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Overview 

Congratulations on embarking on your new career in occupational therapy! 

Occupational therapy is a licensed health profession.  You must hold a 
licensed in order to practice.  This guide provides information you need to 
know to get licensed in Oregon.  If you are getting licensed in another state, 
visit their website to find out the state requirements and how to get licensed.  
Every state is different. 

 

Facts about the Board 

• Created in 1977 to regulate the practice of Occupational Therapy. 
• Mission:  to protect the public by supervising OT practice and assure 

safe and ethical delivery of OT services. 
• Govern by state statutes (ORS 675.210-675.340) and  

OAR Chapter 339 - the State Admin. Rules.  
• Self-supporting and financed solely from licensure and related fees. 

 

Role of the Board 

The Board is responsible for protecting the health, safety and welfare of 
individuals who receive Occupational Therapy services in Oregon.   

The ROLE of the Oregon OT Licensing Board is to:   

(1) Investigate complaints and take appropriate action.  

(2) Make and enforce laws and rules regarding OT practice.  

(3) Establish continuing education requirements.  

(4) Process applications and issue license and renewals.  

(5) Collect fees and authorize disbursements of funds.   

 

https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/ORS%20675.210%20to%20675.340.pdf
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayChapterRules.action?selectedChapter=131
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Make Up of the Board 

The Board consists of five members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the 
senate to serve four-year terms. Three Board members are licensed professionals; 2 are 
OTs and 1 is an OT Assistant. Two are members of the public, and usually have been a 
recipient of occupational therapy services.   

Each board member can serve up to two, four-year terms. 

Board meetings are held quarterly and are open to the public.  You can find minutes 
on the OTLB website. 

Board staff is comprised of a full-time Executive Director and a half-time Licensing 
Specialist.   

 

Contact Information for Board Staff 

Nancy Schuberg     Rachel Cillo    
Executive Director    Licensing Coordinator 
 
Phone:  971-673-0198    Phone:  971-673-0202 
Fax:  971-673-0226    Fax:  971-673-0226 
Nancy.Schuberg@otlb.oregon.gov  Rachel.Cillo@otlb.oregon.gov 
  
 
  

https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/default.aspx
mailto:Nancy.Schuberg@otlb.oregon.gov
mailto:Rachel.Cillo@otlb.oregon.gov
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Limited Permits 

Limited Permits are available to students who are waiting to take the NBCOT exam so 
they can start working right away.  A Limited Permit costs $25 and is valid for 90 days 
from the date from your NBCOT Authorization to Test notification.  You can only get 
one.  If you fail the exam your limited permit is immediately void.  You would need to 
stop working, re-take the exam and then get your license. 

  
Instructions: 
If you are a new graduate waiting to take the NBCOT exam and you would like a limited 
permit, go to the Application Portal, activate your account, apply for your OT or OTA 
application and click that you would like a limited permit.  For more information on 
submitting an application, fingerprint background check, and completing the OHA pain 
management course, continue to the next page on Licensing. 

 

To apply as an OT or OTA, click on the APPLICANT PORTAL link: 

https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/application/#/login  

 

Requirements of a limited permits include the following: 

• Official transcripts sent by the school 

• Authorization to Test (ATT) letter from the NBCOT.  You can forward the email 
to us at otlb.info@otlb.oregon.gov or attach it to the application. 

• Fingerprint Background Check through the state vendor, Fieldprint. 

• Complete the OHA Pain Management Course - Click here for link 

 

OTA's:  Before you can start working you must enter your OT Supervisor in the 
License Portal.  The OT Supervisor must also log in to their portal and confirm that 
they are supervising you, by logging to their portal and updating the approval status. 

OT's:   Before you can start working under a limited permit you must complete the LP 
Supervision form - OT.pdf , have the OT supervisor sign it and send it to us 
at otlb.info@state.or.us , or you can fax it at 971-673-0226.  We will enter the 
information for you in your license portal and confirm back with you. 

While working under the limited permit you must sign documents OT/LP or OTA/LP. 

Please review the rules on Limited Permits:   339-010-0040  Limited Permits  

https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/application/#/login
https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/application/#/login
mailto:otlb.info@otlb.oregon.gov
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HPA/dsi-pmc/Pages/module.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/LP%20Supervision%20form%20-%20OT.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/LP%20Supervision%20form%20-%20OT.pdf
mailto:otlb.info@state.or.us
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=Es6SNkPmh9KcL_-aG52fS3Pn9xh_fIO_qTyJxq5Wiuk_JLl13TAz!-1370744543?ruleVrsnRsn=307116


6 
 

Licensing 

You do not have to get a limited permit.  Many students prefer to wait and pass their 
NBCOT exam and then get licensed.   

