
 
         

Memorandum 
 

To:            Oregon State Board of Nursing  
From:       Barbara Holtry, Interim Executive Director 
Date:        May 15, 2023 
 

Re:           Announcement of Rule Advisory Meeting regarding revisions of Division 851-070 
    

         

         

The Oregon State Board of Nursing will have a video Rule Advisory Committee (RAC) to comment and provide 
input into revisions to Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 851-0070, Fitness for Practice Related to Behavioral 
Health (Substance Use and/or Mental Disorders) and Cognitive or Physical Impairment. 
 
Oregon Revised Statute 678 mandates the Boards requirements to assure that each applicant for licensure and 
certification, as well as those individuals already having a license certification, have the mental and physical 
ability to maintain safe practice as well as the ability the discipline a license for impaired practice. 
 
This meeting is open to the public. Only RAC members will be allowed to discuss revision proposals. There will 
be a public comment time at the end of the meeting. 
 
Meeting will be held Thursday, May 25 from 10 am – Noon, via Teams virtual technology. 
 
Meeting access information is below.  
 
 

Microsoft Teams meeting  

Join on your computer, mobile app or room device.  

Click here to join the meeting  

Meeting ID: 299 839 903 535  

Passcode: uhW8hn  

Download Teams | Join on the web 

Or call in (audio only)  

+1 503-446-4951,99029083#   United States, Portland  

Phone Conference ID: 990 290 83#  

Find a local number | Reset PIN  

Learn More | Meeting options  

 

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_NTE1OGM0OGMtNTEyZC00YzBjLWE2MDYtZjU0YzMxMjIzODlk%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22aa3f6932-fa7c-47b4-a0ce-a598cad161cf%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%227c3800da-589f-499a-92f1-6888b269f04b%22%7d
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-teams/download-app
https://www.microsoft.com/microsoft-teams/join-a-meeting
tel:+15034464951,,99029083# 
https://dialin.teams.microsoft.com/6695bda5-c841-4ea8-9531-d54eb9fd5334?id=99029083
https://dialin.teams.microsoft.com/usp/pstnconferencing
https://aka.ms/JoinTeamsMeeting
https://teams.microsoft.com/meetingOptions/?organizerId=7c3800da-589f-499a-92f1-6888b269f04b&tenantId=aa3f6932-fa7c-47b4-a0ce-a598cad161cf&threadId=19_meeting_NTE1OGM0OGMtNTEyZC00YzBjLWE2MDYtZjU0YzMxMjIzODlk@thread.v2&messageId=0&language=en-US
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Division 70 

Fitness for Practice Related to Behavioral 
Health (Substance Use and/or Mental 
Disorders) and Cognitive or Physical 

Impairment 

851-070-0000
Statutory Requirements for the Board to Establish Physical and Mental Ability for Safe Practice.
ORS 678.040 states that the Board must establish satisfactory evidence that an applicant has the physical
and mental health to safely practice. ORS 678.111 states that the Board may discipline a licensee or
certificate holder for impairment or the physical inability to safely practice. ORS 678.113 authorizes the
Board to evaluate the mental or physical condition of a licensee or certificate holder. These rules identify
how the Board will implement statute.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150
Stats. Implemented: ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16

851-070-0005
The OSBN ceased participation in the state Health Services Professional Program effective October 1,
2022. Those licensees who completed their enrollment into HPSP by that date are authorized to
complete the program and must comply with OAR 851-0070 requirements published August 1, 2019.
Should non-compliance with HPSP requirements be reported to the Board, the Board has the authority
to remove the licensee from HPSP and place the individual on public disciplinary action as per
established Board procedures and in compliance with ORS 678.111.ORS 676.185,

851-070-0025
Public Discipline

(1) All notices of and final disciplinary actions associated with these rules will be a public document
and subject to public notification as per usual Board processes. This information is also
reportable, for nurses, to the National Nursing Database (NURSYS) and the National
Practitioner Databank (NPDB for all licensees and certificate holders.

Stat. Auth.:  ORS 676, 175, ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Stats. Implemented:  ORS 676.175, ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, 678.150 

Hist.: BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1- 
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851-070-0060 
Approval of Independent Third-Party Evaluators 

(1) Per ORS 678.113, during the course of a Board investigation, the Board has the authority to 
require, by Board order, an evaluation to determine physical, mental ability, including 
chemical dependency. The licensee or certificate holder may voluntarily undergo an 
evaluation as requested by a Board investigator. The evaluator selected for this evaluation 
shall not be an employee or contractor of the Board and is considered an independent 
third- party evaluator. 

