
 Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician  
 Continuing Education (CE) FAQs for the 2016 License Renewal  

 
**IMPORTANT INFORMATION – PLEASE READ!** 

 
1. Do I have to have my PTCB or NHA national certification active to renew my state license? 
 
No. 
 
2. How many hours of CE do I have to complete to renew my Oregon Board of Pharmacy license? 
 
• Your CE must be completed during the period of September 1, 2015 – August 31, 2016 and 

prior to submitting your renewal.   
 Required CE includes: 

  1 hour of Pharmacy Law 
  1 hour of Patient Safety or Medication Error Prevention 
  8 hours of your choice of relevant pharmacy CE or Board approved on-site 

training 
 
Please note:  The Oregon Board of Pharmacy performs random CE audits.   If selected, you will be 
required to provide proof of CE completed between September 1, 2015 - August 31, 2016.  If you 
are audited and it is found that you did not complete the required Continuing Education, you will 
be subject to disciplinary action. 
  
3. Should I submit my CE to the Board? 
 
Please do not submit your CE to the Board unless you receive an audit letter after the renewal that 
requests proof of CE. If you are selected for audit, the letter will include instructions for submitting 
your CE.   In the online renewal process, you will be asked to enter the number of hours you have 
completed for each category. 
 
4. Do I have to do the law CE on the Board website? 
 
No. The Pharmacy Law CE on Board website is one option available for your law CE, but is not 
required. 
 
5. Does my CE have to be “live” or “technician specific” to count for my Oregon license? 
 
No. 
 
6.   *UPDATED* My license was issued after September 1, 2015 AND I have not completed my 
first renewal.  Do I have to complete all of the CE hours listed above?   
 
No.  OAR 855-025-0015(2)(b) states that “…does not apply to a Certified Oregon Pharmacy 
Technician applying for the first renewal of their license, if they have not been licensed by the 
Board for at least one year prior to July 1 of the renewal period.” 

http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_800/oar_855/855_025.html

