Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Licensing Info, Forms, Fees & Procedures

NOTICE OF PROPOSED FEE INCREASES

The Oregon Board of Pharmacy has prepared its 2019-2021 Agency Budget Request for the Governor and Legislative approval during the 2019 Legislative Session.   Proposed fee increases are necessary to allow the Board to continue current and anticipated operations to carry out the Board’s mission.  


The agency operates solely on licensing and miscellaneous fees. The Board takes raising fees very seriously and we do all we can to minimize expenses. The last meaningful fee increase was in 2001. In 2011, the Board increased a number of fees, however most were reverted back to the 2001 fees in 2013 due to an unexpected surplus of funds.


The Board’s proposed fee increases must be approved by the Governor and Legislature. If authorized, the Board plans to adopt all updated fees by rule. The Board proposes the fee increases to be effective July 1, 2019 for all new applicants and renewing licensees / registrants.

Notice of Proposed Fee Schedule - 2019

 

Back to Top

CONTINUING EDUCATION

Oregon Administrative Rules relating to continuing education: 
OAR 855 Division 21 Pharmacist Continuing Education for Renewal 
  
OAR 855-025-0020(8) A certified pharmacy technician must obtain certificates of completion that show the date and number of hours earned to document continuing education credit earned and must keep the certificates of completion for three years from the date of the program. 
  
  
CE Online Exam and Approval Applications 
 
Notice:  Effective January 1, 2019, the Oregon CE Law exam will no longer be offered by the Oregon Board of Pharmacy.
Back to Top

PHARMACISTS

Pharmacist Application Information - You cannot apply for licensure in Oregon until you have passed the NAPLEX and the MPJE. 

 
You will need to follow all of the NABP processes prior to applying for licensure with the Oregon Board of Pharmacy.  For more information, please go directly to NABP at https://nabp.pharmacy/programs/​

 
 Please read all of the information carefully to avoid a delay in licensure and possible overpayment of fees.  All fees are non-refundable. 

To become licensed as a Pharmacist in Oregon*

Fingerprinting FAQ's   - NOTE:  Fingerprinting fee increases to $41.25 on 1/1/19.  The new fee of $41.25 will be required for all applications received after 12/31/18.
  • Click here for a printable copy of the FAQs. 
  • If you have already completed a fingerprint background within the last 12 months, you will not need to repeat the fingerprinting process again unless requested.   

    This 12 month rule applies to any license application. Regardless of your existing license type or the license you are applying for, if you have provided fingerprints to the Board of Pharmacy within the past 12 months, you will not normally be asked for another set of prints. All fees are non-refundable. 
    • Order Laws & Rules -
      •  To download a PDF copy of the Oregon Board of Pharmacy Laws & Rules, click here.  

 
Additional Information for Pharmacists:

 PIC Information:

 

Registry for Limited Liablity for Pharmacists
Per ORS 855-019-0123:

(1) A pharmacist may register with the Board for the limitation on liability provided by ORS 676.340, which provides a licensee with specific exemptions from liability for the provision of pharmacy services without compensation under the terms of the law.
 
(2) A no cost registration may be issued by the Board upon receipt of a completed application. Registration requires submission of a signed form provided by the Board in accordance with ORS 676.345(2).
 
(3) Registration will expire at the licensee’s next license renewal date and may be renewed biennially. It is the licensee’s responsibility to ensure his or her active registration in this program.
 
(4) Nothing in this section relieves licensee from the responsibility to comply with Board regulations and still may be subject to disciplinary actions.
 
(5) Pharmacists providing care under the provisions of ORS 676.340 and 676.345 remain subject to the Board complaint investigation process articulated in ORS 676.175.
 
Please click here to access the online registration form.  PLEASE NOTE:  You will not receive a paper license.  Your registry information will be displayed on the Board of Pharmacy's Online License Lookup.  Please allow up to two weeks for this information to be displayed.
Back to Top

INTERNS


 

Intern Information & Forms 
 

  • Intern Application - Please note:  application processing time is approximately 1 month.  May be longer depending upon the circumstances. 

Fingerprinting FAQ's  NOTE:  Fingerprinting fee increases to $41.25 on 1/1/19.  The new fee of $41.25 will be required for all applications received after 12/31/18.

      • Click here for a printable copy of the FAQs. 
      • If you have already completed a fingerprint background within the last 12 months, you will not need to repeat the fingerprinting process again unless requested.   

        This 12 month rule applies to any license application. Regardless of your existing license type or the license you are applying for, if you have provided fingerprints to the Board of Pharmacy within the past 12 months, you will not normally be asked for another set of prints. All fees are non-refundable. 

 

Back to Top

CERTIFIED OREGON PHARMACY TECHNICIANS

Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician Information & Forms 


NOTICE TO ALL NEW APPLICANTS: 

If you have passed a national certification exam through PTCB or the National Healthcareer Association (the ExCPT) please download and complete the Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician License Application, or you can email us at pharmacy.board@oregon.gov​ to request an application.
  • Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician License  Application - Please note:  application processing time is approximately 1 month.  May be longer depending upon the circumstances.   
  • Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician licenses expire June 30th of even years.  
    All licenses will need to be renewed prior to June 30, 2020.   Renewal information will be mailed out in April, 2020.

