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Oregon Board of Pharmacy  
Fingerprint-Based Background Check Information &  

FAQs 
 

Who is required to be fingerprinted?  
A. All new applicants or applicants for reinstatement for Pharmacy Technician (unless you 
are under the age of 18 at the time of license application), Certified Oregon Pharmacy 
Technician, Intern & Pharmacist applicants for licensure are required to undergo a national 
(FBI) fingerprint-based background check. This includes: 

• Pharmacy Technician/Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician Applicants 
o Residing in Oregon or outside of Oregon.  

• Intern Applicants 
o Attending an Oregon School or College of Pharmacy. 
o Attending an out-of-state School or College of Pharmacy, but wanting to 

obtain Intern experience in the state of Oregon. 
o Foreign Pharmacy Graduates who require an Oregon Intern License. 

• Pharmacist Applicants Applying for Licensure via 
o  Exam 
o  Score transfer 
o  Reciprocity  
o  FPGEC 

 
• Q. What is the fee? 

• There is a $40.00 processing fee payable to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy in addition 
to the fee required by the fingerprinting facility.  

 
• Q. I recently submitted my fingerprints to another state agency as part of a criminal 

background check. Do I have to submit fingerprints with my application to the Oregon 
Board of Pharmacy also? 

• Yes. Under current Oregon law, fingerprints submitted to other state or federal agencies 
are not available for use by the Oregon Board of Pharmacy.  

 
• Q. I currently have a pharmacy technician license in Oregon but will be applying for a 

Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician license soon.  Do I have to have my fingerprints 
taken again?   

• A.  At this time, an additional fingerprint background check is not required if you have had 
your fingerprints processed through the Oregon Board of Pharmacy within the last 12 
months.   The Board will conduct an additional criminal background check through the Law 
Enforcement Data System (LEDS) prior to issuing the new license.   If it has been more 
than 12 months since you last applied for a license, you will be required to have your 
fingerprints taken again. 
 

• Q. I currently have an Oregon Intern license, but will be applying for a Oregon Pharmacist 
license soon.  Do I have to have my fingerprints taken again?   

• A.  At this time, an additional fingerprint background check is not required if you have had 
your fingerprints processed through the Oregon Board of Pharmacy within the last 12 
months.   The Board will conduct an additional criminal background check through the Law 
Enforcement Data System (LEDS) prior to issuing the new license.   If it has been more 
than 12 months since you last applied for a license, you will be required to have your 
fingerprints taken again. 
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• Q. Where can I go to get my fingerprints taken?  
Once your application, application fee and $40.00 fingerprint processing fee has been 
received by the Oregon Board of Pharmacy, you will receive the information you need to 
schedule an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.  
 
You must schedule an appointment to have your fingerprints taken at a designated 
Fieldprint facility near you. Your fingerprints will then be electronically submitted to the 
Oregon State Police. Once we receive your application, application processing fee, and 
$40.00 fingerprint processing fee, you will receive information you need in order to 
schedule an appointment to have your fingerprints taken.   They will be electronically 
transmitted to the Oregon State Police.   You must enter an email address on your 
application.  The information that you need to schedule an appointment will be emailed to 
you.   
 

• Q. If my fingerprints are rejected will I have to pay the $12.50 fingerprinting fee again?  
No.  Fieldprint guarantees their fingerprinting service.  You will be notified if your 
fingerprints are rejected and the Board will provide you the information necessary to have 
your fingerprints re-taken. 
 

• Q.   My friend had her fingerprints taken at Fieldprint.  Can I just use the information that 
she received and make an appointment? 
No.  Your appointment needs to be made after the Board has received your application, 
application fee and $40.00 fingerprint processing fee.    Not following this process could 
delay the time it takes to process your application and issue your license.   


