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Measure 91 Basics
▪ Measure approved by voters in November, 2014

▪ Gives OLCC authority to tax, license and regulate

▪ Initially four license types: 
– Producer (grower)
– Processor
– Wholesaler
– Retail

▪ Licensees may hold multiple types of licenses

▪ The act allows home grow of up to 4 plants and 8 oz. per 
residence beginning July 1, 2015 

▪ The act prohibits consumption in public

▪ Localities may “opt out” through a general election



State Law 
and Responsible State Agencies
▪ M91 (November 2014)

▪ Statutes: ORS Chapter 475B

▪ Administrative Rules (OLCC’s effective June 28, 2016) 

▪ Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC): recreational 
marijuana businesses and worker permits

▪ Oregon Health Authority (OHA): medical marijuana 
activities/businesses, testing standards and requirements 

▪ Oregon Department of Revenue (DOR): tax collection 

▪ Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA): commercial 
kitchens, scale certification, certain food handling activities, 
pesticides

▪ Local jurisdictions: law enforcement, governing bodies, code 
enforcement
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Federal “Requirements”
Cole Memo: directs states with legal marijuana programs to prevent:

1. Distribution of marijuana to minors

2. Revenue from the sale of marijuana from going to criminal enterprises, gangs 
and cartels

3. Diversion of marijuana from where it is legal under state law to other states

4. State-authorized activity from being used as a cover for illegal activity

5. Violence and the use of firearms in the cultivation and distribution of 
marijuana

6. Drugged driving and other adverse public health consequences associated with 
marijuana use

7. Growing of marijuana on public lands

8. Marijuana use on public property
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Public Health & Safety
Benefits of a Regulated Market
▪ Licensee security requirements: controls access, monitors “red flags”, 

prevents product from getting into hands of minors/illegal market

▪ Cannabis Tracking System (CTS): Prevents legal product from going to, or 
illegal product from coming from illegal market

▪ Transfer manifest: CTS creates documentation for transit of product 
protecting safety of law enforcement and industry

▪ Buy Legal: Provides level of consumer confidence because product is tested 
for pesticides, potency, microbes and mold

▪ Product recall: CTS allows for product to be locked down and pulled off 
shelves
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Recreational Marijuana 
License Types
▪ Producer : grows marijuana

▪ Laboratory: tests marijuana

▪ Processor: creates marijuana-infused products

▪ Wholesale: buys and sells marijuana wholesale

▪ Research Certificate: can conduct research using marijuana

▪ Retail: sells marijuana items to consumers

▪ Worker Permit: employees of any marijuana business
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License Fees
▪ Producers:
– Micro Tier I: $1,000
– Micro Tier II: $2,000
– Tier I: $3,750
– Tier II: $5,750

▪ Processors: $4,750

▪ Wholesalers: $4,750

▪ Micro Wholesalers: $1,000

▪ Retailers: $4,750

▪ Laboratory: $4,750

▪ Sampling Laboratory: $2,250

A $250 non-refundable application fee is due at initial application and at renewal
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▪ Taxes:
– OLCC licensed retailers: 17% state tax; up to 3% additional local tax
– OHA Medical Marijuana Dispensaries: 25% tax on recreational products
– DOR collects sales tax 

▪ Revenue:
– January/February 2016: $6.84M Early start sales (OHA MMDs)

▪ Revenue Distribution:
– 40% common school fund
– 20% Mental Health Alcoholism and Drug Services
– 15% State Police Account
– 10% Cities for law enforcement duties under recreational marijuana
– 10% Counties for law enforcement duties under recreational marijuana
– 5% Oregon Health Authority

Taxes & Revenue



Producers
Who regulates?

 OLCC regulates all aspects of recreational marijuana 
production, 

but by statute . . .
– Can only limit mature marijuana production
– Must impose limits that equalize indoor and outdoor 
production

 ODA establishes agricultural chemical usage requirements, 
OLCC enforces

 OHA establishes the types of testing marijuana must have, 
OLCC enforces
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Producers
Grow limits
 Outdoor: 

Micro Tier I – up to 2,500 sq. ft.; Micro Tier II – up to 5,000 sq. ft. 
Tier I – up to 20,000 sq. ft. Tier II – up to 40,000 sq. ft.

 Indoor: 
Micro Tier I – up to 625 sq. ft. Micro Tier II – up to 5,000 sq. ft.
Tier I – up to 5,000 sq. ft. Tier II - up to 10,000 sq. ft.

