
MAP REQUIREMENTS 
 

The application must include a detailed map 

of the site selected, showing: 

 The dimensions of fireworks discharge site. 

 Distances from the outside perimeter of 

discharge site to spectators, overhead 

obstructions, buildings, highways, and 

parking areas. 

 The fall out zone. 

 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

The final decision as to what constitutes an 

acceptable display site rests with the fire and 

law enforcement authority having jurisdiction 

and the OSFM. 

 

Permits are valid only for the specific site, 

date, time, operator, assistant(s), and fireworks 

listed on the permit. Changes are allowed only 

with the written permission of the authorities 

having jurisdiction. 
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OPERATOR CERTIFICATION 
 

 Operators shall meet all certification 

requirements prior to shooting a display. 

(See OSFM’s brochure for Operator 

Certification For 1.4G Limited Fireworks 

Displays.) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For more information or additional copies of 

this brochure, contact the Office of State Fire 

Marshal at (503) 934-8274.  
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A limited display means a fireworks display 

held outdoors and limited to the use of 1.4g 

fireworks. Quantities of firecrackers, 

skyrockets, missile rockets, helicopter 

spinners, mortars, and similar items are 

subject to limitation by the local fire 

authority and/or the Office of State Fire 

Marshal (OSFM). 

 

To hold a limited fireworks display in 

Oregon, a person must obtain a permit from 

the OSFM. The permit allows the permit 

holder to purchase fireworks listed on the 

permit from an Oregon licensed wholesaler 

and to hold the limited fireworks display 

when in conformance with Oregon 

Administrative Rules (OAR) 837-012-700 

through 837-012-970. 

 

APPLICATION PROCESS: 
 

Applications may be obtained from the 

OSFM, the wholesaler from whom the 

applicant intends to purchase their fireworks, 

or by visiting the OSFM website at 

www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/ . 

 

Applications must be completed in their 

entirety, including obtaining the signature of 

the appropriate fire and law enforcement 

authority in whose jurisdiction the display will 

be held. 

 

It is advised to submit the completed 

application and fee to the OSFM as soon as 

possible to allow for processing time. 

Applications received less than 15 days prior 

to the date of the display may not be processed 

in time for the display to be held. 

 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 

Application Fee   $100.00 

 

In the event an application is denied or the 

applicant withdraws the request, application 

fees are nonrefundable. 

 

SIGNATURES REQUIRED 
 

APPLICANT 

 The person completing the application 

must sign the application and provide their 

address and phone number. 

FIRE AUTHORITY 

 Inside City Limits - signature of the fire 

chief or authorized representative. 

 Outside City Limits and Inside Rural 

Fire Protection District - signature of the 

district chief or authorized representative. 

LAW ENFORCEMENT AUTHORITY 

 The law enforcement authority having 

jurisdiction over the display site. 

 

DOCUMENTS 
 

The following documents may be required by 

local fire authorities before they sign an 

application for a limited fireworks display 

permit. 

 Proof of insurance. (Most fire authorities 

will require insurance) 

 Operator Certification. (See OSFM’s 

brochure for Operator Certification For 

1.4G Limited Fireworks Displays.) 

 

APPLICABLE STATUTES, RULES, 

AND OTHER REFERENCES 
 

Oregon Revised Statutes 480.130, 480.140, 

480.150 and 480.990. 

Oregon Administrative Rules 837-012-700 

through 837-012-970. 

National Fire Protection Association 

Standard 1123 - Display of Fireworks. 

 

SITE SELECTION 
 

The discharge site, spectator viewing, parking, 

and fallout areas shall be inspected and 

approved by the fire and law enforcement 

authority having jurisdiction and shall meet 

the following minimum requirements: 

 Distances from health care, detention and 

correctional facilities shall be at least 280 

feet. 

 Distances from bulk storage areas of 

materials that have a flammability, 

explosive, or toxic hazard shall be at least 

280 feet. NOTE: Refer to NFPA Fire 

Protection Guide to Hazardous Materials 

for Specific Requirements. 

 The trajectory of shells shall not come 

within 25 ft. of any overhead object. 

 Ground display pieces shall be located a 

minimum of 140 ft. from spectators and 

parking areas. See administrative rules for 

special exceptions. 

 Fireworks shall not be discharged within 

100 ft. of any tent or canvas shelter. 

 The fallout area shall be a large open area 

where spectators, vehicles, or readily 

combustible materials shall not be located 

during the display. 

 

http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/

