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OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY  
2025 PHARMACIST LICENSE RENEWAL CONTINUING PHARMACY EDUCATION (CPE) 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  
 
See OAR 855-135 for Oregon Administrative Rules relating to Continuing Pharmacy 
Education.  

 
 

1. I recently obtained my Pharmacist license in Oregon. Do I have to complete all 30 
hours of CPE prior to renewing my license?  
It depends on the initial issue date of your license.  

 
If you were initially licensed prior to July 1, 2024, in accordance with OAR 855-135-
0050, you MUST complete each of the required 30 hours of CPE in the period of July 1, 
2023 –the date of renewal. 
 
Per OAR 855-135-0050(1), to be eligible for renewal, you must complete the following: 
 

(a) Two hours of CPE in pharmacy law;  
(b) Two hours of CPE in patient safety or medication error prevention;   
(c) Two hours of CPE in cultural competency either approved by the Oregon 
Health Authority under ORS 413.450 or any cultural competency; 
(d) One hour of CPE in pain management, provided by the Pain Management 
Commission of the Oregon Health Authority; and 
(d) Twenty-three additional hours of CPE in subjects pertinent to pharmacy per 
OAR 855-135-0010(1)(a)-(e). 

 
If you were initially licensed in the period of July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025, you MUST 
complete the following number of hours, in any topic area, to be eligible for renewal:    
 

• July 1, 2024 to September 30, 2024, you must complete 16 hours of CPE. 
• October 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 you must complete 12 hours of CPE. 
• January 1, 2025 to March 31, 2025 you must complete 8 hours of CPE. 
• April 1, 2025 to June 30, 2025, you must complete 4 hours of CPE. 

 
2. How can I find CPE that counts as cultural competency (CCCE)? 

OAR 855-135-0001(7) defines cultural competence.  
 
ACPE offers a CPE search tool via the Pharmacy Learning Assistance Network. You can 
utilize this nationwide database to locate ACPE approved CPE on a specific topic. Under 
the specific CPE interest, you can select topics like Bias, Cultural Competency, Cultural 
Diversity, Gender Identity, Health Disparities, Health Literacy, Health Inequities, LGBTQ, 
Social Determinates of Health, Transgender. 
 
OHA maintains a list of CCCE approved trainings that meet the requirements of ORS 
413.450. 
 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=316329
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=312554
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=312554
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=312554
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/EI/Pages/CCCE.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/EI/Pages/CCCE.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/hpa/dsi-pmc/pages/module.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/hpa/dsi-pmc/pages/module.aspx
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=297533
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=7566
https://plan.acpe-accredit.org/
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/EI/Pages/CCCE.aspx
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3. Must my CPE be accredited by ACPE?  
No, per OAR 855-135-0001, accepted CPE includes any program that is ACPE accredited, 
board-approved, CVME and ACCME AMA Category 1. ACCME AMA Category 1 CPE and 
AAVSB-RACE is limited to 10 hours of CPE per renewal cycle. 
 

4. Is use of the NABP CPE Monitor to track ACPE accredited CPE required? 
Yes, per OAR 855-135-0050(5) which became effective on 7/1/2023, Pharmacists must 
register with the CPE Monitor for tracking completed ACPE credit hours. 
 

To create a NABP e-Profile number and sign up for the CPE Monitor to track your ACPE 
accredited CPE go to: https://nabp.pharmacy/programs/cpe-monitor/. 
 

To log in to your current NABP e-Profile account to verify your e-Profile number and 
ensure you have completed the CPE requirements prior to renewing your license, go to: 
https://dashboard.nabp.pharmacy/#/login. 
 

5. During the renewal cycle, do I have to submit copies of my completed CPE to the 
Oregon Board of Pharmacy? 
See OAR 855-135-0050(5). For each board-approved or ACCME accredited program, 
you must ensure that program completion CPE credit was recorded in either NABP CPE 
Monitor or that your certificates of completion have been uploaded to your eGov 
licensing record.    
 

CPE Certificates may be uploaded on the “Attach Documents” page of the eGov renewal 
or may be uploaded at any time by logging into your eGov account and selecting 
“Update License Info and Upload Documents”.   
 