(2) Evaluation of cognitive or physical impairment may be established by a Licensed 
Independent Practitioner who has met their Licensing Board’s requirement for practice in 
physical and cognitive assessment. 

(3) To be approved by the Board as an independent third-party evaluator for chemical dependency 
an evaluator must: 

(a) Be licensed as required by the jurisdiction in which the evaluator works; 
(b) Have a minimum of a master’s degree in a mental health discipline; 
(c) Provide evidence of additional education and experience as shown by one of the 

following: 
(A) Department of Transportation Substance Abuse Professional qualification; 
(B) Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC) II or III; an evaluation done by a 

CADC 1 may be accepted if: 
(i) Signed off by a CADC II or III; or 
(ii) Per the Board evaluation process be qualified to perform the 

appropriate level of evaluation; 
(C) Board Certified in Addiction Medicine by either ASAM or American Board of 

Psychiatry and Neurology. 
(d) Provide evidence of assessments that would indicate that the licensee or certificate 

holder is safe to practice at the level of the licensee or certificate holder being 
evaluated. 

(e) The Board will not accept an evaluator as independent in a particular case if, in the 
Board’s judgment, the evaluator’s judgment is likely to be influenced by a personal or 
professional relationship with a licensee. 

(f) If the evaluation does not contain return to work criteria, qualified Board staff or 
another third-party evaluator will review the evaluation to determine the return to 
work criteria. 

 
Stat. Auth.:  ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Stats. Implemented:  ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
 

851-070-0070 
Approval of Treatment Providers 
(1) Through established procedures, the Board will approve all treatment providers for chemical 

dependency. 
(2) To be approved by the Board as a treatment provider, a provider must be: 

(a) Licensed as required by the jurisdiction in which the provider works; 
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(b) Able to provide appropriate treatment considering licensee’s diagnosis, degree of 
impairment, level of licensure or certification, and treatment options proposed by the 
treatment program or the independent third-party evaluator; and 

(c) Able to obtain a urinalysis of the licensee at intake. 
(3) As authorized by ORS 678.150 (6) (g) the Board has the authority to compel the disclosure of 

treatment records documented under a nurse-patient or psychotherapist- patient relationship. 
These subpoenas will not be quashed citing privileged communication. 

(4) Chemical dependency treatment records may be disclosed under the requirement of the Code of 
Federal Regulations (CFR) 42 Part 2. The Board must develop an internal process to request 
records based on the requirement of this regulation. 

(5) The Board will not accept a provider as a treatment provider in a particular case if, in the 
Board’s judgment, the provider’s judgment is likely to be influenced by a personal or 
professional relationship with a licensee. 
 

Stat. Auth. ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
 

851-070-0075 
Approval of Worksite Monitors  
To be approved by the Board as a worksite monitor, a worksite monitor must be: 
(1) Licensed as a registered nurse or other licensed health professional approved by the Board. 
(2) Conduct routine observation/monitoring of licensee’s performance. The worksite monitor 

may be the supervisor if the supervisor can meet the observation requirements, or this may 
be delegated by the supervisor to another licensed individual who meets the requirements. 

(3) Provide evidence of specialized education relevant to the worksite monitor as approved by 
the Board. 

(4) The worksite monitor must agree in writing to perform the worksite monitor role. 
(5) The written report must be completed by the worksite supervisor with input from worksite 

monitors. 
 

Stat. Auth.:  ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Stats. Implemented:  ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Hist.: BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16; BN 5-2016, f. & cert. ef. 8-2-2016 

 
 

851-070-0080 
Licensee Responsibilities while on Public Discipline All licensees and certificate holders must: 
(1) Agree to report any arrest for or conviction of a misdemeanor or felony crime to the Board 

within three business days after the licensee is arrested or convicted of the crime; and 
(2) Comply continuously with his or her monitoring agreement, including any restrictions on his 

or her practice for public discipline, as specified by the Board by rule or order.  
(3) Abstain from mind-altering or intoxicating substances or potentially addictive drugs, unless 

prescribed for a documented medical condition by a person authorized by law to prescribe 
the drug to the licensee.  

