
LIMITED FIREWORKS  
OPERATOR CERTIFICATION 

Checklist 
 
 

This checklist has been provided to assist in completing your 
application. It is not an all-inclusive list; it is to bring attention to the 
areas that are frequently overlooked.  
 

1. Applicants are required to certify their knowledge of Oregon’s 
Revised Statutes (ORS) 480.130 through 480.150, Oregon 
Administrative Rules (OAR) 837-12-0700 through 837-12-0970, 
and safety procedures for displays. 

2. Renewal applications must be received by OSFM 90 days prior to 
the expiration date on the certificate.  

3. Complete the application form.  
a. Do not use “same as before” or “same as above”. 
b. Please include your email address for quicker response times.  

4. Mail or email the completed package to our office listed below.  

    Salem, OR  97302 
o Email OSFM.LP@OSFM.Oregon.gov 

 
 

o Mail  
Oregon State Fire Marshal 
    Regulatory Services Division – Fireworks Program 
    3991 Fairview Industrial Dr. SE 

mailto:OSFM.LP@OSFM.Oregon.gov


PLEASE SUBMIT APPLICATIONS BY EMAIL OR MAIL: 
 Oregon State Fire Marshal 

    Regulatory Services Division – Fireworks Program 
    3991 Fairview Industrial Dr. SE 
    Salem, OR  97302 

CONTACT INFORMATION: 
         Oregon State Fire Marshal 

 Regulatory Services Division – Fireworks Program 
 Phone: 971-375-3558 
 Fax: 503-373-1825 

          Email: OSFM.LP@OSFM.Oregon.gov  
A LIMITED FIREWORKS DISPLAY is a display held outdoors and limited to Class “C” fireworks. 
Quantities of firecrackers, skyrockets, missile rockets, helicopter spinners, mortars, and similar items are 
subject to limitation by the fire authority having jurisdiction. See OAR 837-12-0720(27). 
Applicants are required to certify their knowledge of Oregon’s Revised Statutes (ORS) 480.130 through 
480.150, Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 837-12-0700 through 837-12-0970, and safety procedures for 
displays. To meet the certification requirements, read the above referenced statutes and rules and complete and 
return this Application to the Office of State Fire Marshal.  
Renewal applications must be received by the State Fire Marshal 90 days prior to the date certification 
expires.  
 

APPLICANT INFORMATION 
NAME: _____________________________________________________________________

MAILING ADDRESS:       _______________________ 
PO Box or Street Address City, State Zip 

STREET ADDRESS:       _______________________ 
Street Address City, State Zip 

PHONE:       __________________________________ DOB:      __________________ 

EMAIL ADDRESS: ___________________________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE 
By signing this application, I understand I am certifying I meet the requirements for Limited Operator 
Certification. I also understand that violation of fireworks statutes or administrative rules may result in the 
State Fire Marshal revoking, suspending, or refusing to issue my certification or display permits, and may 
result in the issuance of civil penalties. 

I hereby certify that I am knowledgeable of and will comply with Oregon’s fireworks statutes, administrative 
rules, and safety procedures for displays. 

I hereby certify the information contained in this application to be correct and true to the best of my 
knowledge.  

I UNDERSTAND THAT A LIMITED DISPLAY OPERATOR CERTIFICATE DOES NOT ALLOW 
THE HOLDER TO PURCHASE, POSSESS, OR STORE FIREWORKS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT 
FIRST OBTAINING A SEPARATE PERMIT FOR EACH EVENT FROM THE OFFICE OF STATE 
FIRE MARSHAL. 
 

___________________________________________________   _______________ 
Signature of Applicant        Date 

Revised 2/2024 

 

LIMITED FIREWORKS 
OPERATOR CERTIFICATION 

APPLICATION  

Oregon State Fire Marshal 

Please Select: 

 NEW APPLICATION

 RENEWAL APPLICATION
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