Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission will meet Feb. 20-21

February 1, 2019

Independence, Ore. — The Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission will hold its first meeting of the year Feb. 20-21 2019 in Independence, Oregon.

On Feb. 20, Commissioners will tour Polk County projects funded by grants that Oregon Parks and Recreation Department (OPRD) administers. An afternoon training and work session will follow at The Independence Event Center, 555 S. Main Street.

On Feb. 21, Commissioners will convene an executive session at 8:15 a.m. at The Independence Event Center to discuss real estate and legal issues. Executive sessions are closed to the public. A public business meeting will begin at 9:30 a.m. at the same location. The agenda includes requests to:

  • Approve purchase from the Western Rivers Conservancy of 117 riverfront acres to add to Cottonwood Canyon State Park in Sherman County, at a cost of $1.6 million.
  • Approve $1.5 million in County Opportunity Grants for local campground improvement projects. The grant program is funded by a portion of RV registration fees and helps counties improve or build new campgrounds.
  • Consider whether to recommend designation of a 17.5-mile stretch of the Nehalem River as an Oregon Scenic Waterway. If recommended, and if the Oregon Water Resources Commission concurs, the recommendation goes to Governor Kate Brown who will decide whether or not designate the river.

The draft agenda and meeting packet are listed at oregon.gov/oprd/Pages/commission.aspx. People who plan to present oral testimony are asked to provide 15 copies of their statement to Commission Assistant Denise Warburton denise.warburton@oregon.gov. Those needing special accommodations to attend should also contact Warburton by email, or call 503-986-0719, at least three days in advance.

The Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission (oregon.gov/oprd/Pages/commission.aspx) promotes outdoor recreation and heritage by establishing policies, adopting rules, and setting the budget for the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department. The seven members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon Senate. They serve four-year terms and meet several times a year at locations across the state.