OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 2021 PHARMACIST CONTINUING EDUCATION FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

OAR 855-021-0005

Continuing Pharmacy Education Required for Pharmacist License Renewal

(1) During the period from July 1 through June 30 of each biennial license renewal cycle, each pharmacist must have satisfactorily completed three (3) continuing pharmacy education units (CEU's) in an approved continuing pharmacy education program prior to submission of the license renewal. Ten contact hours equals 1 CEU. Fifty minutes equals 1 contact hour.

(2) Section (1) does not apply to pharmacists applying for the first renewal of their license if they have not been licensed by the Board for at least one year prior to July 1 of the renewal period.

OAR <u>855-021-0010</u>

Continuing Pharmacy Education

(2)(a) A program shall consist of therapeutics, or pharmacy and drug law or other aspects of health care. A minimum of at least two hours of continuing education credit must be earned in the area of pharmacy and drug law. A minimum of two hours of continuing education credit must be earned in the area of patient safety or medication error prevention.

1. I recently obtained my Pharmacist license in Oregon. Do I have to complete the required CE prior to renewing my license this year?

It depends on your initial issue date on your license.

- If you were initially licensed from July 1, 2019 June 30, 2020, YES, you MUST complete the continuing education requirements prior to renewing your license.
- If you were initially licensed from July 1, 2020 June 30, 2021, NO, you DO NOT have to complete the continuing education requirements for this license renewal.
- 2. I completed the required 7 hours of Pain Management CE last year, am I required to complete Pain Management CE again?

No. Please refer to OAR 855-021-0016.

All Pharmacists are required to have completed a <u>one-time</u> requirement of Pain Management CE within 24 months of their first license renewal. If 2021 is your first renewal, the pain management CE must be completed in the period of July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2023.

3. Where can I obtain Pain CE?

One of the seven hours of Pain Management CE must be earned from the Oregon Pain Management Commission. This one-hour mandatory Pain Management CE module can be found on their website:

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/ohpr/pmc/pages/index.aspx

The OPMC strongly recommends that a component of the additional 6 hours of continuing education include the new understanding of the neuroscience and the complex biopsychosocial nature of pain in addition to the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) Guidelines and Center for Disease Control (CDC) Opioid Prescribing Guidelines.

4. Does the Board require "Live" CE?

At this time, there is no requirement to have attended a "Live" CE session.

5. During the renewal cycle, do I have to submit copies of my completed CE to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy?

No. Please do not forward copies of your CE certificates to the Board unless you receive notification that you have been selected for a CE Audit.

6. How do I know if I have been selected for a CE Audit?

If you are selected for a CE Audit, you will be sent a notification in the fall of 2021, which will require you to provide your CE certificates to the Board pursuant to OAR 855-021-0050(2). You will have approximately one month to provide the Board with copies of your CE certificates.

7. I did not renew my license prior to the expiration date of June 30, 2021. Will I be audited?

Yes, all Pharmacists who submit a renewal after their license expires are automatically selected to complete a CE Audit.

8. I have been selected for audit. What do I need to do?

If audited, you will be required to provide proof of CE completed from July 1, 2019 through the date you submit your renewal. CE is required to be completed prior to renewing your license. If you are audited and it is found that you did not complete the required continuing education prior to renewing your license, <u>a case will be assigned, presented</u> to the board for deliberation and may result in disciplinary action.

The Oregon Board of Pharmacy utilizes the **NABP's CPE Monitor program** to audit continuing education. This is not a requirement at this time; however, the use of the NABP CPE Monitor for tracking your continuing education may avoid the need to provide additional documentation to the Board when you are audited.

9. I have been selected for audit but cannot find copies of my completed CE. What should I do?

Please contact the CE provider for proof of completion, as they are required to keep completed CE on file for at least three years.

10. How long should I retain the proof of my CE?

At this time, you should retain proof of CE for a minimum of three years.

11. I renewed my license and attested to the fact that my CE was completed, but I did not have all my CE completed prior to renewing my license, or I cannot provide proof of completion. What happens next?

If you are audited and you did not complete or cannot provide proof of the required continuing education prior to renewing your license, <u>a case will be assigned</u>, <u>presented to the board for deliberation and may result in disciplinary action</u>.