# OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 2022/2024 CERTIFIED OREGON PHARMACY TECHNICIAN RENEWAL & CE FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ'S)

#### \*\*IMPORTANT INFORMATION\*\*

Your renewed license will be valid until June 30, 2024.

#### 1. When can I renew my 2022/2024 Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician License?

Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician Renewals open Mid – Late March.

#### 2. How do I renew?

Go to the Board's online licensing system at: <a href="https://orbop.mylicense.com/eGov">https://orbop.mylicense.com/eGov</a>

From there, under "New User", you can log in or "Register a New Personal Account" if you have forgotten your login credentials. Once you are logged into your record, you can renew, order a certified copy of your license, or submit an employer/address change.

#### 3. What is the total renewal fee?

\$104.00 if the renewal is completed no later than June 30th. This includes:

- \$100.00 Biennial Renewal fee
- \$4.00 Biennial Healthcare Workforce Demographic Survey fee

#### 4. When does the renewal fee increase to \$124.00?

July 1, 2022 – If your renewal is submitted after your license expires on June 30, 2022, a \$20.00 late fee is assessed.

### 5. What is a Healthcare Workforce Demographic Survey?

By law, the Oregon Board of Pharmacy is required to collect healthcare workforce data from each Certified Pharmacy Technician before a license can be renewed. This information will be gathered and given to the Office for Oregon Health Policy and Research. Click <a href="https://example.com/here">here</a> for more information.

#### 6. Since my last renewal was submitted, I moved or did not receive a renewal form. What do I do?

It is the responsibility of each Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician to notify the Oregon Board of Pharmacy of any updates to their address.

Go to the Board's new licensing system at: <a href="https://orbop.mylicense.com/eGov">https://orbop.mylicense.com/eGov</a>

From there, you can log in or under "New User", you can search and "Register a New Personal Account" if you have forgotten your login information. Once you are logged in, you can renew, order a certified copy of your license, or submit an employer/address change. Once your account is created, you can log in at any time and update your information.

#### 7. Can I renew online by sending in a check or money order?

No. The Oregon Board of Pharmacy requires that all renewal payments be made via electronic means. You can pay via e-check by entering your checking or savings account information in the US Bank payment system.

#### 8. When do I have to report a change of my employment or personal information?

A Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician must notify the Board in writing, within 15 days of any change in e-mail address, employment location or residence address (Oregon Administrative Rule 855-025-0020(7)). This can be done at any time by logging into your eGov account and updating your employment or personal information.

#### 9. How do I know if my license was renewed?

You can check the status of your license at any time at: <a href="https://orbop.mylicense.com/verification">https://orbop.mylicense.com/verification</a>.

If your expiration date shows 06/30/2024, your license has been renewed and you should receive your license in the mail soon.

# 10. How many hours of Continuing Pharmacy Education (CPE) do I have to complete for this renewal period.

20 hours of CE must be completed during the period of 7/1/20-6/30/22. You will need to complete a **minimum of 20 hours of CE** which must include:

- ✓ 2 hours of Pharmacy Law
- ✓ 2 hours of Patient Safety or Medication Error Prevention
- ✓ 16 hours of your choice of relevant pharmacy CE or Board approved on-site training \*If you have more than 2 hours in either of the categories listed above, you may count those hours toward the remaining 16 "other" hours.

The Oregon Board of Pharmacy recognizes CPE that is ACPE accredited as well as those that have been approved by the Board. Please take the time to check your certificates to verify that you have the required number of hours and that the ACPE or Oregon Board of Pharmacy approval is listed.

You may apply to have CPE approved by the Board by completing and submitting an application on the Board website. For Board approved CE to apply to license renewal, approval must be received prior to submitting your license renewal.

Please note: The Oregon Board of Pharmacy performs random CE audits. If selected, you will be required to provide proof of CPE completed from July 1, 2020, - June 30, 2022. If you are audited and it is found that you did not complete the required continuing Education, a case will be assigned, and presented to the board for deliberation.

#### Note: Per OAR 855-021-0009 the next renewal cycle in 2024 will require:

- 2 hours of Pharmacy Law
- 2 hours of Patient Safety or Medication Error Prevention
- 2 hours of cultural competency CPE either approved by the <u>Oregon Health Authority under ORS</u>
   413.450 or any cultural competency CPE
- 14 hours of CPE or documented on-site training approved by the board.

#### 11. Does the Oregon Board of Pharmacy accept CME (continuing medical education).

Yes, the Oregon BOP recognizes formal CME that is designated as AMA PRA Category 1 Credits, related to pharmacy topics, applicable toward RPH and CPT required CE. Be sure that your attendance certificate has this designation and retain your certificate(s) in the event you are audited in an upcoming cycle.

#### 12. Should I submit my CPE to the Board?

Please do not submit your CPE certificates to the Board unless you receive an audit notice via email after the renewal. If you are selected for audit, the letter will include instructions for submitting your proof of CPE.

The Oregon Board of Pharmacy utilizes the NABP's CPE Monitor program to audit continuing education. This is not a requirement currently; however, the use of the NABP CPE Monitor for tracking your continuing education may avoid the need to provide additional documentation to the Board when you are audited.

### 13. Does my CPE have to be "live" or "technician specific" to count for my Oregon license?

## 14. My license was issued on or after July 1, 2021 AND I have not completed my first renewal. Do I have to complete all of the CPE hours listed above?

No. OAR 855-021-0009(2) states that "...does not apply to a Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician applying for the first renewal of their license, if they have not been licensed by the Board for at least one year prior to July 1 of the renewal period."

#### 15. I recently had a name change, how do I report this to the Board?

The Board requires two documents that verify that your name has been legally changed, along with the name change form found on the Board's website.

Documents accepted include copies of Marriage Certificates/License, Divorce Decrees, or Court Documents showing your name has been legally changed **AND** a copy of your state issued driver's license or Social Security Card that verifies your new name.

# 17. Between my last Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician renewal and this renewal cycle, I was in trouble with the law. What do I do?

If you have been arrested or cited for violations of the law you must provide the following items:

- A written explanation of the circumstances in detail;
- Copies of all police reports. Contact the police agency(ies) involved for police reports;
- Court documents. Contact the court for court documents; and
- Other related documents

#### 18. How do I lapse my Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician license?

Do not renew your license. Your Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician license will lapsed automatically on July 1, 2022.

#### 19. How do I obtain a copy of the Oregon Board of Pharmacy's Newsletter?

To subscribe to the Oregon State Board of Pharmacy newsletter alert e-mail list, please click here.

The Oregon Board of Pharmacy Newsletter is only available online. This will provide direct access to the e-Newsletter for Oregon licensed pharmacy technicians, pharmacy interns and pharmacists, as well as any other persons interested in Board of Pharmacy news.

### 19. How do I sign up for rulemaking notifications?

To subscribe to the rulemaking and board meeting agenda notifications, go to: <a href="https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/ORBOP/subscriber/new">https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/ORBOP/subscriber/new</a> and enter your email address.

### 20. I am a Veteran. Where do I obtain more information on Oregon Veterans' Benefits?

You can access the Oregon Department of Veterans' Affairs by going to the following address: <a href="https://www.oregon.gov/ODVA/BENEFITS">https://www.oregon.gov/ODVA/BENEFITS</a>.