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Rules and Statutes

It is very important when one considers application for a promoter license, to take the time to
familiarize oneself with the laws and rules of Oregon pertaining to combative sports.

Oregon State Athletic Commission statutory authority is contained in Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS)
Chapter 463 — Boxing, Mixed Martial Arts and Entertainment Wrestling, these laws can be found online
at: https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills laws/lawsstatutes/20130rs463.html

Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) is the official compilation of rules and regulations having the force of
law in Oregon. These are the regulatory and administrative corollary to the Oregon Revised Statutes,
and can be found at: http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars 200/oar 230/230 tofc.html



https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2013ors463.html
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_200/oar_230/230_tofc.html

Pre- Event Preparation

STEP 1: Submit at least 60 days prior to event

Check_\/ Requirements:

Submit:

O Event Application

O Seating Plan Filed w/ Director

O Submit Fight Card

O Submit Fight Fax for each competitor

Event applications should be submitted a minimum of 60 days prior to the event date. A seating plan
must accompany an event application. Upon submission of the event application, OSAC staff will
immediately ask physicians and officials for their availability. Once a physician has accepted the event,
and there are sufficient officials available for the event, OSAC will email the promoter an official event
approval. This approval will provide event details including date, time and location of weigh-in and pre-
fight medicals as approved by the director. Please take the time to review the details to avoid any issues
as the event date approaches.

Boxing Event Application
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/802 1 Promoter Event Application Boxing.pdf

Upon approval of the event and the seating plan, we ask that the promoter submit their fight card with
the Oregon State Athletic Commission. It is very important that as bouts are scheduled, cancelled and
as competitors change, the fight card continues to be updated. The Executive Director must approve all
bouts.



http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/802_1_Promoter_Event_Application_Boxing.pdf

Event Prep Deadline

STEP 2: Submit a minimum of 4 working days prior to event

Requirements:

Licensing of Competitors - Complete

Licensing of Professional Seconds - Complete

Hotel reservations for officials if applicable

Pro Fighter Contracts

Pay Officials Fees

Medical Insurance / Pre-filled and Signed Claim Form

Paramedic and Dedicated Ambulance

Written copy of the security staffing plan. (230-030-0200)

Oooooajoonoo

Pre-fight plan (230-030-0190)

LICENSING OF COMPETITORS

OSAC understands that the process of ensuring all competitors are licensed is a challenging and stressful
affair for promoters. Promoters are encouraged to require competitors to become licensed as a
precursor to being added to the fight card. It is our strong belief that in doing so, card modifications will
be greatly reduced, competitor training time will be increased, and preparation for the official weigh-in
can be conducted more safely over a longer period of time. Also reduced would be the need for last
minute substitutions due to incomplete license applications, which would greatly reduce promoter
stress.

All applications for competitor licensure must be complete 4 days prior to the commencement of the
event. OSAC may make adjustments to this deadline based on holiday schedules or multiple events
scheduled for the same date. As a benefit to the promoter, OSAC will provide a weekly update to the
Competitor Requirements Form, with more frequent updates the two weeks leading up to the event.

NO MONEY OR PAPERWORK WILL BE ACCEPTED AFTER THE CUTOFF DATE OR AT WEIGH-INS

License Requirements: All competitors are required to hold a Federal ABC Boxing ID card and be
licensed by the Oregon State Athletic Commission to participate in Professional Boxing events in Oregon.
Requirements for licensure vary based upon license type. The Federal ABC ID card is issued by the
athletic commission of the state in which you reside. If the state in which you reside does not have a
commission, OSAC can issue the Federal ID card. The Federal ID is valid for 4 years. The OSAC license is
valid for 1 year from issuance.




