenda includes requests to:

  • Approve $8.5 million in All-Terrain Vehicle grants recommended by the ATV Grant Subcommittee. Funds would be distributed to 36 projects related to maintaining facilities, trails and riding areas; delivering safety education programs; and providing law enforcement in riding areas.
  • Approve three new members to the All-Terrain Vehicle Advisory Committee, which reviews safety information, accidents and fatalities from ATV recreation and recommends appropriate safety requirements for riders.
  • Adopt into rule two master plans that guide development and use of park facilities for the next 20 years. One covers Brian Booth State Park in Lincoln County on the coast; the other covers Wallowa County state park properties, including Wallowa Lake State Park.
  • Open administrative rulemaking related to the Oregon Natural Areas Program.

The draft agenda and meeting packet are listed at oregon.gov/oprd/Pages/commission.aspx. People who plan to present oral testimony are asked to provide 15 copies of their statement to Commission Assistant Denise Warburton denise.warburton@oregon.gov. Those needing special accommodations to attend should also contact Warburton by email, or call 503-986-0719, at least three days in advance.

The Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission (oregon.gov/oprd/Pages/commission.aspx) promotes outdoor recreation and heritage by establishing policies, adopting rules, and setting the budget for the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department. The seven members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon Senate. They serve four-year terms and meet several times a year at locations across the state.