 Mixed Production: uses a 4:1 ratio

1,500

7,000

Mixed, Tier 1,with 1,500 Indoor

1,500

34,000

Mixed, Tier II, with 1,500 Indoor
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Producers
Where can plants come from?
▪ By statute, producers can only receive plants from other licensees, 
except:

▪ “Immaculate Conception” Rule: OAR 845-025-2060
 Until December 31, 2017 producers may receive plants from any source 
within Oregon for the first 90 days of initial licensure  
 Example: A producer licensed on March 1, 2016 can receive start-up plants 
from any source in Oregon until June 1, 2016 

 Example: A producer licensed on December 1, 2017 can receive start-up crops 
from any source in Oregon until December 31, 2017

 Inventory Transfer Rule: OAR 845-025-2100
 Allows medical growers can transfer immature, mature and usable marijuana 

into the recreational system with consent from patients
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Processors
Prohibitions
▪ Processors cannot:
– Make products that appeal to minors: items of certain shapes, colors, 
flavors or non-cannabis products primarily consumed by and marketed 
to children

– Make “look alike” products: a cannabis-infused chocolate bar is ok, but 
a cannabis-infused snickers bar is not 

– Make products using Dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO)
– Infuse products with certain additives: caffeine and nicotine are most 
common

– Make edibles in a non-ODA certified kitchen, or share kitchen space with 
a non-licensed edible processor

– Operate in the same space as a restaurant
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Extract Processors
Required Safety Precautions

▪ Must use closed loop extraction systems that meet certain 
engineering standards

▪ Must have local fire code approval

▪ Must process in fully enclosed rooms with spark proof 
equipment

▪ Must have certain safety equipment available for employees
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Testing Laboratories
▪ Must be accredited by OHA’s accreditation body and be 
licensed by OLCC
▪ Required for both medical and recreational testing labs
▪ OHA sets all testing requirements and standards, OLCC requires all licensed 

businesses to follow them

▪ May perform all required tests, or may specialize

▪ Must be licensed and certified to obtain samples 

▪ Responsible for entering test results into seed-to-sale tracking 
system (which locks failed products from moving forward in 
the supply chain)

17



▪ Only license type that can sell to the public

▪ Within a 24-hour period, may only sell to an individual 
customer up to:
 1 oz. of usable marijuana (flower, leaves);
 16 oz. of solid cannabinoid product (brownies, ice cream);
 72 oz. of liquid cannabinoid product (soda);
 5 grams of extract or concentrate (prefilled vape pens, dabs);
 4 immature plants; and 
 10 marijuana seeds

 Retailers can sell multiple items listed above, but no more than the 
individual quantities (Ex.: a retailer can sell 1 oz. of flower and 72 oz. of 
soda at the same time, but not 73 oz. of soda alone)

Retailers
Privileges
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Retailers
Prohibitions
▪ Can only sell between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. PST
▪ Cannot provide free samples
▪ Cannot sell or give away materials used for home extraction 
▪ Cannot give discounts if conditioned on sale of other items (i.e. no “buy 
two joints, get the third 1/2 off”)

▪ Cannot sell any marijuana item for a nominal price (tax evasion issue)
▪ Must have consistent pricing all day (i.e. no “happy hour” pricing)
▪ Cannot sell without verifying age of every customer
▪ Cannot allow self-service (no vending machines)
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▪ Allowed by statute, modeled after alcohol delivery 

▪ Large public safety concerns regarding delivery of marijuana

▪ Law enforcement and marijuana industry members 
recommended significant limits be placed on deliveries:
– Order must be placed by actual customer by 4 p.m. on day delivery 
requested

– Cannot deliver after 9 p.m.
– Must deliver to a residence and only to the person who placed the order
– Delivery employees cannot have more than $3,000 worth of product on 
them at any given time

Retailers
Delivery
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Marijuana Worker Permits
Who must have one?
▪ Originally, the statute required only those working in retail shops to have a 

permit (similar to an alcohol service permit)
 In February 2016 the legislature expanded the requirement to all employees of 

any licensee
 Who is all?  Anyone participating in the possession, securing or selling of 

marijuana, recording possession, securing or selling, verifying age of 
purchasers, or supervising any of these activities

▪ Permits are applied for much like a license, permit holder must be 21 or 
older, pass a background check, and pass a knowledge-based test.  
Permits are good for 5 years

▪ OLCC projects between 10,000-20,000 permits applications will be made 
statewide
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Security
General requirements for all licenses
▪ Video recording cameras:
– 24/7 high quality, non-light dependent recording  of all areas 
where marijuana items are present

– 90 day retention of video recordings 
– Offsite backup video for surveillance area (so that tampering with 
surveillance equipment is detected)

▪ Armed alarm system any time the premises is closed
▪ Panic buttons or the equivalent to call for emergency 
services

