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Introduction 
 
The purpose of this manual is to provide day-use parking permit agents with the procedures for 
issuing 12 & 24 month day-use parking permits. Keep it available as a reference for everyone 
that sells day-use parking permits. 

 
This manual is also available on our website.  Please 
visit: http://www.oregon.gov/OPRD/RULES/dayuse_vendors_manual.shtml  
Click on the link: “Day-Use Agent Manual”. 

 

 
 

Oregon Parks and Recreation Department Permit Program Staff 
 

If you have any questions or if you need clarification on any of the procedures in 
this manual, contact OPRD Permit Program Staff. 

 
Permit Program Specialist 503-986-0717 oprd.permits@oregon.gov 
Permit Program Assistant                          503-986-0712   oprd.permits@oregon.gov 

 
 

Mail all materials and correspondence to: 
Oregon Parks and Recreation Department Day-
Use Parking Permit Program 
725 Summer Street NE, Suite C 
Salem, OR 97301-1271 

 

 
 

Agent Agreements 
Agents must enter into a written agreement with OPRD for selling parking permits. The amount 
of supplies distributed to agents will be at OPRD’s discretion, based on volume of sales and 
timely submission of revenue reports. 

 
Agent Contacts 
Agent contacts are those who are authorized to complete and submit supply orders and revenue 
reports. Agents are required to fill out a day-use parking permit sales contact list before an agent 
agreement is approved. Any person who is on the agent contact list must have read this manual 
and/or received training from permit program staff. Agents need to contact OPRD if the contact 
name changes or if a name needs to be added. 

 

http://www.oregon.gov/OPRD/RULES/dayuse_vendors_manual.shtml
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History and Purpose 
The   popularity   of   the   day-use parking permit   has   grown   considerably   since   it   was 
introduced in 1993. Park visitors find that it is a convenient way to visit parks without the 
hassle of paying for parking each time they visit. They can save money as well. 

 
Visitor fees are a major source of funds for park operations; OPRD receives no general funds 
(income and corporate taxes) for park operations. A share of Lottery profits dedicated to state 
parks by Oregon voters in 1998, and a portion of the recreational vehicle registration fee also 
fund state park operations. 

 
OPRD operates more than 170 day-use areas. Currently, 27 parks charge a day-use parking fee. 
There are signs posted at all day-use fee parks explaining the need for a $5 daily parking permit, 
or 12-month or 24-month parking permit. Day-use parking permits are required year-round; a 
visitor who parks in a state park day-use fee area without a 12- or 24-month parking permit, daily 
parking permit, or current state park camping receipt can be fined $60. 

 
We appreciate your suggestions about either the process of selling parking permits, or changes 
you think customers would like. You may contact the permit program staff if you have any 
questions not answered in this manual. 

 
Questions about local state park amenities and services should be referred to your local park 
manager or the Oregon Parks and Recreation Information Center at 1-800-551-6949, Monday 
through Friday, 8 am to 5 pm. For reservations call 1-800-452-5687 or visit our website: 

 
www.oregonstateparks.org 

 

http://www.oregonstateparks.org/
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Examples of Oregon Parks and Recreation Department 
Day-Use Parking Permits 

 

                                   
 

12-Month Parking Permit Example 24-Month Parking Permit Example 
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DAY-USE PARKS REQUIRING A DAY-USE PARKING PERMIT 
 
 

Willamette Valley 
Columbia Gorge 
Benson, in the Columbia Gorge 

Champoeg, near Newberg 

Dabney, in the Columbia Gorge 

Detroit Lake, near Detroit 

Historic Columbia River Hwy State Trail 

Jasper, southeast of Eugene 

L.L. tub” Stewart, west of Portland 

Mayer, in the Columbia Gorge 

Milo McIver, near Estacada 

Mongold, near Detroit Lake 

Rooster Rock, in the Columbia Gorge 

Silver Falls, near Silverton 

Viento, near Hood River 

Willamette Mission, near Salem 

Winberry at Fall Creek Reservoir southeast 
of Eugene 

 
 