Federal ABC ID Card (required for all pro-boxing competitors)
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/403 Boxing Federal ID application.pdf

Application and Health and Safety Disclosure
No Fee

2 forms of valid government issued ID

Photo

Pro Boxing Competitor

Oregon Application for Professional Boxer
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/401 Pro Boxer License %20Application.pdf

Photo

$15 Fee (Can be paid by phone)

Blood Results collected within the past 30 days
HIV: HIV 1/2 serium AB (HIV 1/2 antibodies, EIA with confirmation, CPT Code 86703)
Hepatitis B: HBsAg (Hepatitis B surface antigen, CPT Code 87340)
Hepatitis C: HCAb (Hepatitis C antibody, CPT Code 86803)

Report of Physical Exam (completed by physician within 30 days of the application submission date)
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/101 Report of Physical Exam.pdf

Report of Eye Exam

http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/404 Boxer Eye Exam.pdf

Note: To avoid timing issues, competitors should have blood drawn, physical exam, eye exam and

submit all medical forms with the application as soon as possible.

PROFESSIONAL SECONDS/MANAGERS

*All Seconds/ Managers are required to be licensed by the Oregon State Athletic Commission or they
will not be allowed to accompany the competitor to the ring, enter the ring between rounds, or sit ring
side to coach a professional competitor.

Oregon Application for Professional Seconds
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/1103 Seconds License Application.pdf

$15.00 Fee (Can be paid by phone)
Photo

Managers Application
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/1101 Manager Application.pdf

Photo
$40.00 (Can be paid by phone)

HOTEL RESERVATIONS FOR OFFICIALS
Two weeks prior to the event, OSAC will provide the promoter with a list of officials requesting hotel
accommodations. Hotel information should be provided to OSAC for notification to impacted officials.

OFFICIALS FEES INVOICE

Approximately 2 weeks prior to the event OSAC will provide the promoter with an invoice for officials
fees to be paid by the promoter in the form of an official check or by credit/debit card 4 days prior to
the event commencement.



http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/403_Boxing_Federal_ID_application.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/401_Pro_Boxer_License_%20Application.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/101_Report_of_Physical_Exam.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/404_Boxer_Eye_Exam.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/1103_Seconds_License_Application.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/1101_Manager_Application.pdf

Fees are calculated as follows:

Referee: S.25 per mile*
Judge: S.25 per mile*
Timekeeper:  $.25 per mile*
Inspector: S50 + S$.25 per mile*
Physician: $300

*Mileage is calculated at $0.25 per mile round trip from home address to venue and return to home
address. Mileage is only applied to person’s living > 40 miles round trip from the venue. This number is
calculated using map quest by OSAC staff.

The number of officials scheduled is based on the scope and scale of the event and any special
circumstances/requirements of the event/venue. Televised events, pro bouts on the card, larger
number of bouts on the card, etc., may require additional officials. OSAC strives to control costs to the
promoter by assigning officials that live in close proximity to the event, but it is not always possible.

NOTE: Please be aware that these fees are subject to change as we continue to review and revise our
administrative rules. We welcome the public to be involved in this rule making process. Licensed
promoters are already receiving notification of the dates and times of meeting of the Rules Advisory
Committee, meetings of the board that makes up the Oregon State Athletic Commission as well as
Notifications of Public Hearings for rule changes. These meetings are also posted to the OSAC website
calendar of events.

At a minimum there will be the following officials assigned to each event: 1 Referee
3 Judges
1 Timekeeper
5 Inspectors
2 Doctors

PRO FIGHTER CONTRACTS
Contracts for professional competitors must be submitted for approval 4 days prior to the
commencement of the scheduled event. Each contract must be signed by the promoter and the

competitor.
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/Boxing Fighter Promoter Contract.pdf

Contracts must contain at least the following components:
e Total Purse Amount
e The scheduled date, location and time of the contest or exhibition
o A 20% penalty for failure to make the agreed upon weight limit at the official weigh in
conducted by the commission.
e Any deductions from the competitor’s purse must be stipulated in the contract, or will not be
allowed.
Competitors shall be paid in full according to their contracts. Any deduction from the purse for any
reason must be documented in the contract and approved by the Executive Director.



http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/Boxing_Fighter_Promoter_Contract.pdf

MEDICAL INSURANCE

The promoter of any Boxing event shall provide insurance coverage for each competitor to provide
medical, surgical and hospital care for the competitors who are injured while engaging in a contest or
exhibition.

