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State Fire Marshal Asks Oregonians to Keep Fireworks Use Legal and Safe  
 
The Office of State Fire Marshal, the Oregon Fire Service, natural resource agencies, Oregon 
licensed fireworks wholesalers, and safety experts are asking Oregonians to “keep it legal and keep it 
safe” when using all fireworks.  
 
The 2020 Oregon fireworks retail sales season opens June 23 and runs through July 6. The OSFM 
and its partners want everyone to know what fireworks are legal to use in Oregon without a permit, 
where they are allowed to be used, and how to use fireworks safely. 
 
“In Oregon, consumer legal fireworks can only be purchased from permitted fireworks retailers and 
stands,” says State Fire Marshal Jim Walker. “State regulations limit where those fireworks may be 
used. Starting in July, risks for wildfire in many parts of Oregon will be high. Fireworks can also start 
structural fires that threaten lives and property, as we have seen in past years.”  
 
Residents who plan to visit public lands and parks for the July Fourth holiday are asked to leave all 
fireworks at home. The use of fireworks is prohibited in national parks and forests, on Bureau of Land 
Management lands, on U.S. Fish and Wildlife properties, on state beaches, in state parks, and in state 
campgrounds. 
 
For residents who purchase legal fireworks, the OSFM encourages everyone to practice the four Bs of 
safe fireworks use: 
 

 Be prepared before lighting fireworks: keep water available by using a garden hose or bucket. 

 Be safe when lighting fireworks: keep children and pets away from fireworks. 

 Be responsible after lighting fireworks: never relight a dud. Wait 15 to 20 minutes then soak it 
in a bucket of water before disposal. 

 Be aware: use only legal fireworks and use them only in legal places. 
 
Oregon law prohibits the possession, use, or sale of any firework that flies into the air, explodes, or 
travels more than 12 feet horizontally on the ground, without a permit issued by the OSFM. Fireworks 
commonly called bottle rockets, Roman candles, and firecrackers are illegal in Oregon, without a 
permit.  
 
For the last reported five years through 2019, there were 1,173 reported fireworks-related fires in 
Oregon, resulting in more than $4.9 million in property loss and contents damage. During that same 
period, fires resulting from fireworks resulted in one death and 36 injuries. The data from structural fire 
agencies do not include incidents that occurred on federal and other state lands. 
 
Officials may seize illegal fireworks and charge offenders with a class B misdemeanor, which could 
result in a fine of up to $2,500 per violation and a civil penalty of up to $500. Those who misuse 
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fireworks or allow fireworks to cause damage are liable and may be required to pay fire suppression 
costs or other damage. Parents are also liable for fireworks damage caused by their children.   
 
“All of us share the responsibility to use only Oregon consumer legal fireworks and use them 
carefully,” adds Walker. “Please also consider your neighbors and their pets before deciding on when 
and where you choose to light legal fireworks.”  
 
The OSFM has published FAQs for commonly answered questions about the sale and legal use of 
consumer fireworks, permits for the retail sale of fireworks, and state rules for their use and 
enforcement activities. OSFM’s fireworks education materials for sharing on social media also can be 
found on its website. 
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https://www.oregon.gov/osp/programs/sfm/Pages/Fireworks.aspx#faq
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/programs/sfm/Pages/Fireworks.aspx#education

