State of Oregon
Water Resources Department (OWRD)
Groundwater Use Recording Fee

New wells constructed in the State of Oregon that do not require a Water Right are
subject to a one-time recording fee of $300.00. This is separate from fees paid to the
licensed water well constructor (driller). Land owners are also required to submit a map
showing the well location on the tax-lot.

When we are notified by the driller that new construction will begin, the following will
occur:

e OWRD will send a postcard with information regarding the fee, along with a Water
Well Owner’s Handbook, to the mailing address provided by the driller.

e Within thirty days of completion of the well, the driller will submit a report (well log)
describing how the well was built.

e Once OWRD receives the well log, a copy of a blank map of your property along with
an invoice for $300 will be sent to the mailing address shown on the well log.

e When the map and fee are received by OWRD, we will complete the recording
process and make your map available for viewing, along with your well log, on the
OWRD website.

Please feel free to call with questions at any point during this process; we look forward

to helping you however we can. The Program Coordinator may be contacted directly at
(503) 986-0861.

What is the Purpose of the Fee and Map?

The purpose of the fee and map is to improve the management of groundwater resources
throughout the state. Oregon Revised Statute 537.545 helps provide this in two ways:

e The map shows the location of the well within a tax-lot, which is valuable to
the Department in identifying the supply and availability of groundwater.

e The fee is intended to support additional research in addition to evaluation
of groundwater supplies, conducting groundwater studies, carrying out
groundwater monitoring, and processing groundwater data.

Under Oregon law, all water is publicly owned. With some exceptions, cities, farmers, factory owners and other users must obtain a
permit or water right from the Water Resources Department to use water from any source— whether it is underground, or from lakes
or streams. Landowners with water flowing past, through, or under their property do not automatically have the right to use that water
without a permit from the Department.