▪ Marijuana items stored in locked/secure locations at all 
times
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Packaging/Labeling
▪ Medical and recreational packages and labels must be 
approved by OLCC
– Both programs use the same packaging and labeling regulations 

▪ Registrants and licensees will begin applying for approval on 
Aug. 1, 2016

▪ OLCC will review the applications to determine whether:
– The packages have been certified as child-resistant
– The package contain a label that contains all information required 
by rule

– The package and label are not attractive to minors
– The package and label do not contain any false or misleading 
statements

23



Packaging
 Package cannot be attractive to minors
 No cartoons
 No consumer products, symbols, or celebrities typically marketed 

towards minors

 Package cannot contain any false or misleading statements
 Health claims
 Use of term “organic”

 Child-Resistant Package OR Exit Package at point of sale
 Child resistance is defined by 16 CFR 1700
 Type of packaging will vary based on marijuana item
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Labeling
 Label cannot be attractive to minors or contain false or misleading 
statements

 Principal display panel must have the universal symbol, net weight, 
and product identity

 All required information must be in at least 8 point Times New 
Roman, Arial, or Helvetica font

 All label information must be unobstructed and conspicuous
 Universal symbol must be at least 0.48 inches wide by 0.35 inches 
high and must not be changed

 Label must contain all information for the specific product type
required by rule
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▪ Similar to alcohol restrictions – advertisements cannot:
– Be attractive to minors: images of minors, cartoon characters, toys 

or items that are typically marketed to those under 21
– Promote excess use: displaying consumption, encourages use 

because of intoxicating effects, or encourages excessive or rapid consumption
– Promotes illegal activity: such as transporting over state lines
– Contain deceptive, false or misleading statements: asserting that marijuana is 
safe because it is regulated/tested, has therapeutic or curative effects

▪ Prohibited Modes of Advertising: 
– No handbills
– No TV, radio, billboards, print or internet unless licensee can show that no 
more than 30% of the audience is reasonably expected to be under 21

Advertising
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Local Regulation and Land Use 
▪ Land Use Compatibility Statement (LUCS)

▪ HB 3400 (Section 34) requires Land Use Compatibility Statement from the city or 
county that authorizes the land use 

▪ Commission will not issue a license if the Land Use Compatibility Statement 
shows that the proposed land use is prohibited

▪ All retail establishments need to be at least 1,000 feet from schools
▪ Local Regulation

▪ Time, Place & Manner – reasonable regulations on operations
▪ Requirements related to public access

▪ Water Law Compliance
▪ All licensees required to provide proof of water (source) 

▪ Energy usage
▪ HB3400 establishes Task Force to monitor & create report on energy 

consumption
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Local Option – Opt Out
▪ Cities and counties may adopt ordinances that 
prohibit the establishment of recreational 
marijuana licenses
– Opt out to date:  19 counties, 86 cities, 49 referrals
– Must refer to next general election if less than 55% voted 
against Measure 91

– OLCC will not grant licenses if election scheduled
– Lose opportunity to share tax revenue
– Can opt back in by rescinding opt out ordinance
– Home grow and personal use may not affected (no 
prohibition)
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Market Development 

 Incomplete applications

 Awaiting complete site construction

 Security compliance issues
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Application Processing Timeline

Testing Laboratories

Retailers

July ‐ October

Processors 
& Wholesalers

June ‐August

Producers

Jan ‐ July
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Application Stats*
By the Numbers

SUBMITTED/PAID 
APPLICATIONS: 

1274

ASSIGNED: 526
LOCAL GOV. 
REVIEW: 220

LICENSES 
APPROVED/ISSUED: 

199/187

Producer (823) Laboratory (16)    Processor (107)
Wholesale (77) Research (1) Retail (250)

*As of August 18, 2016
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Recreational Marijuana 
Compliance & Enforcement
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Compliance Philosophy
▪ OLCC seeks to provide applicants and licensees the tools and 
knowledge to operate responsibly, successfully, and in compliance 
with the laws of the State of Oregon and the rules of the Oregon 
Liquor Control Commission

▪ OLCC seeks to achieve this goal by communicating the laws, rules, 
policies, and standards regarding recreational marijuana in the 
State of Oregon and by building a collaborative regulatory structure 
that is non-punitive in nature but provides the enforcement 
mechanisms necessary to properly address compliance deficiencies

34



Compliance Goals
Balanced Regulatory Oversight

▪ Achieve the goals of the Cole Memo while encouraging 
and supporting the development of new industry

▪ Accurate reporting/tracking of product through the 
entire supply chain to protect the public and industry 
participants
– Prevents diversion, provides consumer protection

