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<« Issued 19 October 2009 »

To: All LEDS Representatives and Users
Fr: LEDS Training Unit

Re: Chapter 18, Protection Order File, Brady Indicator & Restraining Order
Update - DMV & Persons Practical Section and Answer Key
Update - Persons Level Practical Section and Answer Key
Update - Entry & Update Answer Key, Question # 127
DMV Bulletin - 90-day temporary permit

Chapter 18, Protection Order File / Brady Indicator

The following areas have been updated to clarify the language for entry of the Brady
Code and Brady Code Indicator, Sections 18.5.7 & 18.18.4.

Section 18.8 Validations has been modified so it matches instructions for LEDS Repre-
sentatives in LEDS Representative, Section 7, Validations.

Section: 18.18.39 - a new NCIC—NIC Number letter has been added. Letter “"Z" which
refers to a Gang Record.

Table of Contents has been updated to reflect page changes.

Chapter 18, Protection Order File / Restraining Orders

It has been brought to our attention that many counties are not faxing Restraining Or-
ders to be served to the sheriff's office, instead they are sending hard copies only which
can delay the service significantly.

Please be aware that you are permitted to fax the restraining order to the sheriff's of-
fice. ORS 107.723 specifically address this issue:

107.723 Service of restraining order; facsimile by sheriff.(1) A sheriff may serve a re-
straining order under ORS 107.718 in the county in which the sheriff was elected and in
any other county that is adjacent to the county in which the sheriff was elected.

(2) A sheriff may serve and enter into the Law Enforcement Data System a facsimile of
a certified true copy of a restraining order under ORS 107.718 that was transmitted to
the sheriff by a trial court administrator or another sheriff using a telephonic facsimile
communication device. A copy of the facsimile must be attached to the sheriff's return of
service. Before transmitting a restraining order to a sheriff under this subsection, the
person sending the facsimile must receive confirmation by telephone from the sheriff's
office that a telephonic facsimile communication device is available and operating. [2003
c.304 §10; 2007 c.255 §7]




Practical Exercise Section for DMV & Persons Level Training Guide

Updated all information on Practical portion and answer key.

Chapter 5, Vehicle Registration Records— Question # 3, page 8, has been updated to re-
flect that Courts cannot perform the task of querying all vehicles to subject Annie Driver
through the state of California and are to proceed to question # 4.

Persons Level Training Guide

Updated all information on Practical portion and answer key.

Entry & Update Test

Corrected response to question # 127 to match answer key.

DMV Bulletin—Issuing New 90 Day Temporary Permits

On July 1, 2009, Oregon began issuing a new 90-day temporary permit to applicants who
meet all requirements for a driver license or permit except that they need additional time
to acquire documents to prove lawful presence or SSN. DMV has received several com-
plaints from citizens who were informed by law enforcement that their temporary permits
were not valid. There may be some confusion as to how to verify that a 90-day tempo-
rary permit is valid.

Status inquiries on DMV's computer systems may show that a customer carrying a valid
temporary permit has "No Oregon License.” However these permits give full driving privi-
leges for the class of license as stated on the permit. Information to verify the permit
will appear in the body of the holder’s driving record as shown below.

PERMIT 05/07/09 EXP: 07/07/09 LPSS LP578989

In the example, PERMIT means that a temporary permit was issued; 05/07/09 is the is-
sue date; 07/07/09 is the expiration date; LPSS is the permit type, Legal Presence/
Social Security Number; and LP followed by six digits is the permit number.

The temporary permit itself will indicate if the permit is for a driver license, identifica-
tion card or instruction permit. If the temporary permit is for a driver license or driver
permit, the type of license or permit will be included along with any endorsements or re-
strictions. You will not find this information on the driver's record.

