Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Applications open for organizations seeking help with downtown revitalization efforts

June 22, 2015

Oregon Main Street is now accepting applications from organizations interested in receiving downtown revitalization assistance at its Main Street(R) and Transforming Downtown designation levels. Organizations at this level receive access to the highest level of services and support available through the program's "Tier System Network." The network also includes Affiliate and Exploring Downtown levels of participation.

Successful applicants receive assistance to help revitalize the economy, appearance, and image of their traditional business district. Services vary from community to community, but generally include work plan and committee development along with specialized training and networking opportunities. 

Visit www.oregon.heritage.org for more information on the Tier System, including eligibility and designation criteria for all levels of assistance. Main Street and Transforming Downtown level applications are available on the website or by calling 503.986.0679 or by email at sheri.stuart@oregon.gov. Completed applications must be received by August 11, 2015. 

The Oregon Main Street Program is modeled on the National Main Street Approach(R), which has been used in more than 2,000 cities nationwide. It emphasizes four critical areas of downtown revitalization: organization helps everyone work toward the same goals and maximizes involvement of public and private leaders within the community; promotion brings people back downtown by helping to attract visitors, shoppers, and investors; design enhances a district's appearance and pedestrian amenities while preserving its historic features; and economic vitality stimulates business development and helps strengthen the district's economic base. 

Participating Performing Main Street(R) designation level communities currently include Albany, Astoria, Corvallis, McMinnville, Oregon City, and Roseburg. Transforming Downtown level communities include Baker City, Bandon, Canby, Carlton, Coos Bay, Cottage Grove, Dayton, Estacada, Hillsboro, Klamath Falls, La Grande, Milton-Freewater, Newberg, Oakridge, Port Orford, Sherwood, Springfield, The Dalles, and Tillamook. Oregon Main Street is part of Heritage Programs, Oregon Parks and Recreation Department, and is a designated coordinating program member of the National Main Street Center. Oregon Main Street provides assistance to all communities whether they are just beginning to explore options for their downtown or are seeking recognition as an accredited Main Street(R) town.