(4) Report unauthorized use of mind-altering or intoxicating substances or potentially addictive 
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drugs within 24 hours; 

(5) Comply with the treatment plan and all other requirements of the Board order.  

(6) Limit practice as required by the Third-Party Evaluator, Treatment Program, or Board order; 
(7) Participate in monitored practice; 
(8) Participate in a follow-up evaluation, when necessary, of licensee’s fitness to practice; 
(9) Submit to random toxicology testing for the duration of the Public Discipline program; 
(10) Report at least monthly to the Public Discipline Program compliance staff; 
(11) Report to the Board compliance staff applications for licensure in other states, changes in    

employment and changes in practice setting; 
(12) Agree to be responsible for the cost of evaluations, toxicology testing and treatment; 
(13) Report to the Board compliance staff any investigations or disciplinary action by any state or 

state agency, including Oregon; 
(14) Participate in required meetings according to the treatment plan; and 
(15) Maintain active license or certification status. 
(16) For discipline violation of any of the conditions of the final order is considered non-

compliance and will be investigated and the appropriate sanction will be determined up to 
and including revocation of license or certificate. 

 
Stat. Auth.:  ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Stats. Implemented:  ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 1-2014, f. 3-3-14, cert. ef. 4-1-14; BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
851-070-0105 
Alteration of Public License Verification Information Upon Successful Completion of Probation 

1. Board discipline is subject to public disclosure and, as such, must be made available to the 
public. 

2. On the three-year anniversary date of successful release from monitored practice, the licensee 
or certificate holder may petition the Board, using internal Board procedures, to alter the 
information found on the licensee or certificate holders found on the Board verification website. 

3. While public discipline is not authorized to be completely removed or expunged from the 
verification website, the information will not be found on the verification landing page of the 
licensee or certificate holder. Access to the discipline document and information will require 
additional keystrokes. 

4. The disciplinary information will continue to be available through the national nurses database 
(NURSYS) and the National Practitioner Databank (NPDB). The Board has no authority over how 
information is displayed on these platforms. 

 
 

The official copy of an Oregon Administrative Rule is contained in the Administrative Order filed at the 
Archives Division, 800 Summer St. NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. Any discrepancies with the published 
version are satisfied in favor of the Administrative Order. The Oregon Administrative Rules and the 

Oregon Bulletin are copyrighted by the Oregon Secretary of State. 
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Division 70 
 

Fitness for Practice Related to Behavioral 
Health {Substance Use and/or Mental 
Disorders} and Cognitive or Physical 

Impairment 
 
851-070-0000 
Purpose, Intent and Scope 
Statutory Requirements for the Board to Establish Physical and Mental Ability for Safe Practice. 
ORS 678.040 states that the Board must establish satisfactory evidence that an applicant has the 
physical and mental health to safely practice. ORS 678.111 states that the Board may discipline a 
licensee or certificate holder for impairment or the physical inability to safely practice. ORS 678.113 
authorizes the Board to evaluate the mental or physical condition of a licensee or certificate holder. 
These rules identify how the Board will implement statute. 
The Board believes that licensees who develop substance use disorders, mental disorders, or both 
disorders can, with appropriate treatment, be assisted with recovery and return to the practice of 
nursing with appropriate workplace monitoring. In assuring public protection, it is the intent of the 
Board that a licensee with a substance use disorder, a mental disorder or both types of disorders may 
have the opportunity to enter the Alternative to Discipline (ATD), known in Oregon as the Health 
Professionals’ Services Program (HPSP) as a Board referral or a self-referral. Based upon review of 
each individual circumstance, the Board may, instead of allowing entry into HPSP, order public 
discipline. Substantial non-compliance with the requirements of the ATD or public discipline program 
may lead to further disciplinary action by the Board. For Licensees with Cognitive or Physical 
Impairment without associated Behavioral Health Diagnosis return to work monitoring will be done 
through public discipline and are not eligible for the ATD program. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 

Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
851-070-0005 
The OSBN ceased participation in the state Health Services Professional Program effective October 1, 
2022. Those licensees who completed their enrollment into HPSP by that date are authorized to 
complete the program and must comply with OAR 851-0070 requirements published August 1, 2019.. 
Should non-compliance with HPSP requirements be reported to the Board, the Board has the authority 
to remove the licensee from HPSP and place the individual on public disciplinary action as per 
established Board procedures and in compliance with ORS 678.111. 
851-070-0010 
Participation in Health Professionals’ Services Program 