To apply for your Oregon OT or OTA license, click on the APPLICANT PORTAL link, 
and activate your account:   
https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/application/#/login  

Application fees can be found on the website under the Applications tab.  

Requirements to get licensed: 

• Transcripts:  Have your official transcripts sent to us by the school. 

• Pass the NBCOT exam – arrange to have the scores sent to Oregon. 

• Pass the Law/Ethics exam which goes over the laws and rules in Oregon: Click 
here for link. 

• Complete the OHA Pain Management Course - Click here for the link. 

• Fingerprint background check:   To schedule an appointment with Fieldprint, the 
state vendor:  Click here for the link.  Toll free phone: (877) 614-4364. For step-
by-step instructions, see the next page.  You will need to provide Field print with 
the OT Board agency code "FPOccuTheraLicBd" in order to make an appointment. 

• Complete the background questions on the application.   

 

Arrest history?   If a past arrest does show up on the fingerprint FBI background check and you do 
not check “Yes" to the question regarding arrest history, your application automatically must go in 
front of the full board and is subject to a $1,000 fine.  Since the board meets quarterly, this may result 
in waiting a longer period-of-time for your license than if you disclosed the arrest on your 
application.  Many applicants will confuse “dismissed" cases with “expunged".  Dismissed cases will 
still show up on the background check. 

OAR 339-010-0021  Imposition of Civil Penalties 

Imposition of a civil penalty does not preclude disciplinary sanction against the occupational 
therapist's/occupational therapy assistant's license. Disciplinary sanction against the occupational 
therapist's/occupational assistant/s license does not preclude imposing a civil penalty. Criminal 
conviction does not preclude imposition of a civil penalty for the same offense. 

 (g) Knowingly making a false statement to the Board, $1,000; 

 

How long does it take to receive your license?  Once we receive all documentation, 
we license within 3 days.   An email will be sent to you once the license is issued. 

https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/application/#/login
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Applications.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/LawEthics-Exam.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/LawEthics-Exam.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HPA/dsi-pmc/Pages/module.aspx
http://www.fieldprintoregon.com/
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=280280
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Fingerprinting/Background Checks 
 

In accordance with ORS 676.303 (3), the OT Licensing Board will require that all 
applicants pass a background check prior to licensure in Oregon.   All applicants for 
licensure or a limited permit must have their digital prints taken at a Field Print 
office.  Cost is $12.50 paid directly to Field Print, the state vendor.  The fingerprints 
will be sent digitally to the Oregon State Police (OSP) who will run a national 
background check.  The cost of the background check is $50 and is added to your 
licensure fee and passed through to OSP.  

To schedule a fingerprinting appointment, please follow these simple instructions: 

 1.    Visit www.FieldprintOregon.com   There are 1200 locations across the US.  Prints 
are taken digitally. 

2.    Click on the “Schedule an Appointment” button. 

3.    Enter an email address under “New Users/Sign Up” and click the “Sign Up” button. 
Follow the instructions for creating a Password and Security Question and then click 
“Sign Up and Continue”. 

4.    Enter the Fieldprint Code FPOccuTheraLicBd.  This directs the results back to the 
Oregon OT Licensing Board. 

5.    Enter the contact and demographic information required by the FBI and schedule 
a fingerprint appointment at the location of your choosing. 

6.    At the end of the process, print the Confirmation Page. Take the Confirmation Page 
with you to your fingerprint appointment, along with two forms of identification. 

7.    If you have any questions or problems, you may contact our customer service team 
at 877-614-4364 or customerservice@fieldprint.com .  

 

 

 

 

http://www.fieldprintoregon.com/
mailto:customerservice@fieldprint.com
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Renewals 

Renewals start March 1st and are due by May 31st on even years.  All renewals are 
done online through the License Portal.  Renewing is fast and easy and fees can be 
paid by check or credit card.   To renew your license, log into the License Portal. 

The board likes to save money on postage and save trees so we communicate mainly 
by email.  Make sure you always keep the board updated on your current email and 
mailing address so you do not miss any reminders. 

When you renew, your CE is due.  Please refer to the next page on continuing 
education requirements... 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/OTLB-License-Portal.aspx
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Continuing Education Requirements in Oregon 

In Oregon, if you maintain your NBCOT certification you automatically meet the CE 
requirement.  If not, then you must have 30 points of CE within the last two years 
from the date you renew.  Here is the rule: 

339-020-0010  CE Requirements for Current Licensees 

(1) All current licensees shall obtain a minimum of 30 points of CE from Board approved 
categories during the two years immediately preceding the date of the license renewal; 

(2) Maintenance of current NBCOT Certification (National Board of Certification in 
Occupational Therapy) may be used to satisfy the requirements for CE under subsection 
(1) of this rule but may not be used to satisfy the cultural competency CE requirements 
of OAR 339-020-0025 or the pain management CE requirements of OAR 339-020-
0015. 