  • Fingerprinting FAQ's   NOTE:  Fingerprinting fee increases to $41.25 on 1/1/19.  The new fee of $41.25 will be required for all applications received after 12/31/18.
      • Click here for a printable copy of the FAQs. 
      • If you have already completed a fingerprint background within the last 12 months, you will not need to repeat the fingerprinting process again unless requested.   

        This 12 month rule applies to any license application. Regardless of your existing license type or the license you are applying for, if you have provided fingerprints to the Board of Pharmacy within the past 12 months, you will not normally be asked for another set of prints. All fees are non-refundable. 

Related Links: 
  
National Healthcareer Association (ExCPT)  
  
Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB)​

Back to Top

PHARMACY TECHNICIANS

 

Pharmacy Technician Information & Forms 
 

NOTICE TO ALL NEW APPLICANTS:  

 

The Pharmacy Technician license expires the second June 30 from the date of issue and is not to exceed more than two years per Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 855-025-0010 (1)

This means that:
  • Pharmacy Technician licenses issued between 7/1/18 - 6/30/19 will expire 6/30/20
  • Pharmacy Technician licenses issued between 7/1/19 - 6/30/20 will expire 6/30/21
  • Pharmacy Technician licenses issued between 7/1/20 - 6/30/21 will expire 6/30/22.
 

This allows pharmacy technicians more than a year, but not more than two years to become nationally certified and apply for/obtain the Board’s Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician  license.  You must take and pass a national certification exam and apply to become licensed as a Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician prior to your expiration date to continue working as a technician.

Pharmacy Technicians and Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technicians must be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or GED per Oregon Administrative Rule 855-025-0005 (1).

  
To be licensed as a Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician, you must: 

  • Have a high school diploma or GED at the time the Board issues the license; 
  • Take and pass a national certification exam through PTCB or NHA;    
    National Healthcareer Association 
    (ExCPT)  
    800-499-9092 
    http://www.nhanow.com/
    Pharmacy Technician 
    Certification Board (PTCB) 
    800-363-8012 
    www.ptcb.org 

                                                                                          
    NOTE:  Testing is NOT offered by the Oregon Board of Pharmacy.

You must contact PTCB or NHA for all information on testing and certification.
  
  • Once you have received your national certification, apply for and receive your Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician license. We will run a national fingerprint-based criminal background check in conjunction with this application. We recommend that you submit the complete application at least 4 weeks before your current license expires. 
  
You WILL NOT be allowed to work as a pharmacy technician after your license expires unless you have received your Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician license. 
  
Back to Top

FACILITIES

Nonprescription Drug Outlet Registration Applications   

List of Active Drug Distribution Agents, Wholesalers, and Manufacturers licensed in Oregon - Updated 10/24/18


Retail & Institutional Drug Outlets 
  
NOTICE TO ALL NEW APPLICANTS:  
In addition to submitting an Oregon application and fee, all out-of state Retail Drug Outlets, Drug Distribution Agents, Manufacturers and Wholesalers must include license verification from their resident state.  This is required for all new outlet applications, location changes, and name changes. 
  
New or relocated pharmacies must submit a floor plan. The floor plan may be hand drawn but it must be drawn to scale.  Your floor plan must include the location of the following:  refrigerator, sink, windows, and doors.  Please also indicate how the windows and doors are secured. 

  
Wholesalers & Manufacturers & Drug Distribution Agents

 

List of Active Drug Distribution Agents, Wholesalers, and Manufacturers licensed in Oregon - Updated 10/24/18

  
In addition to submitting an Oregon application and fee, all out-of state Retail Drug Outlets, Drug Distribution Agents, Manufacturers and Wholesalers must include license verification from their resident state.  This is required for all new outlet applications, location changes, and name changes.   

 
If you have questions, please email the Board at pharmacy.licensing@oregon.gov​
   

Other Establishment Registrations
Back to Top

ADMINISTRATIVE FEES

In accordance with OAR 855-110-0015(4), the Board of Pharmacy establishes the following schedule of Administrative Fees:   
  
These fees are in addition to the licensing fees listed in OAR 855-110.​
Back to Top

ACTIVE LICENSE STATISTICS

As of December 1, 2018 

Animal Euthanasia 25
Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician 6272
Charitable Pharmacy 12
Community Health Clinic 125
Consulting / Drugless Pharmacy 11
Controlled Substance 2000
Correctional Facility 53
Dispensing Practitioner Drug Outlet 29
Drug Distribution Agent 261
Federal Preceptor 33
Home Dialysis Drug Outlet 6
Hospital Drug Room 20
Institutional Drug Outlet 143
Intern 875
Manufacturer 1068
Med Device/Equip/Gases-C 478
Non-Pharmacist Preceptor 2
Non-Prescript Drug Outlet-A 2853
Non-Prescript Drug Outlet-B 53
Non-Prescript Drug Outlet-D 1
Non-Prescript Drug Outlet-E 1
Pharmacist 8267
Pharmacy Technician 1396
Preceptor 3274
Precursor 10
Prophylactic/Contraceptive 13
Remote Dispensing Machine 1
Remote Distribution Facility 4
Retail Drug Outlet 1382
Supervising Physician Dispensing Outlet 47
Volunteer Limited Liability 3
Wholesaler - Class III 147
Wholesaler - Nonprescription 124
Wholesaler with Prescription 460
TOTAL: 29449

 

 

 

Back to Top