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REACTIVATION EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
 

OREGON REAL ESTATE AGENCY 

1177 Center Street NE 

Salem, Oregon 97301-2505 

(503) 378-4170 
____________________________________________________________________________________

 

WHO NEEDS TO TAKE THE 

EXAM 

 

A licensee whose license has been 

inactive for two or more consecutive 

years preceding the request to reactivate 

must pass the reactivation exam.  
 

REACTIVATION EXAM 

PROCESS 

 

The Agency contracts with an exam 

services provider, PSI Examination 

Services (PSI), to conduct computer-

based examinations at testing centers 

throughout Oregon.  

 

Applicants must register, schedule, pay 

and take the exam with PSI. Detailed 

exam procedures are provided in the 

Candidate Information Bulletin available 

from PSI’s website at 

www.psiexams.com. 
 

Fees. Reactivation examinations  

are $75. 

  

Scheduling an Appointment to Take 

the Exam. Scheduling your exam 

appointment via the Internet at 

www.psiexams.com is the fastest and 

most convenient way to register. 

 

 

 

 

 

To schedule an exam by phone, call  

1-800-733-9267 (1-800-R-E-EXAMS). 

Customer service representatives are 

available Monday through Friday, 

between 5:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Pacific 

Standard Time. An automated phone 

system with a touch-tone phone is 

available 24 hours a day.  

  

If space is available at the Test Center of 

your choice, you may be able to schedule 

your exam for the next business day. 

Please be prepared to have alternative 

exam appointment choices. 

 

Examination Time Limit. The time 

limit is 72 minutes to complete 

reactivation exam.  

 

Canceling and Rescheduling an Exam 

Appointment. You may cancel and 

reschedule an exam appointment without 

forfeiting the exam fee if your 

cancellation notice is received two full 

business days before the scheduled 

examination date. For example, a 

Thursday appointment cancellation 

notice would need to be received by PSI 

by the close of business on the previous 

Tuesday. To cancel and reschedule an 

exam appointment, you may:  

 

• Use the Internet at 

www.psiexams.com; 

http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.psiexams.com/
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• Call PSI at 1-800-733-9267 (1-800-

R-E-EXAMS), Monday through 

Friday between 5:00 a.m. and 5:00 

p.m. Pacific Standard Time to speak 

to a customer service representative; 

• Fax a note to 1-702-932-2666; or 

• Use the automated phone system, 

using a touch-tone phone, 24 hours a 

day.  

Please note: A voice mail message is not 

an acceptable form of cancelation.  
 

Missed Appointment or Late 

Cancellation. You will forfeit the 

examination fee and must schedule and 

pay for another exam if you: 

• Do not cancel an exam appointment 

two full business days before the 

scheduled examination date; 

• Do not appear for your scheduled 

exam appointment; 

• Arrive after the scheduled 

examination start time; or 

• Do not present proper identification 

upon arrival at the Test Center. 

 

Alternative Exam Arrangements. In 

accordance with the Americans with 

Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990, the Real 

Estate Agency and the PSI testing 

centers are equipped to provide 

reasonable accommodation to meet an 

applicant’s special needs. Applicants 

should notify PSI at the time of 

registration if special arrangements are 

needed. PSI may request supporting 

documentation of the circumstances 

surrounding the special arrangement 

request. 
 

TIPS FOR PREPARING FOR 

YOUR EXAM 
 

The emphasis of the examination is on 

basic concepts of real estate and on 

current laws, including administrative 

rules and regulations. Prior to 

examination, applicants should 

thoroughly review their knowledge of 

real estate practice, Oregon real estate 

laws and rules, and real estate finance.  
 

Study of the following material before 

taking the exam will be helpful: 
 

A. Oregon Real Estate License Law 

(ORS 696) and Oregon Administrative 

Rules (Chapter 863). 
 

B. Real estate textbooks in Law, 

Finance, Practices and Property 

Management. It is advisable to review 

the textbooks or other material you 

studied to obtain your license, paying 

special attention to basic concepts.  
 

Textbooks and materials on real estate 

are available from libraries, private real 

estate schools, community college and 

university bookstores, and directly from 

publishing companies.  

 

DESCRIPTION OF THE 

EXAMINATIONS 
 

All reactivation exams consist of 48 

multiple-choice questions. A score of 

75% (36 questions) is required to pass. 

The following are the major content 

areas and the approximate percentage of 

questions that will be included in each 

area. 