Professional Boxing Coverage Minimums:
e 520,000 for medical treatment of injuries sustained by the competitor while participating in the
event.
e $100,000 death benefit payable to the estate of any competitor should death occur from
injuries received while participating in a mixed martial arts contest or exhibition.

The competitor may not be required to pay a deductible for the medical, surgical or hospital care for
injuries the competitor sustains while engaging in a contest or exhibition.

Please submit a prefilled and signed insurance claim form to save time in providing the information to
an injured competitor after a bout.

PARAMEDIC AND DEDICATED AMBULANCE

It is the promoter’s responsibility to ensure safety for the competitors, officials and spectators. This
includes the responsibility to provide an onsite ambulance. There must be at least one licensed
paramedic.

WRITTEN COPY OF THE SECURITY STAFFING PLAN (OAR 230-030-0200)

It is the promoter’s responsibility to ensure safety for the competitors, officials and spectators. This
includes the responsibility to provide adequate licensed, qualified and trained security personnel to
maintain order. See information included regarding Private Security requirements in Oregon.

PRE-FIGHT PLAN

There must be a written pre-fight plan and route to remove an injured competitor from the ringside and
arena. The promoter shall provide a copy of the plan to the Director no later than 4 days prior to the
commencement of the event. The plan must include the location of nearest continuously physician-
staffed emergency room and the location of the nearest neurosurgical facility.




Private Security

Private Security Services — Anyone performing these duties must be licensed by the state of Oregon to
perform such duties.

Means the performance of at least one of the following activities:

(a) Observing and reporting unlawful activity;

(b) Preventing or detecting theft or misappropriation of any goods, money or other items of value;

(c) Protecting individuals or property, including, but not limited to proprietary information, from harm
or misappropriation;

(d) Controlling access to premises being protected or, with respect to a licensee of the Oregon Liquor
Control Commission, controlling access to premises at an entry to the premises or any portion of the
premises where minors are prohibited;

(e) Securely moving prisoners;

(f) Taking enforcement action by detaining persons or placing persons under arrest under ORS 133.225;
or

(g) Providing canine services for guarding premises or for the detection of unlawful devices or
substances.

Certification/Licensure Types

"Private Security Professional" means an individual who performs, as the individual's primary
responsibility, private security services for consideration, regardless of whether the individual, while
performing private security services, is armed or unarmed or wears a uniform or plain clothes, and
regardless of whether the individual is employed part-time or full-time to perform private security
services.

"Executive Manager" means a person:

(a) Who is authorized to act on behalf of a company or business in matters of licensure and certification;
(b) Who is authorized to hire and terminate personnel;

(c) Whose primary responsibility is the management of certified private security professionals; and

(d) Who has final responsibility for a company’s or business’s compliance with the ORS 181.870 to
181.991.

Each business, employer or entity with private security professional staff of at least one person must
designate an individual to perform the duties of an executive manager as described in these rules. This
provision applies to any business, employer or entity that provides private security services within this
state, regardless of whether the business, employer or entity is located in or out of this state.
"Supervisory Manager" means an employee of or a person supervised by an executive manager who

has as a primary responsibility the supervision of certified private security professionals.

You may contact the DPSST with any private security questions — Private Security at 503-378-5831 for
information or check the website at http://www.oregon.gov/DPSST/PS/pages/index.aspx



http://www.oregon.gov/DPSST/PS/pages/index.aspx

Exemptions

There is an exemption for individuals that are providing crowd management or guest services. This
would describe as a ticket taker, an usher a parking attendant or event staff.

This section applies only:
(a) To a person who is not:
(A) Armed;

(B) Permitted to initiate confrontational activities, including physical contact and the confiscation of
property; or

(C) Hired with the primary responsibility of taking enforcement action as described in ORS 181.870 (8)(f);

(b) If there is at least one person on-site who is certified or licensed under ORS 181.878 for every 10 or
fewer uncertified persons performing the services described in subsection (1)(k) of this section;

(c) If any enforcement action, as described in ORS 181.870 (8)(f), other than incidental or temporary
action, is taken by or under the supervision of a person certified or licensed under ORS 181.878; and

(d) During the time when a crowd has assembled for the purpose of attending or taking part in an
organized event, including pre-event assembly, event operation hours and post-event departure
activities.