 

As a new graduate, who just passed the NBCOT exam, your NBCOT certification is 
good through 3 years.  After that time you can decide whether you will renew your 
certification or let it lapse.   To check your certification visit:  https://www.nbcot.org/ 

If you are NBCOT certified:  use the designations OTR/L or COTA/L 

If you are not NBCOT certified:  use the designations OT/L or OTA/L 

 

Mandatory Legislative CE Requirements: 

Cultural Competency:  In Oregon, all licensed OTs and OTAs are required to complete 
1 hour on cultural competency during every renewal period.  (OAR 339-020-
0025).  (Licensees can choose the course).   

Pain Management:  In Oregon, all licensees must complete the OHA Pain Management 
Module (OAR 339-020-0015).  Link to the OHA Pain Management 
module:  https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HPA/dsi-pmc/Pages/module.aspx.    

Licensees can upload the completion certificates for their cultural competency CE and 
pain management course into the License Portal during or in advance of renewals. 

Link to license portal:  https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/OTLB-License-Portal.aspx 

 

Make sure you always save your CE completion certificates and keep them for 4 years 
in case you are audited.  

file://WPHLBFILL01/OTLB/All%20WEB%20pages/%20https:/www.nbcot.org/
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=277040
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=277040
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=285666
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HPA/dsi-pmc/Pages/module.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/OTLB-License-Portal.aspx
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Supervision of OTA’s 

OAR 339-010-0035  Supervision of an Occupational Therapy Assistant 

(1) Any person who is licensed as an occupational therapy assistant may assist in the 
practice of occupational therapy only under the supervision of a licensed occupational 
therapist. 

(2) Before an occupational therapy assistant assists in the practice of occupational 
therapy: 

(a) The occupational therapy assistant must log into their online license portal with the 
board and record the name of the licensed occupational therapist who will supervise 
them, the site where supervision will take place and the supervision start date. 

(b) The licensed occupational therapist whose name is recorded in the online license 
portal with the board must log into their online license portal and confirm their 
supervision of the occupational therapy assistant by updating the approval status to 
“approved". 

(3) An occupational therapy assistant always requires at least general supervision. 

(4) The supervising occupational therapist shall provide closer supervision where 
professionally appropriate. 

(5) The supervisor, in collaboration with the supervisee, is responsible for setting and 
evaluating the standard of work performed. 

 

Step-by-step instructions on how to file supervision in the License Portal:  OTA 
instructions for filing OT Supervision.pdf 

 

 

 

 

 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=277037
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/OTA%20instructions%20for%20filing%20OT%20Supervision.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/OTA%20instructions%20for%20filing%20OT%20Supervision.pdf
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TYPES of OTA SUPERVISION 
 
OAR 339-010-0005:  Definitions of types of supervision 
  
(1) "Supervision," is a process in which two or more people participate in a joint effort 
to promote, establish, maintain and/or evaluate a level of performance. The occupational 
therapist is responsible for the practice outcomes and documentation to accomplish the 
goals and objectives. Levels of supervision: 

(a) "Close supervision" requires daily, direct contact in person at the work site; 

(b) "Routine supervision" requires the supervisor to have direct contact in person at 
least every two weeks at the work site or via telehealth as defined in OAR 339-010-
0006(9) with interim supervision occurring by other methods, such as telephone or 
written communication; 

(c) "General supervision" requires the supervisor to have at least monthly direct contact 
in person with the supervisee at the work site or via telehealth as defined in OAR 339-
010-0006(9) with supervision available as needed by other methods.  

 

Specific examples of an OTA needing “Close” supervision: 

A therapist who is new to a particular task.  A new graduate.  An experienced 
practitioner who has switched to a new specialty.   

Specific examples of an OTA needing “Routine” supervision: 

Once a new practitioner has increased his/her level of expertise and knowledge of the 
task at hand, he/she may be able to transition from “close” to “routine” supervision.   

Specific examples of an OTA needing “General” supervision: 

A skilled OTA that has worked in the area of practice for many years, and has been 
observed in a treatment session by their OT Supervisor.  If the OT Supervisor has 
confidence in the OTA, and the OTA has demonstrated service competency, they can go 
forward with once per month supervision meetings. 

 

 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=280428
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Discipline 
 

The Board must investigate all complaints filed with the Board. These complaints may 
come from various sources including patients/clients, family members, other health 
professionals, hospitals and employers. 
 
