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Don’t Miss the 2023 OTAO Conference!   
  

By the OTAO Conference Committee 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The 2023 OTAO Conference is quickly approaching!        The conference is 
October 28-29 at Pacific University in Forest Grove.  You can earn up to 
15.5 CEU for the upcoming 2024 license renewal year!   This is the first in-
person conference since 2019 and we look forward to seeing you there!  
 
In addition, the AOTA Executive Board will also be joining us this year and 
hosting a listening session on Sunday. AOTA will be hosting an event Friday, 
October 27 on World OT Day (information to come!) and OTAO will be host-
ing a social on Saturday evening! 
 
To register and ongoing updates about conference, please visit our web-
site: click here. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to 
ask: otaoconferencecommittee@gmail.com 

 OTLB Presentation:    
“Don’t Let Ethical Issues Jeopardize 

Your License!” 
 
Join the OT Licensing Board members and 
staff at the OTAO conference on Saturday, 
10/28 from 12:25-1:25pm, (during lunch). 
 
OT member Maxwell Perkins will share his 
insights from sitting on the board, issues the 
board  deals with,  clinical competence and 
what to do (and what not to do) when faced 
with an ethical dilemma. 
 
We look forward to seeing you there! 

https://otao.com/2023-conference
mailto:otaoconferencecommittee@gmail.com
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OT Board Member Vacancy  
 
The OT Licensing Board is seeking a new OT member to serve on its five member board.  The Board is 
comprised of 2 OTs, 1 OTA and 2 public members.  Board members are appointed by the Governor and 
approved by the Legislature.   Board members can serve up to two 4-year terms.   The application dead-
line has been extended to October 31, 2023 at 5pm.  Thank you to those who have already submitted 
an application.   The board will reach out starting November 1st to set up interviews. 
 
Board member responsibilities include but are not limited to: 
 
•  Attend quarterly Board meetings, customarily held on the first Friday of February, May, August and 
November.  The meetings begin at 10:00am and generally last until 2:00pm. Meetings are usually held 
virtually with one in-person meeting per year in Portland. 
 
•  Review confidential complaints and complaint investigations, including confidential and protected 
health information to determine whether a licensee has violated Oregon statute or rule in the course of 
their practice, and impose discipline. 
 
•  Assist in responding to clinical or scope of practice inquiries that come to the Board.    
 
 The Board pays a stipend of $151 per meeting plus reimbursement for travel to and from the in-person 
board meetings.   The Board encourages OT’s outside of the Portland area to apply!  You must re-
side in Oregon. 
 
The next opening will begin formally in early to mid 2024, however the appointment process will begin a 
few months in advance.  If you are interested, please apply online on the Boards and Commissions 
page of the Governor’s website.  For the link, click here.    
 
The Governor is committed to ensuring that all Boards and Commissions represent the growing 
age, racial and gender diversity of the state.  
 
For more information, email the Board Director. 

OTA Supervision—Resources available on the OTLB website 
 
Any person who is licensed as an occupational therapy assistant may assist in the practice of occupational 
therapy only under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist.   Before an OTA can start working 
they must file their OT Supervisor with the board.  OTA's must update their OT Supervisor electronically 
through the OTLB License Portal.   Log in and Click on Supervisor/Supervision Tab, add the name of the OT 
Supervisor, the Site of Supervision, the Start date and click SAVE.    The OT that you have entered will then 
need to log in to their portal and change the approval status to APPROVE.  Once this done, the OT supervi-
sor has been successfully filed with the Licensing board.  
Step-by-step instructions on how to file supervision in the License Portal 
 
Check out the many resources available on the OTLB Website:   FAQ’s by setting, AOTA Docs, Supervision Log 
forms, examples of the types of supervision, OAR’s.    

To review the supervision packet sent to all newly licensed OT Assistants , click here.   
 

https://www.oregon.gov/gov/pages/board-list.aspx
mailto:OTLB.info@state.or.us
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/OTLB-License-Portal.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/Instructions%20for%20filing%20OTA%20Supervision.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/OTA%27s-and-Supervision.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/2023%20Supervision%20Packet%201.pdf
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Tips on Continuing Education  
 
As we near the start next licensing cycle, it’s a 
good time to remind licensees of the Oregon CE 
requirements, what the Board will and will not 
accept.    
 
