Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

News and Events
Oregon's Board of Pharmacy Receives National Award and Oregon's Executive Director Assumes National Presidency
Oregon's Board of Pharmacy Receives National Award
Oregon's Board of Pharmacy Receives National Award
Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s Executive Director, Gary Schnabel, has begun his term as the president of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) at the annual meeting held May 16-19, 2009 in Miami, Florida.  During his presidency, Mr. Schnabel is committed to advancing the practice and regulation of pharmacy with a focus on patient safety and integration of pharmacist care.  The work done on behalf of NABP translates into policy focus areas for Oregon and helps to ensure that Oregon remains at the forefront of pharmacy care issues for the citizens of Oregon. 
Mr. Schnabel was sworn in as the 105th NABP president after serving a one-year term as the Association's president-elect and one year as treasurer.  Prior to that, Mr. Schnabel served as a member of the NABP Executive Committee.  After his presidency concludes, he will serve a one-year term as chairperson of the Association's Executive Committee.  Additionally, Cathryn Lew, current Oregon Board of Pharmacy President, was re-elected to serve a three-year term on the Executive Committee of the NABP.
Oregon was also honored to receive the coveted Fred T. Mahaffey Award which is awarded to a Board of Pharmacy in recognition of its exemplary service and dedication to the NABP mission of protecting the public health.  In July 2006, Oregon became the first state at adopt a rule requiring prescriptions for all pseudoephedrine products in an attempt to reduce methamphetamines being manufactured and abused across the state.  From July 2006 to December 2008, the Oregon State Board of Pharmacy saw a 95% reduction in methamphetamine laboratories throughout the state.   Accepting the award on the Board's behalf was Oregon State board of pharmacy public member Bernie Foster.