Grounds for disciplinary action are:  

1. Unprofessional conduct as defined by the Board (See OAR 339-010-0020);  
2. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by means of fraud, 

misrepresentation or concealment of material facts;  
3. Violating any lawful order or rule adopted by the Board that may affect the 

health, welfare and safety of the public; or  
4. Gross negligence or incompetence in the performance of professional duties.  

   
If the Board determines a violation has occurred, the Board may deny, suspend, 
revoke or refuse to renew a license or may impose probationary conditions on a 
licensee or applicant. The Board may also fine violators. 

The Board’s investigation is confidential, unless and until there is formal disciplinary 
action taken by the Board.  If the investigation results in disciplinary action, the final 
order, or consent agreement is available to the public, NBCOT and National 
Practitioners Databank.   

The Board also takes informal action, such as sending a Letter of Concern to the 
licensee.  This action is not public and is confidential.   

 

Licensee Self-reporting Requirement  

OAR 339-010-0020 (5)(d)   If you are arrested you must notify the Board within 10 
working days of a conviction of a misdemeanor, or an arrest for or conviction of a felony.    

  

 

 

 

 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=307115
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=307115
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Keep your Contact Information  
Current with the OTLB – It’s the Law! 

 
OAR 339-010-0018 requires that all applicants, licensees and limited permit holders 
must keep on file with the board: 

• Legal Name* 
• Home Address 
• Current Telephone 
• Current Employer 
• Email 

 
Address and Name changes must be done within 30 days.   
*Names Changes – send us a copy of the legal document showing the name change.   

 

Updates can be made by logging into the OTLB License Portal 

Link to the License Portal:   https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/service/#/login 

 

What you can do in the License Portal: 

• Update your Contact Information 
• Submit a name change request 
• OTA 's can file their OT Supervisor with the board.  (The OT Supervisor must 

log in to confirm) 
• Enter your Pain Management and Cultural Competency CE certificates. 
• Request a verification to be sent to another state 
• Update your work location 
• View and print any invoices or receipts 
• Record and track your continuing education  
• Print a copy of your License 
• Renew your license 

 

 

 

 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=295976
https://otlb.onlineservice.oregon.gov/webs/otlb/
https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/service/#/login
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ALWAYS REMEMBER…  Advice from the OTLB: 

1) Take your license seriously, you’ve worked hard to get it.   If you are publicly disciplined by the 
Board, it stays on your record for life.  Any public discipline is reported to the National Health 
Practitioners Databank, the NBCOT and the order shows up on the Online License Search on 
the OTLB website.  If you move to another state, you will have to report any discipline and 
explain what happened.  Make sure you are up to date with the OTLB rules and the AOTA Code 
of Ethics. 
 

2) As a professional, you are accountable for the services that you provide, regardless of what is 
going on in your personal life, what the employer does or asks you to do.  If you’re being 
pressured to do something that is not right, it is up to you to remediate the situation to ensure 
you are practicing within the rules and statutes of the Board and staying true to the AOTA 
Code of the Ethics.  What happens with your license is ultimately your responsibility. 
 
 

3) You must be competent and qualified to do any intervention.  Just because you’re an OT / OTA 
doesn’t necessarily qualify you to perform the task/test.  Regardless of what your supervisor 
or employer is asking you to do, if you are not qualified and/or have the training to provide 
that particular clinical intervention, you should not do it.   If there is a complaint and someone 
got hurt, and if it was found out in the investigation that the licensee was not qualified or didn’t 
have the experience, they could be publicly disciplined.  The board has authority to put a license 
on probation, suspend or even revoke a license.   

 
The rules on unprofessional conduct state: 
339-010-0020    Unprofessional Conduct 
(2) Unprofessional conduct relating to professional competency includes: 
Engaging in any professional activities for which licensee is not currently qualified; 
 
This assessment falls on the therapist and it does not matter what pressure is being put on 
you.  Ask yourself, do you have the training to do it?  Do you feel comfortable doing it?  And 
do you have the clinical competency?  If not, you shouldn’t do it. 

 

4) Some new graduates are surprised to hear that what happens in your personal life can affect 
your license.  Licensees are required to “notify the Board within 10 working days of a conviction 
of a misdemeanor, or an arrest for or conviction of a felony.   
 

5) Always keep mindful of the expiration date of your license and keep your contact information 
current with the board so you don’t miss out on the quarterly newsletter and renewal reminders.  
Newsletters will update you of rules changes, legislative requirements and important 
information that can affect your license so make sure you pay attention. 
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Helpful Links 

 

OTLB website:  https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/default.aspx 

OTAO – Occupational Therapy Association of Oregon 

 www.otao.com  

NBCOT - National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy  

 www.nbcot.org  

AOTA – American Occupational Therapy Association   
www.aota.org  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.otao.com/
http://www.nbcot.org/
http://www.aota.org/
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