The Oregon State Board of Nursing’s ATD is the HPSP program. (For the purposes of this rule, from 
here on, the ATD program will be referred to as the HPSP). Effective July 1, 2010, the Board shall 
participate in the Health Professionals’ Services Program and may refer eligible nurses to the HPSP 
in lieu of or in addition to public discipline. Only licensed practical nurses, registered nurses, and 
advanced practice registered nurses who meet the eligibility criteria may be referred by the Board to 

Formatted: Font: Not Bold
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HPSP. 
 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200ORS 676.185,  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 
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851-070-0020 
Eligibility for enrollment in Health Professionals’ Services Program (HPSP) 

(1) Licensee must be evaluated by an independent, third-party evaluator approved by the Board. 
The evaluation must include a diagnosis of a substance use disorder, mental disorder, or both 
types of disorders with the appropriate diagnostic code from the DSM, and treatment options. 
The evaluation must also include return to work conditions. If not included in the initial 
treatment evaluation, the licensee will need to obtain a second evaluation to identify specific 
return to work recommendations or this may be determined by qualified Board staff. 

(2) Must have reasonable ability to meet the monitored practice requirement. 

(3) Licensees who have successfully completed either the NMP or HPSP programs and who have 
had a reoccurrence of impairment may be permitted a maximum of one additional admittance 
into the HPSP upon Board approval. 

(4) If eligibility for HPSP is met, the Board will make the final determination if the licensee may be 
referred to HPSP or be placed on public discipline. 

(5) Sections 3 and 4 of this paragraph do not apply to the self-referred licensee. 
 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
 
851-070-0025 
Public Discipline 
Public discipline is determined by the Board after deliberation of investigatory information. Once 
ordered for public discipline, there is no option for entry into HPSP. The requirements for Board 
ordered monitored practice are stated in the specific Board documents. 
 All notices of and final disciplinary actions associated with these rules will be a public 

document and subject to public notification as per usual Board processes. This information is 
also reportable, for nurses, to the National Nursing Database (NURSYS) and the National 
Practitioner Databank (NPDB for all licensees and certificate holders. For probation, the 
licensee will be considered for completion as per Board order; however, the public discipline 
stays on the OSBN website for the life of the license. 

(1)  
 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 ORS 676, 175, ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 ORS 676.175, ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, 678.150 
Hist.: BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 
 

 
851-070-0030 
Procedure for Board Referrals and Public Discipline 

(1) The Board will review the report of the Investigator to determine if the licensee will be referred 
to the HPSP program or receive public discipline. 

(2) A Board-referred licensee is enrolled in the program effective on the date the Board approves 
entry into the program. 

(3) Upon final enrollment into the program, the vendor will notify the Board and the Board ends 
the ICO. The Board will dismiss, without prejudice, the complaint at the next Board meeting. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
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BN 2-2013, f. 2-28-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13; BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 
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851-070-0040 
Procedure for Self-Referred Licensees 

(1) Self-referred licensees may participate in the HPSP as permitted by ORS 676.190(5). 
Licensees with physical or cognitive impairment, without an associated Behavioral Diagnosis 
are not eligible to self-refer to HPSP. 

(2) Once a self-referred licensee seeks enrollment in the HPSP, failure to complete final 
enrollment may constitute substantial non-compliance and may be reported to the Board. 

(3) If self-referral has completed final enrollment to the HPSP and the Board opens an 
investigation on the licensee not related to substantial non-compliance, the licensee may 
continue in the HPSP program for the monitoring of safe practice until the Board has 
determined their ongoing eligibility or determined discipline. 

(4) If a licensee voluntarily enters treatment without exhibiting an established danger to the public 
(such as workplace impairment, multiple DUII, etc.), without self-referral to HPSP, or has 
otherwise not had any Board reportable incidences, there is no requirement to report to the 
Board by the individual or the employer at the time of treatment or discovery that the licensee 
was in treatment, however, the licensee must disclose the treatment upon renewal of 
licensure. 

 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 

Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 2-2013, f. 2-28-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13; BN 1-2014, f. 3-3-14, cert. ef. 4-1-14; BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, 
cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
 

851-070-0045 
Disqualification for Self-Referral to HPSP 
(1) Reasonable expectation that a report will be made to the Board regarding work place 

impairment. 
(2) Criminal activity involving injury or endangerment to others. 
(3) A diagnosis requiring treatment because of sexual offenses or sexual misconduct. 
(4) Pending or active investigations with the Board or Boards from other states. 
(5) Previous failure to complete either the Nurse Monitoring Program or HPSP. 
(6) Current participation in a monitoring program in another state. 