 
Eastern Oregon 
Central Oregon 
Farewell Bend, near Ontario 

 

Smith Rock, near Redmond 
 

The Cove Palisades, near Madras 

Tumalo, near Bend 

 
 
North Coast 
Cape Lookout, near Tillamook 

Ecola, near Cannon Beach 

Fort Stevens, near Warrenton 

Nehalem Bay, near Manzanita 
 
 
South Coast 
Southern Oregon 
Heceta Head Lighthouse, near Florence 

Jessie M. Honeyman, near Florence 

Shore Acres, near Coos Bay 

Tou Velle, near Medford 

 



OPRD Offices/Parks where day-use parking permits are sold 
Many private agents sell passes. A complete list can be found at www.oregonstateparks.org 

 
COASTAL REGION 
 
Fort Stevens State Park 

 
 
 

Depoe Bay Whale 

VALLEYS REGION 
 

OPRD-Reservations Northwest 
Ridge Road 
Hammond, OR  97121 

Watching Center 
119 SW Hwy 101 

2501 SW 1st Ave Ste 100 
Portland, OR  97201 

503-861-3170 Depoe Bay, OR 97341 503- 731-3293 
 (541) 765-3304  
Nehalem Bay State Park 
9500 Sandpiper Lane 

 
Jessie M. Honeyman State 

Tryon Creek State Natural 
Area 

Nehalem, OR  97131 
503-368-5943 

Park 
84505 Highway 101 S 

11321 SW Terwilliger Blvd. 
Portland, OR  97219 

 Florence, OR  97439 503-636-9886 
Coastal Region Office 
401 SW 9th Street 

541-997-5755  
Rooster Rock State Park 

Newport, OR  97365 
(541) 265-8179 

Bullards Beach State Park 
PO Box 569 

PO Box 100 (I-84 Exit 25) 
Corbett, OR 97019 

 (Hwy 101, 2 mi N Bandon) 503-695-2261 
Alsea Bay Bridge 
Historic Interpretive 

Bandon, OR 97411 
541-347-2209 

 
L.L. “Stub” Stewart 

Center 
620 NW Spring St 

 
Cape Blanco State Park 

Memorial State Park 
30380 NW Hwy 47 

Waldport, OR  97394 39745 S Hwy 101 Buxton, OR  97109 
503-563-2002 Port Orford, OR  97465 

541-332-6774 
503-324-0606 

Cape Lookout State 
Park 

 
Harris Beach State 

OPRD-Salem Headquarters 
725 Summer St NE, Ste C 

13000 Whiskey Ck. R. W. 
Tillamook, OR  97141 

Recreation Area 
1655 Highway 101 

Salem, OR  97301 
(503) 986-0707 

503-842-3182 Brookings, OR  97415  
 541-469-0224 Detroit Lake State Recreation 
Beverly Beach State 
Park 

 
Sunset Bay State Park 

Area 
41400 N Santiam Hwy SE 

198 NE 123rd Street 89814 Cape Arago Hwy Detroit, OR  97342 
Newport, OR  97365 Coos Bay, OR  97420-9647 503-854-3406 
541-265-4560 541-888-3778  
 
South Beach State Park 

 Silver Falls State Park 
20024 Silver Falls Highway 

5580 S Coast Highway  Sublimity, OR  97385 
Newport, OR  97366  503-873-4395 
541-867-7451   
  Champoeg State Heritage Area 

7679 Champoeg Road NE 
  St Paul, OR  97137 
  503-678-1251 

 

http://www.oregonstateparks.org/


VALLEYS REGION 
co nt’d  

MOUNTAINS REGION  

 

