Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage

Commissioner Biographies

James Robert Collins, Mitchell

Farmer and Rancher Representative
First term: 2024 - 2028

Jeff Reimer, Corvallis

Oregon State University Extension Representative
First term: 2024 - 2028

Barbara Boyer, McMinnville

Ex officio OWEB Board Member

Barbara Boyer is chair of Oregon's Soil and Water Conservation Commission and thus a member of the State Board of Agriculture. Her interests and experiences go far beyond conservation issues. She's involved in a small business, community-supported agriculture, nutrition issues, and the local farmers' market. She is an organic producer but has grown conventionally, and is a passionate supporter of farmland preservation through land use efforts. Born and raised on the east coast, Boyer graduated from the University of Connecticut with a degree in plant science. She was a scholarship athlete as part of the women's gymnastics team. After graduation, Boyer set her sights on Oregon's nursery industry. Barbara and her husband Tom took over the family farm's operations in 1999 and created 2 businesses from their farm: a company called Gourmet Hay and a small community-supported agriculture operation.

Ed Contreras, Klamath Falls

Fish & Wildlife Commission Representative
First term: 2023 - 2027

Ed Contreras coordinates bird habitat conservation for the Intermountain West Joint Venture in Southern Oregon and Northeastern California (SONEC). He has been involved in collaborative private lands habitat conservation for a decade, previously working in Montana and Idaho. Ed works closely with the Natural Resources Conservation Service, USFWS Partners for Fish and Wildlife Program, and a multitude of state, local and NGO partners to implement habitat improvements, including conservation easements, on farms and ranches. Ed lives in Klamath Falls with his wife Kara, they can be found outside with their dogs or on their horses and mules in the mountains.

Nancy Duhnkrack, Portland

Coalition of Land Trust Representative
First Term 2022 - 2026

Nancy Duhnkrack is a long-term volunteer at COLT, managing the pro bono program. She’s a graduate of Northwestern School of Law, Lewis and Clark College. In 2014, Nancy retired as Staff Attorney/Law Clerk for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit after 20 years in the Court. Nancy is a frequent speaker on conservation easement design and enforcement and provides pro bono legal advice to COLT and its members.

Russ Hoeflich, Portland

Natural Resources Representative
First term: 2023 - 2027

Russ Hoeflich has shown a lifelong commitment to conservation through public service and nonprofit leadership. He has served as the National Vice President and Oregon Director of the Nature Conservancy where he worked to support the establishment of OWEB through the passage of measures 66 and 76. Russ has also served as the Executive Director of 1,000 friends of Oregon as well as on various boards and commissions including the Oregon Global Warming Commission, the World Forestry Center Board of Directors and the Governor’s Wildfire Response Council.

Amanda Lowe, Pendleton

Indian Tribal Interests Representative
First term: 2024 - 2026

Doug Krahmer, Chair, St. Paul

Farmer and Rancher Representative
Second term: 2022 - 2026

Doug Krahmer has been an outspoken advocate for conservation in Oregon and Marion County for many years. He has served the Marion County Soil and Water Conservation District since 2001, serving as chair, vice-chair and secretary/treasurer during his service. He is the owner of Berries NW, and has previously served on both the Board of Agriculture and the Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board.

Lois Loop, Salem

Agricultural Water Quality Representative
Second term: 2021 - 2025

Lois Loop was raised on a dairy farm in Klamath County and then went to Oregon State University, obtaining a BA. In 1983 she began work for the Farm Service Agency (FSA) in Polk County, later becoming County Executive Director. In 2003 Lois became a Program Specialist in the Oregon State FSA Office administering federal programs, including conservation. Retiring after 30 years of federal work she is involved with the family farm outside of Salem.

Laura Masterson, Portland

Farmer and Rancher Representative
First term: 2023 - 2027

Laura Masterson has been deeply involved in supporting Oregon agriculture since launching her own farm in 1996. In addition to farming, Laura has served on the East Multnomah Soil and Water Conservation District board since 2007, including five years as its Chair. Laura has also been a member of Oregon State Board of Agriculture and the Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board where she served on the 2018 technical committee tasked with helping to launch the Oregon Agricultural Heritage Program.

Bruce Taylor, Vice-Chair, Portland

Fish and Wildlife Habitat Representative
Second term: 2021 - 2025

Bruce Taylor is a Portland-based coordinator for two regional bird habitat conservation partnerships: the Pacific Birds Habitat Joint Venture and the Intermountain West Joint Venture. A former congressional staffer and newspaper reporter, he began working for the joint ventures in 1992. He also worked for Defenders of Wildlife from 1993 to 2014 as manager of the organization’s Oregon biodiversity program.

Woody Wolfe, Wallowa

Farmer and Rancher Representative
Second term: 2021 - 2025

Woody Wolfe is the fifth generation to farm and ranch his almost 2,000 acres of Wallowa County. He has placed permanent conservation easements on portions of his property in partnership with the Wallowa Land Trust. Woody dedicates his service to the OAH Commission because of his belief that working lands can benefit conservation and help farmers and ranchers meet their bottom lines at the same time.

 Map of OAHP Commissioners


Please direct questions, comments, or requests to Program Coordinator, Taylor Larson, 971-701-3248.
For questions about Conservation Easement Grants, please contact Robin Meacher, 971-301-1578.