 

Broker Reactivation: 
 

A. General Real Estate Law (23%) 
 

Questions in this area cover: agency 

relationships; contracts, including listing 

agreements, earnest money agreements, 

and options; nature of real property; 

forms of ownership. 
 

B. Real Estate Finance (19%) 
 

The questions in this section include: 

government lending laws; financing 

instruments such as mortgages, trust 

deeds and land sales contracts; 
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government financing programs; 

conventional financing; foreclosure; 

exchanging; appraisal of real property. 
 

C. Special Fields (6%) 

 

The questions in this area contain such 

topics as: local, state and federal 

government land rights; Federal Fair 

Housing law; property management. 
 

D. License Laws (31%) 
 

Questions in this area cover: Oregon 

Revised Statute chapter 696 and Oregon 

Administrative Rules chapter 863, 

divisions 14 through 25. 
 

E. Control Laws (21%) 
 

The questions in area include: 

assessment and taxation of real property;  

Oregon Veterans’ Farm and Home Loan 

Program; Residential Landlord and 

Tenant Law (ORS 90); Subdivisions and 

Partitions (ORS 92); Condominium Act 

(ORS 100); Oregon water rights; 

construction lien law (ORS 87); Oregon 

discrimination statute (ORS 659); 

Oregon Trust Deed Act (ORS 86); deed 

forms. 
 

Property Manager Reactivation: 
 

A. Real Estate License Law and Rules 

(35%) 

Questions in this area include: License 

Law and Administrative Rules as they 

apply to property managers, in particular, 

recordkeeping, clients’ trust accounts 

and reconciliation. 
 

B. Residential Landlord and Tenant 

Act (25%) 
 

Questions in this area cover: rights and 

obligations of landlords and tenants; 

evictions; forcible entry and detainer 

procedures; anti-discrimination statutes, 

federal and state; Fair Credit Reporting 

Act as applied to tenant selection. 
 

C. Basic Real Property Law (10%) 

 

Questions include: types of estates and 

forms of ownership; nature of real 

property versus personal property; 

fixtures, emblements and water rights. 
 

D. Real Estate Contracts (10%) 

 

Questions cover: property management 

agreements; rental agreements and 

leases. 
 

E. Agency Relationships (10%) 

 

Questions include: law of agency and 

how it affects the relationship between 

property manager and owner. 

 

 

F. Transfer of Title (5%) 
 

Questions include: Voluntary and 

involuntary transfers; encumbrances, 

including easements and liens; ways to 

legally describe real property. 

 

G. Types of Leases (5%) 
 

Questions cover: common lease clauses 

and types of leases. 

 

TEST CENTER INFORMATION 
 

Test Center Closing for an 

Emergency. In the event that severe 

weather or another emergency forces the 

closure of a Test Center on a scheduled 

examination date, your examination will 

be rescheduled. PSI personnel will 

attempt to contact you in this situation. 

However, you may check the status of 

your examination appointment by calling 

PSI at 1-800-733-9267 (1-800-R-E-

EXAMS). PSI will make every effort to 
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reschedule your examination at a 

convenient time as soon as possible. 

 

Test Center Locations. Reactivation 

examinations are administered at PSI 

Test Centers in Baker City, Bend, 

Eugene, Independence, Medford, 

Portland. Specific locations and driving 

directions will be provided by PSI. All 

centers are open Saturdays, and some 

offer evening sessions. If there is a 

demand, additional testing sessions may 

be added. 
  

Reporting to the Test Center to Take 

Your Exam. On the day of the exam, 

you must arrive at least 30 minutes 

before your scheduled examination 

appointment time. This extra time is for 

sign-in, identification, and becoming 

familiar with the examination process. If 

you do not arrive at your scheduled 

exam appointment time, you may not be 

admitted to the Test Center and will 

forfeit your examination fee. You would 

then need to register and pay for another 

exam. 
 

Required Identification at Test 

Center. You must provide valid photo 

identification at the Test Center. The 

identification must include a photograph, 

the name under which you registered for 

the exam, and signature. Examples of 

acceptable photo identification are a 

driver’s license, a passport, a military ID, 

or an employee identification card.  

 

If you do not possess photo identification 

you may apply at any field office of the 

Department of Motor Vehicles for a 

“non-driver identification card.” 

 

Please note: If you recently changed 

your name (e.g. married), or if your last 

name includes a generation indicator 

(e.g. Jr., III), be sure that the name that 

appears on your photo identification is 

the same name you registered for the 

exam.  