Southern Willamette 
 

Eastern Region Office 
 

Tumalo State Park 
Management Unit 1645 NE Forbes Road, 62976 OB Riley Road 
60 S Pioneer Street Suite 112 Bend, OR  97701 
PO Box 511 Bend, OR  97701 541-388-6055 
Lowell, OR 97452 541-388-6211  
541-937-1173  Emigrant Springs State Park 
 Deschutes River State 65068 Old Oregon Trail 
Willamette Mission Recreation Area Meacham OR 97859 
State Park 89600 Biggs-Rufus Highway 541-983-2277 
10991 Wheatland Rd. Wasco, OR  97065  
Gervais, OR 97026 541-739-2322 Wallowa Lake State Recreation 
503-393-1172  Area 
 Prineville Reservoir State 72214 Marina Lane 
Joseph H. Stewart State Park Joseph, OR  97846 
Recreation Area 19020 SW Parkland Drive 541-432-8855 
35251 Highway 62 Prineville, OR  97754  
Trail, OR  97541 541-416-0645 Clyde Holliday State 
541-560-3334  Recreation Site 
 Smith Rock State Park Hwy 26, 1 mile E of Mt Vernon 
Valley of the Rogue 9241 NE Crooked River Dr PO Box 10 
State Recreation Area Terrebonne, OR  97760 Mt. Vernon, OR  97865 
3792 N River Road 541-548-7501 541-932-4453 

 

541-582-1118 
 

The Cove Palisades State 
 

Farewell Bend State Recreation 
 Park Area 
 7300 Jordan Road 23751 Old Highway 30 
 Culver, OR  97734 Huntington, OR  97907 
 541-546-3412 541-869-2365 

  

Collier Memorial State  

 Park  
 46000 Highway 97 N  
 Chiloquin, OR  97624  
 541-783-2471 Oregon Parks and Recreation 
  Department 
 LaPine State Park Information Center 
 15800 State Recreation Rd 

LaPine, OR  97739 
1-800-551-6949 

 541-536-2071  

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Gold Hill, OR  97525 
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Promotional Sales 
 
 
Periodically, the 12-month day-use parking permit is sold at a promotional discount, (the 24-month parking 
permit does not go on sale). 

 

OPRD will notify permit agents, in advance, of any scheduled promotional sales.  With the advanced 
notice, OPRD will provide agents with special instructions and reporting forms. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Example: 12-month parking permit sold 
During a promotional sale held in the month of 
December. 
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                                         Foster Parent Permits 
 

Consistent with ORS 390.124 and OAR 736-015, foster parents and parents who have adopted an 
Oregon foster child through Oregon Department of Human Services, tribal governments, and the Oregon 
Youth Authority may be issued a waiver of the day-use parking fee. This waiver is now in the form of a 
special access pass. 
 
The Oregon State Parks Special Access Pass has replaced the foster parent permit. This pass is ONLY 
issued directly from Central Business Services. Please direct customers with questions regarding the 
foster parent program to contact the information center at 1-800-551-6949. 
 
Additional information regarding the foster parent program is available on the state parks website 
at http://bit.ly/1l4K5al.  If you have specific questions or needs regarding the program, please contact the 
Central Business Services Administrative Assistant at 503-872-5379. 

 

http://bit.ly/1l4K5al
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How to Issue Day-Use Parking Permits 
 

• Use a ballpoint pen and press firmly. 
• Complete the permit form at the time of sale only. 
• Do not punch/validate permits prior to the sale. 
• Complete all lines on the permit and punch out the expiration month. 
• Instruct customers to keep the white customer receipt in a safe place. 
• If an error is made while issuing a permit or a customer decides not to purchase 

the permit, void the permit. Write “void” across the permit card and across the 
face of all copies. DO NOT DESTROY ANY PART OF THE VOIDED PERMIT.  See 
“Voided Permits” on page 11 for additional instructions. 

• Permit sales are FINAL. Once an Agent sells a permit, refunds will not be issued. 
 

 

The numbering on this page corresponds with the example on the following page. 
 

1. Choose the appropriate type of permit – either 12-month or 24-month parking permit. 
2. Sell permits in numerical sequence. 
3. Enter the date that the permit is being issued (month/day/year). 
4. Verify the dollar amount to charge the customer: 

• 12-Month Parking Permit $30 • 24-Month Parking Permit  $50 
 

5. Write the 3-digit agent number on this line. Your agent number is required on all permits. 
6. Validate the parking permit by punching out the expiration month on the border of the 

permit card.  The expiration month must be the same month in you are issuing the parking 
permit. For example, if you are selling the permit on June 30, punch out the month of 
June, not July. Punch through the permit card and all three copies of the permit using a 
standard single-hole punch. 

