Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Exempt Use Water Well Recording
Rules and Regulations
 
Division 190 Rules
 
 

 
The 2009 Legislature passed  Senate Bill 788 which introduced new requirements when completing a well for exempt use.  There is now a requirement to submit a map and submit a $300.00 per well recording fee.  The Department will now be sending a letter that provides information to landowners constructing wells to alert them of the new requirements.  We also have a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) and a sample map available to assist people in complying with the new regulations if you have additional questions please contact the Exempt Use Well Program Coordinator at 503 986-0861.

Frequently Asked Questions
Sample map including map requirements
List of Exempt Uses
  
  
  
  
 

Create your map online
  /owrd/gw/images/welltag.jpg
OWRD developed an on-line Exempt Use Well Mapping Tool to allow land owners to create and submit their map. 

To get started, the land owner will need:

Paying the recording fee
OWRD will mail an invoice to the land owner for the $300. The land owner should include a copy of the invoice and a $300.00 check payable to Oregon Water Resources Department to:
 
Oregon Water Resources Department
Attn: Scott Kudlemyer, 503-986-0861
725 Summer St. NE
Suite A
Salem, OR 97301