Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Retail Fireworks Sales

Retail Fireworks Sales Permit Overview

A Retail Fireworks Sales Permit authorizes the sale of retail fireworks to the general public for personal use. The permit allows the permit holder to purchase fireworks from an Oregon licensed wholesaler; sell fireworks to the general public; and store allowed fireworks in conformance with OAR 837-012-0600 through 837-012-0675. The permit is non-transferable, cannot be leased, sub-leased, contracted, or sub-contracted to any other person. Anyone who sells or intends to sell retail fireworks to individual members of the general public must meet certain requirements, including obtaining prior approval from the local fire authority for the locations of both the stand and the storage. Retail fireworks sales begin June 23 and end at 11:59 pm on July 6. Permits must be applied for and obtained for each fireworks stand each year and may be applied for after January 1 of the year for which the permit is requested. A retail sales of fireworks permit is valid from June 23 through July 6 for the year in which it is issued, unless it is revoked or suspended for a violation of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 or OAR Chapter 837, Division 12 as adopted by the OSFM.
 
Oregon law allows retail permit holders to sell the following types of fireworks to the general public. Those which produce only smoke, sparks or fire, and which do not explode, eject balls of fire, fly into the air, or travel more than 6 feet horizontally and 12 inches vertically from the point of ignition. (See ORS 480.127 for additional information on types of fireworks allowed for sale to the public.)
Back to Top

Applicable Statutes, Rules, and Fire and Life Safety Codes

Back to Top

Retail Fireworks Sales Permit Application

To apply for a Retail Sales of Fireworks Permit, applicants are required to complete a Retail Sales of Fireworks Permit Application and submit it to the OSFM, along with a $100 fee. Applications may be submitted after January 1 of the year in which the permit is requested. It is suggested that Permit Applications be received at the OSFM, no later than April 15th of the year for which the permit is sought. Due to the volume of permits, applications received after April 15th are not guaranteed to be processed.

Retail Fireworks Sales Permit    


Back to Top

Retail Fireworks Sales Permit Fee

$100 per application

Back to Top

2013 Retail Fireworks Wholesalers

Back to Top

Retail Fireworks Sales Permit Brochure

Back to Top

Retail Fireworks Sales Guidebook

The purpose of this guidebook is to provide information to retail operators to assist you in being compliant with fireworks laws and rules, and to ensure your tent/stand is operated as safely as possible.
 
Fireworks Retail Sales Guidebook

Back to Top

Retail Sales Stand/Tent Inspection Form and Brochure

The Retail Stand Inspection Recommended Guidelines is intended to cover the basic requirements for inspecting a retail sales stand/tent location to ensure it is in compliance with OAR 837-012-0600 through 837-012-0675. The Guidelines cover information from preparation for the inspection through closing out the inspection.
 
Retail Sales Stand/Tent Inspection Form

Retail Sales Tent Standards Reference Guide  

Back to Top

Return of Unsold Retail Fireworks

Back to Top

Retail Fireworks Sales Permit for 2013

Back to Top