7. Give the white ‘Customer Receipt’ and the permit card to the customer; keep the yellow 
State Parks HQ Copy and submit it with your monthly revenue report; retain the pink Seller 
Copy in the permit book for your records. 

**Agents must keep accurate records of all permits received and sold for six (6) years from date of sale** 
 

Agents are NOT allowed to issue duplicate day-use parking permits 
 

If agents receive a request for replacement of a 12 or 24-month day-use parking permit for 
any reason, advise customers to contact Reservations Northwest Information Center. 
Requests will be considered for approval on a case-by-case basis and must be sent in writing 
via email or surface mail to one of the following addresses: 

Surface mail: Email: 
Reservations Northwest Information Center park.info@state.or.us 
2501 SW First Ave.  Suite 100 
Portland, OR  97201 

 

**Customers may also call the Information Center at 1-800-551-6949 for additional information** 

 

mailto:park.info@state.or.us
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Tips, Tricks and Hints 

 

One of the most important aspects of being a Day-Use Parking Permit Agent is keeping track of the 
permit numbers and reporting them in consecutive order. These documents have a monetary value 
and need to be treated accordingly. 

 
 
Here are some tips and suggestions to take good care of your permit inventory: 

 
• Store permits so they may be accessed in consecutive order. 

 

• Keep all permit materials in a secure, locked area and limit the number of people that have 
access to this area. 

 

• Keep accurate accounting records. Customer fees, except for the agent commission fee, 
collected from the sale of permits must be held separately from all other funds, or clearly 
identified in an accounting system. 

 

• Allow plenty of time for mailing; when ordering materials or sending in your sales report 
anticipate mailing time and account for weekends and holidays. Do not wait until the last 
minute. 

 

• Use a ballpoint pen and press firmly. 
 

• Write legibly; fill out the permit so others can read and understand it. Do not abbreviate or 
leave out important information. 

 

• Permits remain the property of OPRD. 
 

• Permits are not transferable between agents and are to be sold from the business location(s) 
listed on the Day-Use Parking Permit Agent Agreement. If an agent relocates, changes the 
name of the business, or transfers ownership of the business, please notify OPRD 
immediately. 

 
When in doubt, call!  If you are unsure about any aspect of issuing a 

permit or filling out the revenue report, please contact the: 
Program specialist 503-986-0717 or Program assistant 503-986-0712 

oprd.permits@oregon.gov 
  

Suggestions 
We  welcome  any suggestions  or  ideas  you  may have  concerning  the  Day-Use  Parking  Permit 
Program. Please send your suggestions in writing to: 

 
Oregon Parks and Recreation Department Day-
Use Parking Permit Program 
725 Summer Street NE, Suite C 
Salem, OR 97301-1266 

 

mailto:oprd.permits@oregon
mailto:sarah.santos@oregon.gov
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Revenue Report 
 

• The monthly Revenue Report is the agent’s accounting of permits sold by permit number, type of 
permit, and amount of money collected from the first day of each month through the last day of 
each month. 

• Submit only one Revenue Report per month. A Revenue Report must be submitted each month, 
even if no permits are sold. If you discover parking permits sold in a previous month, but 
overlooked on that month’s report, include them on the current month’s revenue report. 

• Reports are audited as they are received.  Agents will be notified of any discrepancies via a 
‘Corrected Copy’ of the report and a ‘Correction Letter’. Keep both items for your records; 
they explain the discrepancy and give directions you must follow in order to correct it. 

• Submit the white and yellow copy of the Revenue Report with the yellow ‘State Parks HQ Copy’ of 
each permit sold, and your payment to the address below. 

• Keep the pink copy of the revenue report and the pink ‘Seller Copy’ of each permit sold, or voided, 
for your records. You must keep records of all permits received and sold for six (6) years from date 
of sale. 