Additional Requirements

(1) A person performing crowd management, event or guest services who is armed, permitted to
initiate confrontational activities, hired with the primary responsibility of taking enforcement action as
described in ORS 181.870(8)(f), or performing any other private security service must be certified or
licensed as described in the Act and these rules. (meaning certified as a private security professional and
meeting the requirement with having an executive manager)

(2) Crowd Management, Event Services, or Guest Service managers, contractors or companies who
employ individuals to provide private security services must:

(a) Employ or contract with a licensed executive manager;

(b) Require individuals performing or expected to perform private security services obtain certification;
(c) Require all individuals who supervise certified private security professionals or crowd management,
event or guest services staff to be licensed in accordance to OAR 259-060-0130;

(d) Provide one certified private security professional on-site for every 10 or fewer crowd management
or event staff;

(e) Provide documentation confirming private security certifications, licenses and appropriate staffing
ratio found in (1)(d) upon request; and




(f) Provide crowd management staff technological communication or visibility of a certified private
security professional when action is needed as required in ORS 181.871.

(3) Pursuant to ORS 181.871, non-certified and non-licensed staff performing crowd management can
only be used during a time when a crowd has assembled for the purpose of attending or taking part in
an organized event, including pre-event assembly, event operation hours and post-event departure
activities.

(4) Civil penalties may be assessed for violation of these rules in accordance with OAR 259-060-0450.

Compliance

(1) The Department may cause administrative proceedings or court action to be initiated to enforce
compliance with the Act and these rules.

(2) Violations. The Department may find violation and recommend assessment of civil penalties upon
finding that a private security provider, individual, business or entity has previously engaged in or is
currently engaging in any of the following acts:

(a) Providing private security services without valid certification or licensure or Temporary Work Permit;
(b) Failure to submit properly completed forms or documentation in a time frame as designated by the
Department;

(c) The falsification of any documents submitted to the Department;

(d) Failure to cease providing private security services upon issuance of a cease and desist order,
expiration of certification or licensure, notice of termination, suspension, denial or revocation;

(e) Failure to complete required training as prescribed in OAR 259-060-0060;

(f) Failure to report criminal charges as required in ORS 181.885;

(g) Providing training without a valid certification;

(h) Failure of a private security instructor to instruct the full Department-approved curriculum;

(i) Failure to terminate employment as a private security provider of an individual whose application has
been terminated, or whose certification or licensure has been suspended, denied or revoked, upon
notice from the Department to do so;

(j) Employing private security providers who have not completed the training and application process
required under the Act and these rules;

(k) Failure to employ a licensed executive manager;

() Failure to provide technological communication or visibility of a certified security professional to
crowd management staff;

(m) Failure to provide documentation of one certified security professional to ten crowd management
staff;

(n) Expecting crowd management staff to perform security services duties other than the duties
incidental to crowd management; or

(o) Any other violation of requirements of the Act or these rules.
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Weigh-In

STEP 3: Weigh In (0Ar 230-030-150)

v
gll:l(::rl:it: Tasks:
O Date/Time/Location approved by OSAC
O Table and chairs for commission use
O Area for requested private weigh ins

See OAR 230-030-150 for additional information regarding weigh-in requirements.

No competitor will be allowed to weigh-in unless properly licensed.

The official weigh-in must be within 24 hours of the commencement of the event.

The weigh-in time and place must be approved by the Director, and conducted in the presence
of the Director or an authorized representative.

Scales approved by the Director shall be utilized for the official weigh-in.

Championship or title bouts are not allowed a 1 pound allowance, the competitors must be at or
below the agreed upon weight.

Professional boxing or MMA competitor who fails to make the weight agreed upon in his or her
bout agreement forfeits 20% of his or her purse to his or her opponent, if they are unable to
make the agreed upon weight in the allotted time period, and the bout takes place. If the
professional competitor is able to make the agreed upon weight or weighs less than 1 pound
outside the agreed limits, no forfeit may be imposed or fine assessed upon the competitor.