If you are NBCOT certified when you renew, 
your CE automatically meets the state require-
ment. (OAR 339-020-0010).   In the renewal, click 
that you ARE certified and we verify it when we 
process your renewal. 
 
If you are not NBCOT certified when you re-
new, please read on for advice regarding your 
CE.    This information has been added to the OTLB 
website under the Continuing Education tab. Click 
on “Advice on CE”. 
 
Next renewals will be held from March 1-May 
31, 2024 and licensees must have at least 30 
points of CE or be NBCOT certified.  Licensees 
not NBCOT certified will be required to enter the 
course and completion certificate into the online 
renewal. 
 
Advice on CE: 
 

• CE must be specifically related to your OT 
practice and be at practice level.   

 

• Annual trainings for your job, universal pre-
cautions, or common health care safety train-
ing are not accepted. 

 

• CE on emerging practice must have evidence
-base support in addition to the completion 
certificates to count. 

 

• Management:  The Board recognizes that en-
hancing professional skills, although not clini-
cally based in terms of patient care, demands 
more in terms of management so educational 
management courses will be approved.   

 

• Self-help courses:  CE on personal develop-
ment/self-care is accepted.  OAR 339-020-
0020 (18).  

 

• Medicare training may be approved depend-

ing on documentation and how it relates to OT.  
 

• In-services:  Keep track of the information 
needed, the date, who provided it, number of 
hours and how it specifically related to OT at the 
practice level.  If your facility does not do this 
then you must obtain the documentation.   

 

• For CE to count, you must submit the CE com-
pletion certificate that includes your name, the 
name of the course, the date, the number of 
CE points, and who it was given by.  

 

• Do not leave it for the last minute.  Most prac-
titioners get more than the required 30 points. 

 

• If you had over the required 30 points in the 
last licensing period and obtained CE in March, 
April or May of 2022, you can use these points 
towards the 2024 renewal period.  You cannot 
use CE from March, April, May twice, so if you 
used these CE points for the previous renewal, 
you cannot use them again. 

 

• Waiver / Extension for CE: The Board may, in 
individual cases involving physical disability or 
illness, or undue hardship, grant waivers of the 
minimum CE requirements or extensions of time 
within which to fulfill the same or make re-
quired reports. Applications for waivers shall 
be made to the Board in writing at least two 
months prior to license expiration. If you are 
requesting a waiver for medical reasons, you 
must provide letter from treating physi-
cian.   OAR 339-020-0090. 

 

• You are required by rule to keep your CE infor-
mation for four years.  OAR 339-020-0080 (2)  

 

• Mandatory Legislative Requirements:  The 
Pain Management module and Cultural Compe-
tency  CE Requirement does count toward the 
30 points. 

 

• For a list of CE Categories and Points please 
check the OTLB website under  the Continuing 
Education tab. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=QW7YET_ryiW_ahyaLFU5VDwDb4664neiC5TJeZRgq9NRco23Vu-N!-1484258366?ruleVrsnRsn=272386
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Continuing-Education.aspx
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=WJPYRLgNE5jocE-IuNp0Jj59YC8hQzbmYKJOgKblBhDHgPIsDgvu!-1484258366?ruleVrsnRsn=301109
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=WJPYRLgNE5jocE-IuNp0Jj59YC8hQzbmYKJOgKblBhDHgPIsDgvu!-1484258366?ruleVrsnRsn=301109
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=fl3YMoI38kRhNs24RfVgytuO5TF2EJpjdSSJUKDiWOiJeMv7OPUW!-1484258366?ruleVrsnRsn=66362
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=WJPYRLgNE5jocE-IuNp0Jj59YC8hQzbmYKJOgKblBhDHgPIsDgvu!-1484258366?ruleVrsnRsn=272389
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Continuing-Education.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Continuing-Education.aspx


