Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission to meet June 29 in Lebanon

June 16, 2016

The Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission will hold its third meeting of the year June 29 in Lebanon. Commissioners will gather from 8 a.m. to participate in work sessions and training at the Best Western Boulder Falls Conference Center, 505/605 Mullins Drive, Lebanon, Oregon. Commissioners will convene an executive session at 9:30 a.m. at the same location to discuss acquisition priorities and opportunities, and potential litigation. Executive sessions are closed to the public. A public business meeting will begin at approximately 10:45 a.m. at the same location. The agenda includes several informatio n and action items from agency staff, including requests to:

* Award recreation grants to Oregon communities.
* Approval the "Agency Request Budget" for 2017-2019.
* Remove the scenic bikeway designation from the Metolius Loops route in Central Oregon, and approve a designation for the Oregon Outback route in south central Oregon near Lakeview.

The agenda includes an action item recommending removal of the Metolius Loops Scenic Bikeway designation. The recommendation comes after a public review of the 5-year old route and is due to a conflict with pre-existing federal wild and scenic river management plan that limits promotional options for the area. The roads are still open to bicycling, but will not be promoted as part of the Oregon scenic bikeway system.

The draft agenda and all other materials will be online at http://bit.ly/june2016agenda by 5 p.m. Friday, June 17. People who plan to present testimony are requested to provide 15 copies of their statement to Commission Assistant Jen Busey at jen.busey@oregon.gov for distribution to the Commissioners before the meeting. Those needing special accommodations to attend should also contact Busey by email, or by calling 503-986-0719, at least three days in advance.

The Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission (www.oregon.gov/oprd/Pages/commission.aspx) promotes outdoor recreation and heritage by establishing policies, adopting rules, and setting the budget for the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department. The seven members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon Senate. They serve four-year terms and meet several times a year at locations across the state.