Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

There are 3 ways to become licensed as a pharmacist in Oregon.

Please see the application specific to your method of licensure for additional instructions, fee information and a licensure checklist.
 
1.  If you have been licensed as a pharmacist in another state, and you meet all of the requirements listed in the rules and statutes listed below, you will apply for licensure via Reciprocity (Licensure Transfer).  If you are applying for licensure via reciprocity, click HERE for the application.   

                                     Oregon Revised Statute 689.265
                                     Oregon Administrative Rule 855-019-0130
 
Note:  If you are a Foreign Pharmacy Graduate or a PGY1 or PGY2 and have not been licensed as a pharmacist for one full year, please contact the Oregon Board of Pharmacy for more information on how to apply for licensure by Reciprocity.
 
 
2.  If you have graduated from a School or College of Pharmacy and wish to have Oregon as your primary state of licensure, you will apply for licensure via NAPLEX.  If you are applying for licensure via NAPLEX with Oregon as your primary state, click HERE for the application.
 
 
3.  If you graduated from a School or College of Pharmacy and took the NAPLEX for a state other than Oregon and have requested to have your NAPLEX score transferred to Oregon, you will apply for licensure via Score Transfer.  If you are applying for licensure via Score Transfer, click HERE for the application.
 
Please read the following information carefully. Failure to follow the steps below in order, will lengthen the time it takes to complete the licensing process. 
 
For all methods of licensure, you must complete the exam process through NABP BEFORE you are eligible to apply for licensure in Oregon.   
  
The NABP exam fees and additional information can be found on NABP’s Registration Bulletin.  You can reach NABP at (847) 391-4406 or https://nabp.pharmacy/programs/.
 
 
Additional Oregon Licensure Information
 
Transcripts Required for all applicants.   You will need to obtain an official transcript from the pharmacy school from which you graduated.  
The Oregon Board of Pharmacy requires an official transcript from the pharmacy school prior to licensure for all applicants.    Transcripts for the Oregon Board of Pharmacy can be sent to transcripts.pharmacy@oregon.gov, or mailed to:
 
                        Oregon Board of Pharmacy
                        800 NE Oregon St., STE 150
                        Portland, OR 97232
 
NAPLEX AND SCORE TRANSFER APPLICANTS ONLY:
Transcripts must also be sent to NABP.  You may request that the school send the transcript electronically to transcripts@nabp.pharmacy/.
 
This is a NABP requirement to determine your eligibility to take the exam(s).  You must also provide Confirmation from your school/college of pharmacy that you have completed 1,440 School-based Rotational Internship hours.   (If you graduated with a Pharmacy degree prior to 2011 and you have never been licensed in another state, please contact the Oregon Board of Pharmacy for more information.) Take and pass the applicable exam(s)
 
Oregon MPJE scores are valid 6 months from test date. Passing NAPLEX scores are valid 1 year from test date.     You will need to become licensed prior to the earliest score expiration to avoid completing the process again.  
 
 
If you have not yet passed the applicable exam(s) DO NOT SUBMIT AN APPLICATION OR DOCUMENTS OTHER THAN TRANSCRIPTS TO THE OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY.
 
 
Complete the Oregon Pharmacist Licensure Application that is applicable to your method of licensure and mail to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy with the required documents and fees listed below.
  •  Notarized Application
  • An original 2”x2” passport/visa style photograph taken within the past 6 months
    You can obtain a photo at Walgreens, Fred Meyer/Kroger, Costco, Rite Aid, AAA, or other places that offer Passport Photo services.
  • A copy of your birth certificate (issued from the vital records office in the state in which you were born) AND a color copy of the front and back of a state issued photo ID, OR a color copy of your U.S. Passport.
    • If you were born outside the United States, you can submit a color copy of your country passport and work visa, country passport and Employment Authorization Document (EAD), or country birth certificate and naturalization document or residency card. 
  • If you have been arrested or cited for violations of the law other than simple traffic infractions such as speeding or parking tickets, you must provide the following items:
    • A written explanation of the circumstances in detail;
    • Copies of all police reports. Contact the police agency(ies) involved for police reports;
    • Court documents. Contact the court for court documents; and
      Other related documents.
Failure to provide these records with your application will lengthen the time it takes to process your application. Refusal to provide these records will make your application incomplete, and ineligible for processing.  The review of your documentation may lengthen the application processing time.  If you have previously reported and provided the required documentation on a previous application, you do not need to resubmit the documentation.
 
Once your application, licensing fees and fingerprint processing fee* are received, you will receive the information you need in order to schedule an appointment to complete a National Fingerprint Based Background Check.  This will be emailed to you.
 
*There is an additional $12.50 Fieldprint fee that is required when you schedule your appointment to be fingerprinted at a Fieldprint facility near you.   Your fingerprints will be electronically submitted to the Oregon State Police and the results will be sent to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy.  Please allow an average of 10-15 days for the processing of your fingerprints by the Oregon State Police.
 
If you have completed the fingerprint process for the Oregon Board of Pharmacy for an intern license within the last 12 months, you do not have to complete the process or pay the fee again.    All fees are non-refundable.
  
If you have any questions regarding the licensure process, please email the Oregon Board of Pharmacy at:  pharmacy.board@oregon.gov.
 
 
Back to Top