• Due Date - The report is due in Salem no later than the 15th of the each month for permits sold in the 
previous month. (For example, the January Revenue Report includes permits sold in January and is due by 
February 15th). Reports not received by the 15th of each month, regardless of weekends or holidays, 
are considered late. 

• VOIDED PERMITS - DO NOT DESTROY VOIDED PERMITS. If you must void a permit,  
use a permanent marker and write “void” across the permit card (to prevent re-use) and across the face 
of all permit copies.   Return the permit card, the white Customer Receipt and the yellow State Parks 
HQ Copy to OPRD with your Revenue Report.  Retain the pink Seller Copy in the permit book for 
your records. 

A permit submitted as a void without returning the original permit card WILL NOT be 
considered a valid void and the agent will be responsible for the full cost of the parking 
permit. 

• Lost/Missing Inventory - Contact OPRD IMMEDIATELY with issues regarding permit inventory. 
Agents are responsible for keeping track of all permit inventory received from OPRD.  If a permit is 
lost or missing and you are unable to account for it or unable to return the permit card, list the permit 
on the Revenue Report and submit payment. 

• Year-End Reconciliation - This process takes place beginning in January of each year.  Agents will 
be notified of any permits assigned to them during the previous year that remain unaccounted for, 
(permits not sold, voided, or returned to OPRD). Agents are given the opportunity to provide backup 
information to account for the permits, but are financially responsible for the permit(s) if unable to 
do so. 

 
Mail report materials to: Oregon Parks and Recreation Department 

Day-Use Parking Permit Program 
725 Summer Street NE, Suite C 
Salem, Oregon 97301-1266 
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How to Fill Out the Revenue Report 
 

In order to avoid the most common mistakes that occur on the Revenue Report: 
• First, arrange all the yellow ‘State Parks HQ’ copies of the permits into numerical order (lowest number on top). 
• Second, list the permits on the report in numerical order, sequence-by-sequence. 

 

The numbering on this page corresponds with the example on the following page. 
1. Enter the agent business name/address, agent number, month and year that you are reporting in the 

spaces provided. 
2. List permits on the report in numerical order, sequence by uninterrupted sequence. Only break the 

sequence before a missing permit or a change in the number sequence. 
• On the first line of the report, enter the permit number of the first permit in the sequence (whether 

sold or voided) as the Beginning Number, then enter the permit number of the last permit in the same 
uninterrupted sequence as the Ending Number (see example). It is not necessary to end a 
permit sequence based on the ending number of a book of permits. 

• If there is only one permit in a particular sequence, the beginning number and ending number will 
be the same number. 

• If no permits were sold during the month, do not list any permits on the report; write ZERO SALES 
and sign, date and submit the report. 

3. If there is a break in the sequence due to a missing permit or a change in the number sequence, begin a 
new line of entry and list the new number sequence on the next line as stated in step number 2. 

4. Indicate the quantity of 12-Month Parking Permits, 24-Month Parking Permits and Voided permits in 
each sequence under each corresponding column. See page 12 for information on voided permits. 

5. Add each row across to obtain a total quantity per permit sequence. 
• Remember as a double check, these sequence numbers are inclusive, so the total number of permits 

sold/voided in a row/sequence is always the difference between permit numbers + 1.  (Ending 
number minus beginning number plus 1 equals the number of permits in the sequence; this number should 
match a manual count of the permit copies listed in the sequence). 

6. In the Sales: Quantity x Unit Value row, add the respective columns and enter the total number of 
12-Month Parking Permits and 24-Month Parking Permits sold. 

7. Multiply the Quantity in each column by the Unit Value and enter the Total Sales for each column. 
8. Add across the total for each column and enter the Total Sales for the current month. 
9. Adjustments for the Month of . . . 

• If you did not receive instructions to make an adjustment, leave this line blank. 
• If you received a Correction Letter and a Corrected Copy of a report from a previous month that 

indicates an overage or shortage occurred, please follow the instructions in the Correction Letter 
and enter the month/year and the adjustment amount on this line and add or subtract it from the 
Total Sales. The sum or difference is the total payment due to OPRD (enter amount in box below). 