(7) If during the safe practice investigation an issue is revealed that requires the HPSP program to 
report the issue to the Board. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 

Hist.: BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
 
851-070-0050 
Disqualification Criteria for Board-Referral entry Into HPSP 
In addition to the above, the Board may disqualify the licensee for entry into HPSP for factors 
including, but not limited to: 
(1) Licensee’s disciplinary history; 
(2) Extent to which licensee’s practice can be limited or managed to eliminate danger to the 

public; 
(3) Likelihood that licensee’s impairment cannot be managed with treatment; 
(4) Evidence of patient harm related to the impairment; 
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(5) Evidence of non-compliance with a monitoring program from other state; or 
(6) Previous Board investigations with findings of substantiated abuse or neglect. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 2-2013, f. 2-28-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13; BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
 
851-070-0060 
Approval of Independent Third-Party Evaluators 

(1) Per ORS 678.113, during the course of a Board investigation, the Board has the authority 
to require, by Board order, an evaluation to determine physical, mental ability, including 
chemical dependency. The licensee or certificate holder may voluntarily undergo an 
evaluation as requested by a Board investigator. The evaluator selected for this evaluation 
shall not be an employee or contractor of the Board and is considered an independent 
third- party evaluator. 

(2) Evaluation of cognitive or physical impairment may be established by a Licensed 
Independent Practitioner who has met their Licensing Board’s requirement for practice in 
physical and cognitive assessment 

(1)(3) To be approved by the Board as an independent third-party evaluator for chemical 
dependency, an evaluator must: 

(a) Be licensed as required by the jurisdiction in which the evaluator works; 
(b) Have a minimum of a Master’s Degree in a mental health discipline; 
(c) Provide evidence of additional education and experience as shown by one of the 

following: 
(A) Department of Transportation Substance Abuse Professional qualification; 
(B) Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC) II or III; an evaluation done by a 

CADC 1 may be accepted if: 
(i) Signed off by a CADC II or III; or 
(ii) Per the Board evaluation process be qualified to perform the appropriate 

level of evaluation; 
(C) Board Certified in Addiction Medicine by either ASAM or American Board of 

Psychiatry and Neurology. 
(d) Provide evidence of assessments that would indicate that the licensee or certificate 

holder is safe to practice at the licensure level level of the licensee or certificate holder 
being evaluated. 

(e) The Board will not accept an evaluator as independent in a particular case if, in the 
Board’s judgment, the evaluator’s judgment is likely to be influenced by a personal or 
professional relationship with a licensee. 

(f) If the evaluation does not contain return to work criteria, qualified Board staff or another 
third party evaluator will review the evaluation to determine the return to work criteria. 

(2) Evaluation of cognitive or physical impairment may be established by a Licensed Independent 
Practitioner who has met their Licensing Board’s requirement for practice in the area of physical and 
cognitive assessment. 
 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 
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851-070-0070 
Approval of Treatment Providers 
(1) Through established procedures, the Board will approve all treatment providers for chemical 

dependency. 
(1)(2) To be approved by the Board as a treatment provider, a provider must be: 

(a) Licensed as required by the jurisdiction in which the provider works; 

(b) Able to provide appropriate treatment considering licensee’s diagnosis, degree of 
impairment, level of licensure or certification, and treatment options proposed by the 
treatment program or the independent third-party evaluator; and 

(c) Able to obtain a urinalysis of the licensee at intake. 
(3) As authorized by ORS 678.150 (6) (g) the Board has the authority to compel the disclosure of 

treatment records documented under a nurse-patient or psychotherapist- patient relationship. 
These subpoenas will not be quashed citing privileged communication. 

(4) Chemical dependency treatment records may be disclosed under the requirement of the Code of 
Federal Regulations (CFR) 42 Part 2. The Board must develop an internal process to request 
records based on the requirement of this regulation. 