6. Does my CPE have to be “live” or “pharmacist specific” to count for my Oregon 
license? 
No. 
 

7. New rules relating to technicians, interns and pharmacists went into effect on 
3/1/2024. Does the Board have informational programs about the rule changes? 
Yes, and free law CPE is available! For your convenience, the informational programs are 
available to you 24/7. You can find the free law CPE by clicking on the links below: 

• Division 115 - Pharmacists (Handout)  
o 1.5 hours Oregon board-approved law CPE (Request CPE*)  

• Division 120 - Interns & Preceptors (Handout)  
o 1 hour Oregon board-approved law CPE (Request CPE*)  

• Division 125 - Certified Oregon PTs (CPT) & PTs (PT) (Handout)  
o 1 hour Oregon board-approved law CPE (Request CPE*)  

  
 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=297532
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=312554
https://nabp.pharmacy/programs/cpe-monitor/
https://dashboard.nabp.pharmacy/#/login
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=312554
https://nabp.pharmacy/programs/cpe-monitor/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI3Mufv4ejggMVsR2tBh1HFQgtEAAYASAAEgLRwfD_BwE
https://nabp.pharmacy/programs/cpe-monitor/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI3Mufv4ejggMVsR2tBh1HFQgtEAAYASAAEgLRwfD_BwE
https://orbop.mylicense.com/EGOV/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=/EGOV/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dTq-iKbrxCU&t=195s
https://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Documents/Div_115_Pharmacists_Handout.pdf
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.surveymonkey.com%2Fr%2FOBOPDiv115&data=05%7C02%7CChrisy.Hennigan%40stateoforegon.mail.onmicrosoft.com%7C909fe237ae5749a2f7eb08dc2f49f690%7Caa3f6932fa7c47b4a0cea598cad161cf%7C0%7C0%7C638437241969948931%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=j82VBZES%2BGG%2FiUf7mDXVRDhey8k9VqzvYka7mMK7NwY%3D&reserved=0
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4u8tvxuGTaE
https://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Documents/Div_120_Interns_Preceptors_Handout.pdf
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.surveymonkey.com%2Fr%2FOBOPDiv120&data=05%7C02%7CChrisy.Hennigan%40stateoforegon.mail.onmicrosoft.com%7C909fe237ae5749a2f7eb08dc2f49f690%7Caa3f6932fa7c47b4a0cea598cad161cf%7C0%7C0%7C638437241969960803%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=We%2FiLWw%2BdodkWzddg2ThiNx53aveoGIzks%2BSp3CJQdI%3D&reserved=0
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oCQ16eWM3g0
https://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Documents/Div_125_COPT_PT_Handout.pdf
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.surveymonkey.com%2Fr%2FOBOPDiv125&data=05%7C02%7CChrisy.Hennigan%40stateoforegon.mail.onmicrosoft.com%7C909fe237ae5749a2f7eb08dc2f49f690%7Caa3f6932fa7c47b4a0cea598cad161cf%7C0%7C0%7C638437241969972346%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=Cuqbt0GPs%2BZxIksAkZgLJVBUz%2FcoDgcLp0hZObnOQ0A%3D&reserved=0
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Important Note: 
While these informational programs, along with the OHA Pain Management 
Commission CPE are Oregon board-approved, they are not accredited by ACPE. 
Therefore, completion of these programs will not appear in the NABP CPE Monitor.  
 
You must upload the course completion certificate for these programs into your e-Gov 
licensing record to comply with CPE record retention requirements in OAR 855-135. 
 

• Certificates or notifications will be emailed to those who complete the quiz and 
program evaluation 6-8 weeks after submitting the request. 

 
8. I have been selected for audit but cannot find copies of my completed CPE. What 

should I do? 
Please contact the CPE provider for proof of completion, as they are required to keep 
completed CPE on file for at least six years.  
 

9. How long should I retain the proof of my CPE? 
Per OAR 855-135-0050(7), you are required to retain proof of CPE for a minimum of six 
years.   

 
10. I renewed my license and attested to the fact that my CPE was completed but I did 

not have all my CPE hours, or I cannot provide proof of completion. What happens 
next? 
If you are audited or the board receives a complaint and you did not complete or cannot 
provide proof of the required continuing pharmacy education prior to submission of 
your renewal, a case will be assigned, investigated, and presented to the board for 
deliberation and may result in disciplinary action.  
 

11. I submitted my license renewal and attested to the fact that my CPE was not 
completed at the time of renewal. What happens next? 
If you submitted your license renewal but had not completed your required CPE at the 
time of renewal, your renewal and payment will be received, but your renewal will be 
marked as incomplete because you do not meet the renewal requirements. 
 
Your renewal will stay in a pending status until you inform the Board that you have 
completed the required CPE. If you do not complete and report your CPE by 6/30/2025, 
your license will lapse. 

 

https://orbop.mylicense.com/EGOV/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=/EGOV/
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=312554

