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AMEND:

REPEAL:

RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

ORS 183.705, 291.055, 475, 475.035, 689.151, 689.155, 689.205, 689.305, 689.315
Statutory Authority:

Other Authority:

ORS 431.972, 676.410, 677.511, 689.135, 689.151, 689.155, 689.207, 689.225, 689.255, 689.275, 689.305, 689.315, 689.325, 689.774,
689.765

Statutes Implemented:

RULE SUMMARY

Amendments in Division 019 establish minimum requirements for a Pharmacist-in-Charge (PIC) to be practicing onsite at a pharmacy. These
amendments also establish requirements for a Pharmacist to be  designated as the PIC of more than one pharmacy.

Amendments in Division 025 make the Pharmacy Technician license expire the second June 30 from the date of issuance, which is not to
exceed more than two years.

Amendments in Division 031 make the Preceptor license a biennial license which expires on June 30 in odd numbered years. This
corresponds with the new Pharmacist license biennial expiration date.

Amendments in Division 041 establish requirements for when there is a change in Pharmacist-in-Charge (PIC) in a non-resident or resident
pharmacy.  It also requires pharmacies to notify the Board of a change in PIC within five business days and identify a Pharmacist employed at
the location to serve as the Board contact person until a PIC is designated. Resident pharmacies are required to designate an Oregon
licensed PIC within 60 days when there is a change. Non-resident pharmacies are required to designate an Oregon licensed PIC within 90
days when there is a change.
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The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative
economic impact of the rule on business.

Rules proposed for adoption in Division 041 establish new requirements for the proper storage of drugs,  cold storage and monitoring, and
vaccine drug storage. The Board worked in collaboration with the Oregon Health Authority's Oregon Immunization Program in the
development of these rules. They helped serve as subject matter experts as they operate immunization programs such as Vaccines for
Children and perform site visits throughout the state.

Amendments in Division 060 establish new definitions in the Pharmaceutical Manufacturer rules. Amendments also incorporate outsourcing
facilities as one of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) registration types that must register with the Board as a Manufacturer. Third-party
logistics providers are directed to register as a Drug Distribution Agent.

Amendments in  Division 062 Drug Distribution Agent rules require a third-party logistics provider to register as a Drug Distribution Agent.  In
addition, new definitions are incorporated into these rules.

Amendments in  Division 065 Wholesaler rules direct third-party logistics providers to register as a Drug Distribution Agent. Amendments also
establish new definitions,  updates minimum requirements for record keeping and inventory management, and updates prohibited practices.

Amendments in Division 110 update the Fee rules to reflect that a Pharmacy Technician license issued prior to January 1, 2015 to a person
under 18 years of age expires June 30 in odd numbered years. Other updates include listing the three classifications of Manufacturers and the
three classifications of Wholesalers identified in Divisions 060 and 065.
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Board of Pharmacy 855
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Amend or adopt Division 019, 025, 031, 041, 060, 062, 065 and 110 rules.

Rule Caption (Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.)
In the Matter of:

Statutory Authority:

Amending or adopting rules in Division 019, 025, 031, 041, 060, 062, 065 and 110.

ORS 183.705, 291.055, 475, 475.035, 689.151, 689.155, 689.205, 689.305, 689.315

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:
ORS 431.972, 676.410, 677.511, 689.135, 689.151, 689.155, 689.207, 689.225, 689.255, 689.275, 689.305, 689.315, 689.325, 689.774,
689.765

Need for the Rule(s):
Division 019 rules are needed to establish Pharmacist-in-Charge (PIC) minimum onsite practicing hours at a pharmacy.

Division 025 rule amendments are needed to allow for additional time for a Pharmacy Technician to qualify and transition to a Certified Oregon
Pharmacy Technician.  In addition, the expiration date of a Pharmacy Technician is changed to a fixed date rather than expiring one year from
the date of issuance.

Division 031 rule amendments are needed to correlate the expiration date of the Preceptor license with the  Pharmacist biennial expiration
date which is June 30 in odd numbered years.