 
Occupational Therapy 
Licensing Board 
 

800 NE Oregon St.    

Suite 407 

Portland, OR  97213 

 

(971) 673-0198 

(971) 673-0226 FAX 

 

Website:   
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/
Pages/default.aspx 
 
Email: 
Nancy.Schuberg@otlb.oreon.gov 
-or- 
Rachel.Cillo@otlb.oregon.gov 

WHAT’S  
COMING UP 

               
October 2023 

 
2023  
 
 
Oct. 19   Board Meeting-Virtual 
 
Oct. 28-29 OTAO Conference 
 
 

2024 
 
Jan. 26  Board Meeting-Virtual 
 
March 21-23  AOTA Inspire 
 
April—OT Month 
 
May  3  Board Meeting-In person 
 
Aug. 2  Board Meeting-Virtual 
 
Nov. 1  Board Meeting Virtual 

 
 
 
 
State Holiday  
Closure Schedule 
 

2023 

Nov. 10   Veterans Day 

Nov. 23 Thanksgiving 

Nov. 24 Day after TG 

Dec. 25 Christmas 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next License Renewals: 
March 1—May 31, 2024 

 

All licensees must have 30 points of CE within 
the 2 years preceding the date of renewal or 
be NBCOT certified when they renew.   To 
check if your NBCOT certification is current, 
click here.   ALL Licensees must have complet-
ed 1 hour of CE on Cultural Competency and 
complete the Pain Management module. 

Licensee Self-reporting Requirement  
OAR 339-010-0020 (5)(d) 

If you are arrested you must notify the Board within 10 working days of a convic-
tion of a misdemeanor, or an arrest for or conviction of a felony.    Email the Direc-
tor. 

Name Change 
OAR 339-010-0018 

To change your name:  Log into the License Portal and submit a name change re-
quest.   You can also complete the name change form on the website.  Email us or 
fax us a copy of the legal document showing the name change. 

Keep your Contact Info. Current—It’s the Law 
OAR 339-010-0018 

Log into the License Portal and update your address, or complete and submit an 
address change form.  

Order a verification to be sent to another state 
 

To order a verification to be sent to another state:  click here.  (We do not need 
their form).  We will email you when it is done.   The fee is $25. 

Licensee Count 

 

OT’s:  2,441 
 

OTA’s:  516 
 

Total:   2,957 

Scam Alert!   

The Board continues to receive  reports 
from licensees that they are receiving 
fraudulent calls from scammers claim-
ing to be Board staff.  In some cases, the 
calls appear to be coming from the 
Board or another official agency be-
cause the scammers are “spoofing” tele-
phone numbers.  These scammers will 
pretend that you are under investiga-
tion with the Board and will threaten 
loss of license and will demand payment 
or personal info. 

If you receive any of these calls, or un-
sure if the call you receive is legitimate, 
please hang up and either call the Board 
at 971-673-0198 or send an Email. 

https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/default.aspx
mailto:nancy.schuberg@otlb.oregon.gov
mailto:rachel.cillo@state.or.us
http://www.nbcot.org
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Cultural-Competency%20CE%20Requirement.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Pain-Management.aspx
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=F7c2WaLQIEpap0yYHfWPhoRSrlx7UM83cd-yfw5eB1SyLN1AMjKF!437984856?ruleVrsnRsn=295977
mailto:nancy.schuberg@otlb.oregon.gov
mailto:nancy.schuberg@otlb.oregon.gov
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=F7c2WaLQIEpap0yYHfWPhoRSrlx7UM83cd-yfw5eB1SyLN1AMjKF!437984856?ruleVrsnRsn=295976
https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/service/#/login
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Name-Change.aspx
mailto:otlb.info@otlb.oregon.gov
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=F7c2WaLQIEpap0yYHfWPhoRSrlx7UM83cd-yfw5eB1SyLN1AMjKF!437984856?ruleVrsnRsn=295976
https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/service/#/login
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Address-Change.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/License-Verification.aspx
mailto:otlb.info@otlb.oregon.gov