10. Enter your check number and the amount due OPRD for all permits sold, including any adjustments. If 
no adjustment from a previous month is needed, the amount due will be the same amount as the Total 
Sales. 

11. Please be sure to sign and date the report and submit the report, permit copies and your payment to 
OPRD no later than the 15th of each month 
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Example 
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Ordering Materials 
 

To order additional materials complete the ‘Supply Order Form’ and mail or fax it to: 

Oregon Parks and Recreation Department 
Day-Use Parking Permit Program 
725 Summer Street NE, Suite C 
Salem, Oregon 97301-1266 
FAX 503-986-0648 

 
 
The numbering on this page corresponds with the example on the following page. 

 

1. Fill in your three-digit agent number. 
 

2. Fill in your agent/business name and physical location. Supplies are shipped via UPS, 
which requires a physical location, not a post office box. 

 

3. Indicate the quantity of each item you are requesting (Day-use parking permits come in books of 10). 
 

4. Do not write below this line, this shaded area of the form is for OPRD-Salem use only. 
 

5. An authorized agent contact must sign and date the supply order form. 
 

6. Mail both the white and yellow copies to OPRD; retain the pink copy for your records; the 
yellow copy will be returned with your supplies. 

 
• Monitor your supply of permits and anticipate one week for delivery. The one-week 

period may be shorter, but emergency requests for permits cannot always be 
accommodated. 

 

• Supply orders are filled in the order that they are received. 
 

• Permits are considered controlled inventory and are always sent via UPS Ground. 
 

• Supplies will not be sent “overnight” for any reason, even at the expense of the agent. 
 
 

Receiving Shipment of Controlled Items 
 

• Upon receiving the shipment of supplies, compare the receipt to the supplies received. 
Agents are responsible for keeping track of all permit inventory received from OPRD. 
Therefore, if you find any discrepancies or missing permits in the supplies received 
from OPRD, contact the permit program staff immediately. 
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Example 
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Returning Unused Inventory 
 

The  Unused  &  Returned  Permit  Inventory  form  is  to  be  completed  anytime  unused/un-issued 
12 and 24-month day-use parking permits are returned to OPRD. 

 
Under what circumstances would an agent return inventory? 

• In January, each agent is provided with a new supply of permits because the previous year’s 
permits are no longer for sale, therefore the previous years supply must be returned to OPRD. 

• Termination of the agent agreement by the agent or OPRD. 
• Recall of permits by OPRD for any reason. 

 
The numbering below corresponds with the example on the following page. 
1. Check the day-use permits box on the upper right hand corner of the form. 
2. Enter the Agent Business Name and Agent Number. 

 
Before completing the remainder of the form, arrange the permits (and/or permit books) that you are 
returning to OPRD into numerical order. This will make it easier to list the permits on the form in 
numerical order, sequence by uninterrupted sequence. 

 
3. Enter the permit number of the first permit in the sequence as the ‘Beginning Number’ on the first 

line of the form; then enter the permit number of the last permit in the same uninterrupted 
sequence as the ‘Ending Number’. 

4. If there is a break in the sequence, begin a new line of entry with the first permit number in the 
next sequence. Continue listing permits until you reach the last permit you are returning. 

5. Total the number of permits per sequence in each row under ‘Number of Permits’. 
6. Total the column under ‘Number of Permits’. The Total should match a manual count of all 

permits you are returning to OPRD. Please note: The shaded area is for OPRD verification of 
returned permit inventory. 

7. Sign and date the form. 
 
 

If you have used only a portion of the book, return only the unused permits with the original permit 
 card and all corresponding copies to OPRD.  You are to keep the pink ‘Seller Copy’ of any permits 
issued out of the same book. 

 

Mail all unused permit inventory along with the white and yellow copy of the ‘Unused & Returned 
Permit Inventory’ form to: 

 
Oregon Parks and Recreation Department 
Day-Use Parking Permit Program 
725 Summer Street NE, Suite C 
Salem, OR 97301 
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Example 
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