Division 041 rule amendments are needed to establish specific onsite hour requirements for Pharmacists serving as the Pharmacist-in-Charge
(PIC) of  resident and non-resident pharmacies registered by the Board.  A contact person is also required when there is a change in PIC and
a pharmacy has not yet designated an Oregon licensed PIC. The contact person is needed to ensure that the pharmacy has a contact  on
staff to respond to Board correspondence and inquiries, supervise pharmacy staff, and ensure compliance with Oregon laws and rules until an
Oregon licensed PIC is designated.

Division 041 proper storage of drugs, cold storage and monitoring, and vaccine drug storage rules are needed to provide more guidance to
Pharmacists on proper drug storage. The Board currently has limited requirements on drug storage.

Division 060, 062, and 065 rule amendments are needed as a result of the Drug Quality and Security Act (DQSA).  Rule amendments
implements standards of the Federal law or exceed Federal requirements.

Division 110 are needed to reflect that the Pharmacy Technician license expires June 30 in odd numbered years for licenses initially issued
prior to January 1, 2015 to a person under 18 years of age. Rule amendments are also needed to reflect the three classifications of
Manufacturers and the three classifications of Wholesalers.

Fiscal and Economic Impact:
The Division 041 proper storage of drugs, cold storage and monitoring, and vaccine drug storage rules require pharmacies who are storing

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
Drug Supply Chain Security Act  (DSCSA) available at:  http://www.fda.
gov/Drugs/DrugSafety/DrugIntegrityandSupplyChainSecurity/DrugSupplyChainSecurityAct/default.htm

Title II of the Drug Quality and Security Act (DQSA) available at: http://www.fda.
gov/Drugs/DrugSafety/DrugIntegrityandSupplyChainSecurity/DrugSupplyChainSecurityAct/ucm376829.htm



drugs that must be refrigerated or frozen, to be stored in a drug refrigeration system that utilizes a centrally placed, accurate, and calibrated
thermometer or utilize system of continuous temperature monitoring with automated data logging. Therefore, if pharmacies do not have this
equipment, they would incur an expenditure to comply with these requirements. This cost may vary from outlet to outlet.

Statement of Cost of Compliance:
1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):

Depending on the equipment in various state and local government settings modifications may be required. The cost of compliance is
unknown.

2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
a. Estimate the number of small business and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:

Approximately 50-100 pharmacy outlets registered with the Board are classified as a small business.  These outlets will be required to comply
with onsite Pharmacist-in-Charge (PIC) and drug storage requirements.  The Board's current PIC rules require the PIC to be onsite the
majority of the time. It is assumed that most pharmacies are complying with  this requirement.   New rules require pharmacies to store all
drugs at the proper temperature according to manufacturer's published guidelines. Therefore drugs that must be refrigerated or frozen, must
be stored in a drug refrigeration system that utilizes a centrally placed, accurate, and calibrated thermometer.  Pharmacies that store drugs
that require refrigeration or to be frozen would be required to ensure that they utilize a refrigeration system that contains a centrally placed,
accurate, and calibrated thermometer.

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including costs of
professional services:

Amendments in the Division 062 Drug Distribution Agent, Division 060 Manufacturer,  and Division 065 Wholesale Drug Outlet rules require
third-party logistics providers to register as a Drug Distribution Agent rather than an Wholesale Distributor. Therefore third-party logistics
providers that are currently registered as a Wholesale Distributor will need to change their registration type to a Drug Distribution Agent.  This
will increase administrative activities as these outlets will need to submit a Drug Distribution Agent application to change their registration type.

c. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:
Outlets will be required to comply with onsite Pharmacist-in-Charge (PIC) requirements.  The Board's current PIC rules require the PIC to be
onsite the majority of the time. It is assumed that most pharmacies are complying with  this requirement.

Depending on the equipment in various pharmacy settings modifications may be required. The cost of compliance for equipment is unknown.

If not, why?:

How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule?

Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?:

An organization representing small wholesale distributors was a stakeholder involved with the development of the Drug Distribution Agent,
Manufacturer, and Wholesaler rules.

A Rule Advisory Committee was consulted on the development of the Drug Distribution Agent, Manufacturer and Wholesaler rules.

Yes
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