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State fire marshal urges you to test your smoke alarms when turning your clock forward 

 

Sunday, March 11th, marks the beginning of daylight saving time and serves as a good reminder for 

Oregonians to test their smoke alarms. The Oregon Office of State Fire Marshal is urging residents 

to test their smoke alarms before automatically changing the batteries.  

“Smoke alarm technology has advanced and many now come with 10-year batteries and some are 

tamper-resistant,” said State Fire Marshal Jim Walker. “So, I encourage residents to test their alarms 

before changing the battery, and to be sure to replace any smoke alarm that is 10 years old or older.”  

Oregon law requires ionization-only smoke alarms that are solely battery powered to come 

equipped with a hush feature and a 10-year battery. Because of this technology, the national slogan 

“Change your clock, Change your battery” may not apply to Oregon residents who have these 

ionization-only smoke alarms. 

Other types of alarms are also being sold with either a 10-year battery or a standard-life battery.  

“Ensuring you have working smoke alarms in your home is the single most important step you can 

take to increase your family’s safety from a home fire,” adds Walker.  

1) Push the test button to be sure the battery is working.  

2) When replacing batteries, follow the manufacturer’s instructions for the correct battery type 

to use. 

3) Always retest alarms after installing new batteries. 

4) Replace any alarm that fails to operate after installing a new battery. 

5) Inspect your alarms to determine if they are 10 years old or older, and replace any smoke 

alarm  
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10 years old or older. Look for a date on the back of the alarm. If there is no date, your 

alarm is more than 10 years old and should be replaced. 

6) Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for regularly cleaning your alarms of dust and 

cobwebs. 

Working smoke alarms provide a critical early warning to a fire, allowing you vital minutes to 

escape, which increase your chances of survival. Additional safety tips: 

 Install smoke alarms on every level of your home, in each bedroom, and outside each 

sleeping area (hallway). 

 Never disconnect or remove batteries from smoke alarms for other uses. 

 Use the smoke alarm’s hush feature to silence nuisance alarms. 

 Make a home fire escape plan and practice it with family members. 

 Practice you home fire escape plan at least two times a year at different times of the 

day/night. 

 Children, older adults, and people with disabilities may need assistance to wake up and 

get out. Ensure that someone will help them. 

 

For more home fire escape planning information visit: 

http://www.oregon.gov/osp/SFM/Pages/escapeplan.aspx 

 

For more smoke alarm and fire safety information, contact your local fire department or visit 

http://www.oregon.gov/osp/SFM/Pages/CommEd_SA_Program.aspx 

 

Follow the OSFM on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/OregonStateFireMarshal and Twitter 

@OSFM. 
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