▪ Holds licensees accountable for compliance
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OLCC Enforcement Authority
Marijuana vs. Liquor 
▪ Similarities:
– OLCC can enforce both liquor and recreational marijuana laws and 
rules

– Same enforcement philosophies: educate, then enforce.  Take 
violations that threaten public safety more serious than procedural 
violations

– OLCC may issue administrative charges at licensed locations
– Investigation of violations through inspections and complaints 
– OLCC regulatory specialists may cite and arrest for marijuana-
related crimes committed by licensees/permittees

▪ Differences:
– Can only cite and arrest for marijuana related crimes that occur on 
a licensed premises

– No authority over unlicensed businesses, individuals, or activities
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OLCC Enforcement Procedures
▪ License investigators work with applicants throughout the licensing 

process
– Goal: educate applicants on compliance expectations before licensure

▪ Regulatory specialists will conduct inspection of location prior to 
license being issued 
– Goal: confirms compliance with applicable laws prior to issuing a license

▪ Regulatory specialists educate licensees after licensure to ensure they 
are in compliance
– Goal: avoid complaint-driven investigations and public safety issues, and gain 

compliance through education where appropriate

▪ Regulatory specialists take enforcement action on priority violations 
(violations that are a threat to public safety) or when educational 
efforts have failed to correct the issues 
– Goal: prevent further threats to public safety and hold licensee accountable
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Seed-to-Sale Tracking System
▪ Statutory Requirement: directed OLCC to develop an 
inventory tracking system to ensure that taxes are collected 
and inventory does not migrate from or into the illegal market
– Supplements limited staffing resources by reporting on discrepancies 
and providing notice of potential tracking issues

– Designed to allow for more effective audits and satisfy federal 
guidelines

– Every plant is tracked via code from seedling to final sale to consumer
– Allows for product recalls when consumer safety issues are present 

▪ Same system used in Colorado: Metrc, CTS
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Transfer Manifest

39

• Allows licensees to transfer 
product to other licensees 
within regulated supply chain

• Generated by Metrc CTS
• Lists product being 

transported, origination, 
destination, travel route, 
vehicle/license plate

• Working on process for OSP 
Dispatch to be able to 
access CTS to verify 
manifest



Law Enforcement Coordination
▪ Criminal and administrative investigations
– When OLCC investigations uncover criminal activity

▪ Minor decoys and compliance checks
– Will be handled similar to minor decoy operations in liquor 
establishments

▪ DUII evaluation 
– Must make recommendations regarding the effects of THC 
on driving (early 2017)

▪ OLCC Public Safety, Education and Enforcement 
Committee
– Comprised of top law enforcement officials from around the 
state  

– Tasked with discussing coordination issues, intersection 
between legal and illegal market forces, making 
recommendations for DUII study  
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Commitment to Outreach & Education

Website
2.5 M hits

FAQs
953,900 views

Rules
31,900 downloads

Business Readiness 
Guide

24,000 downloads

Applicant 
Workshop Video

9,500 views

GovDelivery
29,000 Subscribers
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OLCC Resources
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Resources
Business Readiness Guide 
 Contains guidance on outside agencies, 

requirements
 Downloadable from OLCC website
www.oregon.marijuana.gov

What’s Legal?
▪ Basic information on possession, limits, 

use
www.whatslegaloregon.com
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Resources

State Agencies Regulating Marijuana
 Infographic on “who does what” 

downloadable from OLCC website
www.oregon.marijuana.gov

Coming soon: What’s Legal? 2.0
▪ Legal business practices, retail sales, 

update on consumer responsibilities
▪ Will be available on the OLCC website in 

late 2016 
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OLCC 2016 Timeline

Spring 2016
Processor, Lab, 

Wholesaler 
Licenses Issued

June 16, 2016
OLCC Commission 
Adopts Permanent 

Rules to Finalize 2015 
Temporary Rules

Oct. 2016
Begin Retail 

Store Licensing

Oct. 2015
Adopt Temporary 

rules 
Implementing 

Measure 91 and 
2015 Legislation

Jan. 2016
Temporary 

Rules Effective

June 2, 2016
Issue licenses to 

Non-Resident 
Applicants

Summer 2016
Begin Permanent 

Rulemaking for 2016 
Legislation

June  2016
Adopt Temporary 

Rules for 2016 
Legislation

July 1,  2016
Begin Accepting 

Micro-canopy 
Licenses and 

Marijuana 
Workers Permit 

Applications

Dec. 31, 2016
Recreational Sales 
in at OHA (Medical) 
Dispensaries Ends

August 2016
Begin Accepting 

Labeling and 
Packaging 

Submissions 

April 29, 2016
Issue First Producer 

Licenses
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