(c)  

 The Board will not accept a provider as a treatment provider in a particular case if, in the Board’s 
judgment, the provider’s judgment is likely to be influenced by a personal or professional relationship 
with a licensee. 
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(2)(1) The Board will not accept a provider as a treatment provider in a particular case if, in the 
Board’s judgment, the provider’s judgment is likely to be influenced by a personal or 
professional relationship with a licensee. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 
(2) Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
 
851-070-0075 
Approval of Worksite Monitors for Both HPSP and Public Discipline 
To be approved by the Board as a worksite monitor, a worksite monitor must be: 
(1) Licensed as a registered nurse or other licensed health professional approved by the Board. 
(2) Conduct routine observation/monitoring of licensee’s performance. The worksite monitor may 

be the supervisor if the supervisor can meet the observation requirements or this may be 
delegated by the supervisor to another licensed individual who meets the requirements. 

(3) Provide evidence of specialized education relevant to the worksite monitor as approved by the 
Board. 

(4) The worksite monitor must agree in writing to perform the worksite monitor role. 
(5) The written report must be completed by the worksite supervisor with input from worksite 

monitors. 
 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Hist.: BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16; BN 5-2016, f. & cert. ef. 8-2-2016 

 
 

851-070-0080 
Licensee Responsibilities for Self/Board referred HPSP and  while on Public Discipline 
(1) All licensees and certificate holderts must: 

(1) Agree to report any arrest for or conviction of a misdemeanor or felony crime to the HPSP and/or 
the Board within three business days after the licensee is arrested or convicted of the crime; and 

(2) Comply continuously with his or her monitoring agreement, including any restrictions on his or her 
practice for a minimum of two years for the HPSP program; or, for public discipline, as specified by 
the Board by rule or order. During the last two years of the HPSP program only, for a single 
isolated incident of substantial noncompliance the Board has discretion to determine if the 
substantial noncompliance warrants extension in the program. 

(3) Abstain from mind-altering or intoxicating substances or potentially addictive drugs, unless 
prescribed for a documented medical condition by a person authorized by law to prescribe the 
drug to the licensee. The Board does not authorize the HPSP program to approve or disapprove 
medications prescribed to the Licensee for a documented medical condition; 

(4) Report unauthorized use of mind-altering or intoxicating substances or potentially addictive drugs 
within 24 hours; 

(5) Comply with the treatment plan and all other requirements of the Board order.. HPSP medical 
director may consult with the third party evaluator(s) regarding treatment recommendations. The 
Board does not authorize HPSP to independently modify treatment plans developed by an 
Independent third- party evaluator; 
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(6)(5) Limit practice as required by the Third-Party Evaluator, Treatment Program, or Board 
order; 

(7)(6) Participate in monitored practice; 
(8)(7) Participate in a follow-up evaluation, when necessary, of licensee’s fitness to practice; 

(9)(8) Submit to random toxicology testing for the duration of the HPSP or of the Public 
Discipline program; 

(10)(9) Report at least weekly to the HPSP regarding the licensee’s compliance with the 
monitoring agreement; rReport at least monthly to the Public Discipline Program compliance staff; 

(11)(10) Report to the HPSP monitor/Board compliance staff applications for licensure in other 
states, changes in employment and changes in practice setting; 

(12)(11) Agree to be responsible for the cost of evaluations, toxicology testing and treatment; 

(13)(12) Report to the HPSP Board compliance staff any investigations or disciplinary action by 
any state or state agency, including Oregon; 

(14)(13) Participate in required meetings according to the treatment plan; and 
(15)(14) Maintain active license status. 

(2) In addition to the requirements listed in section one of this rule, self-referred licensees must 
also provide to the HPSP a copy of a report of the licensee’s criminal history, at least once per 
calendar year or more often if required by the HPSP. 

(15)    For Board Ordered  For discipline violation of any of the conditions of the final order is 
considered non-compliance and will be investigated and the appropriate sanction will be determined up 
to and including revocation of license or certificate. 
 
 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 ORS 678.040, ORS 678.111, ORS 678.113, ORS 678.150 
Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 1-2014, f. 3-3-14, cert. ef. 4-1-14; BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
 
851-070-0090 
Completion Requirements 

(1) To complete the HPSP successfully, licensees with a substance use disorder and with a 
mental disorder, must have participated in the HPSP program for a minimum of four years and 
have worked for at least two years in a monitored practice. Licensees must complete the 
required two years of monitored practice within four years of entering the HPSP. 

