
Every description of watercraft, used or capable of being used as 
a means of transportation on the water. 

Boats with any type or size motor (gas, electric, or diesel) must be 
titled and registered in Oregon.

Children 12 and younger 
must wear a properly 
fitting US Coast Guard
approved life jacket when 
the boat is underway. If the 
life jacket has a strap that 
goes between the child’s 
legs, buckle and adjust to 
make sure the child can
sit comfortably and 
when standing, the 
strap is not too low.

• Should fit snugly 
• Should not rise up more than 

one inch from your shoulder
• Zippers zipped-up completely 
• Buckles fastened 
• Straps tightened

Life jackets come in different types and offer different flotation. 

 
Off shore Inland Watersports

Pick the right life jacket for the boating activity. Read the label for 
information on fit. All life jackets must be US Coast Guard 

approved, in good, serviceable condition, properly fitted for each 
person on board, and easy to grab to put on in an emergency.

You must have a current 
decals on your boat and 
a current registration card 
while out boating.

You must have a boater education 
card if you are operating a boat 

greater than 10 hp.

You must have a valid 
waterway access permit if 

you are using a non-motorized 
boat 10 feet or longer.
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All motorized boats (gas, diesel, or electric) and sailboats 12 
feet or longer must be titled and registered.
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What is a boat?
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Non-motorized boats: 
a white light lantern 
or flashlight to be 
shown in time to 
prevent an incident.

Must turn on when a boat is 
underway, at anchor between 
sunset and sunrise, or during 
times of restricted visibility.

This pamphlet is not a legal reference. It is not a complete 
statement of Oregon boating laws or rules.  For further 

details of carriage requirements and for boats 26 feet and over, 
visit www.BoatOregon.com or call (503) 378-8587.

Navigation LightsWhistle/Air Horn Whistle/Air Horn

Must turn on when a boat is 
underway, at anchor between 
sunset and sunrise, or during 
times of restricted visibility.

Life JacketsLife Jackets

One USCG approved 
extinguisher for motorboats 
with enclosed gas tanks.

One USCG approved 
extinguisher for motorboats 
with enclosed gas tanks, 
including PWCs.

One wearable life jacket.
On PWCs, life jackets must be 
worn by everyone on board.

One wearable life jacket 
and one throwable device, 
immediately available.

Navigation Lights Fire ExtinguisherFire Extinguisher

One whistle or compressed 
air horn per boat, or a 
manufacturer-installed 
boat horn.

e

Here are the carriage requirements for boats less than 16 feet. 
This includes personal watercraft (PWCs) and non-motorized 
boats.

Here are the carriage requirements for boats  from
16 to less than 26 feet in length.

Whistle/Air Horn

One whistle or compressed 
air horn per boat, or a 
manufacturer-installed boat horn.

Boats less than 16 feet Boats 16 to less than 26 feet

Boating Safety Accordion 2020.indd   2Boating Safety Accordion 2020.indd   2 2/25/2020   8:59:19 AM2/25/2020   8:59:19 AM