 

If you cannot provide the required 

identification, you must call PSI at 1-

800-733-9267 (1-800-R-E-EXAMS) at 

least three weeks prior to your scheduled 

exam appointment to arrange a way to 

meet this security requirement. Failure 

to provide the required identification at 

the time of the examination without 

notifying PSI is considered a missed 

appointment, and you will not be able to 

take the examination. You would need to 

register and pay for another exam. 

 

After you sign-in and present the 

required identification, the proctor will 

provide you with scratch paper and a 

Test Question Review Sheet. The 

proctor will retain your ID until you 

complete the exam and return the exam 

materials.  

 

Security Procedures. The examinations 

are closed book. You will not be allowed 

to bring any reference materials to the 

Test Center. Applicants need to bring a 

nonprogrammable calculator that is 

silent, battery-operated, does not have 

paper tape printing capabilities, and does 

not have a keyboard containing the 

alphabet. 

 

The following security procedures will 

apply during the examination: 

 

• Notes or books are not allowed. 

• You may not exit the building during 

the examination. 

• Cell phones, pagers, purses, and 

children are not allowed in the Test 

Center. 

• Only nonprogrammable calculators 

that are silent, battery-operated, do 

not have paper tape printing 

capabilities, and do not have a 

keyboard containing the alphabet 

will be permitted. 
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• Smoking, eating, or drinking is not 

allowed in the testing room. You will 

be permitted to take a food or 

beverage break in the lobby area.  

• Copying or communicating 

examination content is a violation of 

security regulations and may result in 

the disqualification of examination 

results.  

 

TAKING THE EXAMINATION 
 

Detailed exam procedures are provided 

in the Candidate Information Bulletin 

available from PSI’s website at 

www.psiexams.com. 

 

AFTER THE EXAM 
 

Score Reporting. A score of 75% or 

better is required to pass the reactivation 

examinations. Passing scores are valid 

for one year from the date of passing. 

You must complete all reactivation 

requirements by that time or you will be 

required to retake the examination.  

 

Your score will be given to you 

immediately following completion of the 

examination. Your score results are sent 

electronically to the Real Estate Agency 

within 3 business days. The following 

summary describes the score reporting 

process: 
 

On Screen – Your score will appear 

immediately on the computer screen. 

This will happen automatically at the 

end of the time allowed for the exam; if 

you are using review features, you will 

be able to obtain your score immediately 

when you indicate that you have finished 

and would like to see your results. 
 

On Paper – An official score report (pass 

or fail) will be printed at the examination 

site. This report will include a diagnostic 

report indicating your strengths and 

weaknesses by examination topic. The 

official score report is for your records. 

Do not send it to the Real Estate Agency.  
 

If you do not pass –You can retake the 

exam by contacting PSI to schedule an 

appointment and paying the appropriate 

fee. 
   

If you pass the exam, you must 

completed your continuing education,  

complete the “Reactivate My License” 

process in eLicense, and pay the required 

reactivation fee. You then have 30 days 

for a principal broker to associate you to 

a real estate business.  

 

REVIEW OF EXAM QUESTIONS 
  

Applicant Comments. The Real Estate 

Agency and PSI consistently evaluate the 

examinations being administered to 

ensure the exams accurately measure 

competency in the required knowledge 

areas.  

 

Examinees are provided a Test Question 

Review Sheet at the Test Center to 

record any comments regarding the 

questions and the examinations. These 

comments are welcome and will be 

analyzed by the Agency and PSI 

examination development staff.  

 

While the Agency or PSI may not 

respond to individuals regarding these 

comments, all substantive comments are 

reviewed. If an error affecting 

examination scores is discovered as a 

result, which occurs very rarely, the 

examination scores of all affected 

applicants will be automatically 

adjusted. This is the only review of 

examination materials available to 

applicants. 
 

 

 

 

http://www.psiexams.com/
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CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

You must complete the required 

continuing education prior to finishing 

the reactivation process in eLicense.  

 

Please view the Real Estate Licensee 

Resources section of the Agency’s 

website at www.oregon.gov/rea for a 

detailed explanation of continuing 

education requirements. 

 

WHAT LAW REQUIRES THE 

REACTIVATION EXAM? 
 

The legal authority for the reactivation 

exam requirement can be found in  

Oregon Revised Statutes 696.235 and 

the Oregon Administrative Rule  

863-015-0065. 
 

MORE INFORMATION 
 

Contact the Agency at (503) 378-4170 or 

orea.info@state.or.us if you have any 

questions. 
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