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                                                                       Lauren Orso filled in during renewals 
 

Please update your email address and other contact information.   

You need to see correspondence and newsletters for important news.  

Your e-mail is kept confidential.  You can provide a public e-mail if you wish. 

The Licensing Board has a public member position open this summer.  

If you know someone who would be good please contact us. 

 

Renewals started March 1
st
 & are due May 1, 2012 

You must renew online at www.oregon.gov/otlb - see the renewal link in the middle of 

the home page.  The online renewal process is fast and easy.  Fees stay low for a 2-year 

license: $150 for an OT and $100 for an OT Assistant. You will get a receipt with the 

license. If you pay by credit card, you do not need a printer. If you pay by check, you 

need to print out your confirmation page and send it signed and dated with a check.  

Do not delay.  It takes time to review and approve CE audits, review Yes to History 

questions and check that OT Assistant supervision is current.  Who the OT Assistant lists 

as who supervises them for licensing purposes, should correspond with what the OT write 

about who they are supervising.  We are having a lot of discrepancies and it is taking a 

lot of our time. 

You can start your renewal and go back in; the system will take you to where you left off.   

Contact Felicia immediately by e-mail if there is a problem and explain it please.     

 

            Mission Statement:    To protect the public by supervising occupational therapy practice.   

         The Board is charged with assuring safe & ethical delivery of occupational therapy services 
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http://www.oregon.gov/otlb


We have issued 1/4 of the license renewals.  That leaves about 1200 more licenses to 

process and issue.  Please do not delay.  If you do not wish to renew send an E-mail to 

Felicia.M.Holgate@state.or.us . 

 

The Pain CE is a one-time requirement.  We are being asked this a lot - YOU DO NOT 

NEED to do it again if you already completed and reported it to the Board.  If you have 

not been licensed in Oregon for 2 years, it is not yet due and you can check the box and 

write in “not yet due” if the system does not let you proceed. 

Continuing Education and CE AUDITS 

When you go online to renew you will see if you are being audited for CE.  Get your log 

form and CE certificates to the Board in time to get them approved by the volunteer 

Board members before the May 1 deadline. The web site has information, forms and 

suggestions for filling out the CE log form.  Please check there first.  

You can use CE that you obtained in March, April, and May of 2012, IF it is over 

the required 30 points needed for this renewal, for the next renewal in 2014.   

        SUPERVISION for Licensed OT Assistants 

All  OT Assistants who work in Oregon by law must have a current 

Statement of Supervisor form for LICENSING purposes filed with the 

Board.  You only need one licensing OT supervisor, unless you work in 

different facilities.   Fill in your supervision information in the Box online.  

We cross- check what the OT and OT Assistant list during renewals. It is the 

responsibility of the OT Assistant to send in a new Statement of Supervision form.   

OT License History 

License numbers continue to grow with over 1860 licensees (296 OTA and 1564 OTs).   

Historically 11 – 12 % of therapists do not renew their licenses.  The dip in 2012 shows 

the historically projected drop in license numbers after renewals. 
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           If you have a name change:  FAX a copy of  the legal document showing the change and 

exactly how you want your name to read to 971-673-0226.  

 

We have issued several licenses and then had to reprint new ones because a therapist has 

neglected to send the name change prior to renewing.  We also have sent out new licenses 

and had them returned because the address was not current. 

 
If you need a license verification sent to another state: E-mail the exact address where it 

needs to go to Felicia.M.Holgate@state.or.us.  We copy the address directly into our data 

base form, reducing errors and saving us both time and cost.  There is NO charge.   

 

Please check the web site at www.oregon.gov/otlb for answers to your questions. There 

is a section on Information Requests and Issues, Questions and Topics.  

 

The Director is training in March on the new state web site.  It should appear seamless 

for you - all the work will be on our end.  Your comments are welcome.  We always try 

to find ways to improve our services.                             

 

The Directors of the Health Boards are looking at what the State’s plan is for changes to 

the structure of Oregon health licensing boards.  There will be presentation to the Board 

about Semi Independence at the May meeting.   

 

There were several legislative bills during the 2012 session which might 

affect the OT Licensing Board, and the Oregon Healthcare system.  It is not 

clear how the health and education changes will affect OTs in Oregon.  

 

The hope is that the Coordinated Care Organizations (CCO) bring better 

health, better care and lower costs to the more than 600,000 Oregonians 

served by the Oregon Health Plan with a focus on improved wellness, 

prevention, and integration of behavioral, physical and ultimately oral health 

care. 

 

 The Health Authority is preparing to take applications from interested CCOs for 

certification.  CCOs will be responsible for providing Medicaid and Medicare services to 

dually eligible individual to provide comprehensive, coordinated care in a more cost-

effective way.  See Oregon’s Draft Medicare-Medicaid Alignment Proposal to comment 

through April 4, 2012. 
 

PACIFIC University May 2 Research Symposium  
 

The program “Person-Centered Practice Within Services for Older People” will be held at 

Tuality Health Education Center in Hillsboro on May 2, 2012 along with Innovative 

Practice Projects and Case Studies.  It gives 5.5 CE points.  To register please call 503-

352-7345 or contact Kelly Hering at khering@pacificu.edu .  The brochure is at:  

http://www.pacificu.edu/ot/news/documents/2012-brochure-final_000.pdf .   
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Changes to Workers Compensation rules and procedures 

The Worker’s Comp Division asked the Board to tell OTs about proposed rule changes 

effective April 1, 2012 to Medical Fee, Payment Rule, and Managed Care Organizations. 

Find rules  online, or call the Workers’ Compensation Division at 503-947-7606.  See  

wcd.medicalquestions@state.or.us & http://www.cbs.state.or.us/wcd/policy/rules/rules.html .  

 

Proposed Rules on background checks & Ethics/law exam  
 

Final comments on rule changes to add a Law Ethics Exam for 

new applicants and amend the rule on Fingerprinting to include 

having the Board do other background checks such as the Law 

Enforcement Data System (LEDS) in lieu of fingerprinting are 

due before the May 4
th

 Board meeting.   

 

You can see the changes in the last newsletter or go to the web 

site at www.oregon.gov/otlb and see the proposed rules under 

Current Topics. 

NBCOT Board Member position open 

The National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, Inc. (NBCOT®) is 

soliciting nominees for two OTRs for election to the NBCOT Board of Directors. The 3 

year position begins October 2012, with the opportunity to be re-elected.  Deadline is 

April 16, 2012.   Nominees must hold current certification as an OTR.                                      

Board of Director Application Form  or Board of Director Job Description 

 

Occupational Therapy:  

Skills for the job of living 
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