(2) To complete the HPSP successfully, licensees with a mental health disorder, but no substance 
use disorder, must have participated in the HPSP program for a minimum of two years and 
have worked for at least one year in a monitored practice. Licensees with a mental health 
disorder may be required to submit to random alcohol or drug testing only in cases when such 
testing is recommended by a third-party evaluator or Board order based on a diagnosis of 
substance use disorder. Licensees must complete the required year of monitored practice 
within two years of entering the Health Professionals’ Services Program. 

(3) The Board may extend the time within which a licensee must complete monitored practice if 
the licensee has remained compliant with the program. 

(4) A licensee who does not complete the required term of monitored practice will be discharged 
from the Health Professionals’ Services Program and may be subject to discipline. 

(5) The time spent working in monitored practice before transferring from the Nurse Monitoring 
Program to the Health Professionals’ Services Program effective July 1, 2010, will be counted 
toward the required term of monitored practice. 

(6) For probation, the licensee will be considered for completion as per Board order; however, the 
public discipline stays on the OSBN website for the life of the license. 
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 

Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 4-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-26-12 thru 10-1-12; BN 13-2012, f. 7-6-12, cert. ef. 8-1-12; BN 1- 
2014, f. 3-3-14, cert. ef. 4-1-14; BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
 
851-070-0100 
Substantial Non-Compliance Criteria 

(1) The HPSP will report substantial non-compliance to the Board within one business day after 
the HPSP learns of non-compliance, including but not limited to information that a licensee: 

(a) Engaged in criminal behavior; 
(b) Engaged in conduct that caused injury, death or harm to the public, including engaging 

in sexual impropriety with a patient; 
(c) Was impaired in a health care setting in the course of the licensee’s employment; 

(d) Received a positive toxicology test result as determined by federal regulations 
pertaining to drug testing or self report of unauthorized substance use; 

(e) Violated a restriction on the licensee’s practice imposed by the HPSP or the licensee’s 
Board; 

(f) Was civilly committed for mental illness or involuntary hospitalization; 
(g) Entered into a monitoring agreement with HPSP, but failed to participate or 

discontinued participation in HPSP; 
(h) Was referred to the HPSP, but failed to enroll in the HPSP; 
(i) Forged, tampered with, or modified a prescription; 
(j) Violated any rules of prescriptive/dispensing authority; 
(k) Violated any provisions of OAR 851-070-0080; 
(l) Violated any terms of the monitoring agreement; or 

(m) Failed to complete the monitored practice requirements as stated in OAR 851-070- 
0090. 

(2)(1) The Board, upon being notified of a licensee’s substantial non-compliance will investigate 
and determine the appropriate sanction, which may include a limitation of licensee’s practice 
and any other sanction, up to and including termination from the HPSP and formal 
discipline. 

(3)(1) For Board Ordered discipline violation of any of the conditions of the final order is 
considered non-compliance and will be investigated and the appropriate sanction will be 
determined up to and including revocation of license or certificate. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 676.200 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 676.200 

Hist.: BN 6-2010(Temp), f. 6-23-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 thru 12-28-10; BN 19-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-2-10; 
BN 2-2013, f. 2-28-13, cert. ef. 4-1-13; BN 1-2014, f. 3-3-14, cert. ef. 4-1-14; BN 4-2016, f. 7-15-16, 
cert. ef. 8-1-16 

 
851-070-0105 
Alteration of Public License Verification Information Upon Successful Completion of 
Probation 

1. Board discipline is subject to public disclosure and, as such, must be made available to 
the public. 

2. On the three-year anniversary date of successful release from monitored practice, the 
licensee or certificate holder may petition the Board, using internal Board procedures, to 
alter the information found on the licensee or certificate holders found on the Board 
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verification website. 
3. While public discipline is not authorized to be completely removed or expunged from the 

verification website, the information will not be found on the verification landing page of 
the licensee or certificate holder. Access to the discipline document and information will 
require additional keystrokes. 

4. The disciplinary information will continue to be available through the national nurses 
database (NURSYS) and the National Practitioner Databank (NPDB). The Board has no 
authority over how information is displayed on these platforms. 

 
 

The official copy of an Oregon Administrative Rule is contained in the Administrative Order filed at the 
Archives Division, 800 Summer St. NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. Any discrepancies with the published 
version are satisfied in favor of the Administrative Order. The Oregon Administrative Rules and the 

Oregon Bulletin are copyrighted by the Oregon Secretary of State. 
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