Any competitor late to the weigh-in may face disciplinary action for both the competitor and the
competitor’s manager.

If competitor is 5% or more over the agreed upon weight, competitor may be disqualified and
both competitor and manager may face disciplinary action.

If competitor shows evidence of significant dehydration, of having taken diuretics or other drugs
or having used any other harsh modality, the examining physician or medical personnel may
disqualify the competitor and recommend disciplinary action.

There is one official weigh in, no exceptions will be made for individuals unable to attend the
official weigh in.

11



Pre-Fight Medicals

STEP 4: Prefight Medical Exams

v

gll:]if:it: Tasks:

O Date/Time/Location approved by OSAC
O Restroom Access

O Space w/ table and chair for physician
O Privacy

Competitors must be properly licensed to participate in Pre-Fight medical Exams

Any competitor late to the pre-fight medical exams may face disciplinary action for both the
competitor and the competitor’s manager.

If competitor shows evidence of significant dehydration, of having taken diuretics or other drugs
or having used any other harsh modality, the examining physician or medical personnel may
disqualify the competitor and recommend disciplinary action.

Pre-fight physical exams must be within 24 hours of the commencement of the event.

Event Day Requirements

STEP 5: Event Day

Provide Access passes for officials

Inspection of the ring (230-070-0000 and 230-070-0010)

Inspection Ring Apron and Safety Zone (230-070-0030)

Rules Meeting (230-030-0280)

Meeting with licensed security staff

Water ringside for officials

Ring Equipment and Hygiene (230-070-0070)

Towels for ring side (25)

Dressing rooms for Red/Blue

Event cannot commence until the ambulance and paramedic are in place

Person/Persons dedicated to cleaning the ring

No one under 18 allowed within the ring apron/safety zone

Immediately after event, disburse purses to competitors w/ OSAC Rep

Alcohol: only served in paper/plastic cups (no cans/bottles allowed in the
venue). No alcohol allowed inside the Ring Apron or Safety Zone

O OoOoOoo0oooooloooldoo

Official Cards for officials given to OSAC Rep before rules meeting

12




ACCESS PASSES
Promoter should provide access passes to the OSAC representative for each official.

DISBURSMENT OF PURSE/WIN MONEY TO PRO COMPETITORS
Checks for Pro-Competitors should be ready and given to OSAC representative before commencement

of the event. OSAC will disburse purse and any applicable win money after the completion of the
event. Professional competitors will sign a purse receipt in approval of the amount and proof of receipt.

Post Event Requirements

STEP 6: Post Event (within 72 hours of event end)

v
(S::l‘:f:it: Tasks:
O Submit Ticket Sales and Gross Receipts Form
(] Submit 6% Gross Tax on Receipts Calculated on “Ticket Sales and Gross
Receipts Form”
O Review commissions noted concerns for future event improvement

TICKET SALES / GROSS RECEIPTS
Ticket stubs not audited by the Director’s office must be retained by the promoter for six months, each
show stored separately and available upon request.

ORS 463.320, the amount of the tax is six percent of the total gross receipts from the sale of tickets or
other fees charged for admission to the event. The written report and six percent is due within 72 hours
of the completion of the event.

Promoter’s Ticket Sales and Total Gross Receipts Tax Report
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/901 4 Ticket Sales and Gross Receipts.pdf

Event financial information must be retained for a period of no less than 5 years.

Ticket stubs are to be kept for 6 months, each event stored separately, and available for review at the
request of the commission.

Event records are to be kept and available for review for 5 years, and available for review at the request
of the commission.

Disclaimer: This promoter checklist is merely a tool to assist in the promoter’s event planning process.
It does not replace any governing rules or statutes set forth by the Oregon State Athletic Commission
to regulate professional boxing, mixed martial arts, or entertainment wrestling.

There is no substitute for familiarizing yourself with the governing rules and statutes.
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http://www.oregon.gov/osp/OSAC/Documents/901_4_Ticket_Sales_and_Gross_Receipts.pdf