Examples are on page 3




Example of 90 Day Temporary Driver License / ID / Permit

OREGON TEMPORARY

DRIVER LICENSE /ID / PERMIT An applicant temporary driver permit or |D becomes
—_——— LP invalid if the applicant's driver license, permit of ID is
R L s, issued or refused for "good cause." If, and when the
This parmit is valid as a license, instruction pemit or identification card H ' H £ 1 Ie i
until the expiration shown. This permil is not valid after DMV either issues appllcant s driver “CEHSE‘ DEI"I'TIIt or ID I_S Issued or
or refuses to issue the license, instuction pemit, or |D for which you refused for gDDd cause, the EIDD|ICEII"It must
applied. You must obay the appropriate restrictions explained on the back L i i
ofthis pamit, surrender his/her applicant temporary permit.

FULL LEGAL NAME {Print Lzst, First, Mdds)

ODL/ 1D/ CUSTOMER & HEIGHT WEIGHT DATE OF BIRTH |SEX

RESIDENCE ADDRESS RESTRICTIONS

MAILUNG ADDRESS {IF DIFFERENT )

INSTRUCTION PERMIT: You must be accompanied by a
perscn who has a license from the same class as, or

ISSUE DATE EXPIRATION DATE []o0 DaYs
|60 DAY EXT. higher than, your instruction permit This person must be
REASON: (FOR ISSUANCE) RESTRICTIONS at least 21 years old and be seated beside you.
MISSING REQUIREMENTS: . .
[] LEGAL PRESENCE cDL INSTRUI_:TIDN FERM_IT. The person accompanying
you must be licensed to drive the same class of vehicle

[[] PRODFIVERIFICATION OF 55M
U

you operate. You may not operate a vehicle transporting

R 60 DAY EXTENSION hazardous materials.

PROOF THAT:
CUSTOMER HAS APPLIED FOR LEGAL PRESENCE DOCUMENT
CUSTOMER HAS APPLIED FOR 85N CARD MOTORCYCLE INSTRUCTION PERMIT:
CUSTOMER IS WORKING WITH S5A TO RESOLVE PROBLEM YOU MUST:

DRIVER LICENSE /ID CARD * Ride only during daylight hours.

[JCOLCLASS A []cLass © xoscomm []INTERIM CARD # Wear an approved helmet
[]cDLCLASS B []ProviSIoNAL []OTHER: # Be cbserved by someone (on ancther motorcycle)
[]coLcLass © []'D cARD ONLY _ who has a license endorsed for motorcycle

operation and who is at least 21 years old.
* Mot carry passengers.

E[cu.ss © MOM-COMMAL E[ EMERGENCY |:[an
[ [MOTORCYCLE []STUDENT []SPECIAL

L ENDORSEMENTS | — RESTRICTION CODE KEY

[]scHooLBUS [ |PASSENGER [ JDBLTRPL B-CORRECTIVE LEMSES M-NOCLASS AOR B PASS, VEHS.
I:[ HAZMAT ]:‘TAHKER I:[ MOTORCYCLE D-AMATOMICAL DONOR E- R-HANMD COMTROL
AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION S-TURN SIGNALS
| cartify to the bestof my knowledge that | am legally present in the United F-OUTSIDE MIRROR U-PROSTHETIC AID
States and DMV has not issued a temporary permit under this law before G-DAYLIGHT DRIVING ONLY V-EMANCIPATED MIMOR
unless otherwise eligible. | understand DMWY will cancel or suspend my J-OTHER Z-EMERGENCY PERMIT
K-CDOL INTRASTATEOMLY FETUDENT PERMIT

parmit if | make any false statement or show false evidence of age, 4
identity, legal presence, Social Security Number, full legal name and/or Iff‘d%*g.fsssﬁlﬁjsgagéﬁﬁ‘?is g_—ag;l;gam PERMIT
residence addrass to apply for this permit. If | am convicted of such act(s), o : ~

| can be fined andl/or sentenced to jail. | also certify that | am domiciled in
Oragon as required by ORS 807.062 and ORS 807.400.

DRIVER'S SIGNATURE [FULL LEGAL MAME}

COUNTER | DATE STAMP EMPLOYEE INTTIALS
735-45A (7-08) | sTi# 305302 |

WHITE COPY — DMV YELLOW COPY — CUSTOMER

LEDS Training Unit
503-378-3055 ext: 55014
training.leds@state.or.us




