2020 Law Updates for MOTORIZED BOATS & SAILBOATS (12'+)



BOATING SAFETY EDUCATION CARD

- If you are operating a motorboat greater than 10 hp, you are required to carry a boating safety education card. This includes new boat owners and boaters from out of state.
- Oregon will accept most boating safety education cards from other states.
- If you are convicted of Reckless Operation or Boating Under the Influence, your Boater's Safety Education Card will be suspended for one to three years.

"PULL THE PLUG" AND AIS CHECK STATIONS

- You are required to "pull the plug" when leaving a waterbody and allow any water-holding compartments to drain. The fine for failure to "pull the plug" on motorized boats is \$50.
- If you bypass a mandatory boat inspection station, you may be ordered back or charged with a misdemeanor.

TOWED WATERSPORTS EDUCATION

 If you are towing a wakeboarder or wakesurfer between River Mile 30 and 50 on the Willamette River, you are required to complete the Towed Watersport Education Course and apply for a Towed Watersports Card and Decal.

LIFE JACKET LABELS

 The US Coast Guard has updated life jacket labels. Legacy labels are acceptable provided your life jacket is in good, serviceable condition and is US Coast Guard approved.

Scan the QR code to learn more about new laws, or visit **BoatOregon.com**



2020 Law Updates

NON-MOTORIZED BOATS & RENTALS



WATERWAY ACCESS PERMIT (WAP)

- This permit replaces the Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) permit for non-motorized boats.
- The WAP applies to non-motorized boats 10 feet or longer and sailboats under 12 feet.
- You only need one permit per boat, and it is transferable from boat to boat.
- The WAP is available as one week (\$5), one year (\$17) and two year (\$30) permit.
- You can buy permits through OSMB or ODFW.
 These can be displayed on paper or carried digitally.
- Children 13 and younger do not need a permit.

"PULL THE PLUG" AND AIS CHECK STATIONS

- You are required to "pull the plug" when leaving a waterbody and allow any water-holding compartments to drain. The fine for failure to "pull the plug" on non-motorized boats is \$30.
- If you bypass mandatory boat inspection station, you may be ordered back or charged with a misdemeanor.

LIFE JACKET LABELS

 The US Coast Guard has updated life jacket labels. Legacy labels are still acceptable provided your life jacket is in good, serviceable condition and is US Coast Guard approved.

WHITEWATER HELMETS

 On Class III or higher whitewater rivers,
 Outfitters and Guides are required to offer or make available a helmet for your use.

BOAT RENTAL BUSINESSES

 Boat rental businesses are required to register with the Oregon State Marine Board.