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Coming Soon

Report Your Continuing 
Education Anytime
Gene Bentley, Real Estate Commissioner

As part of the active li-
cense renewal process in 
eLicense, you must enter 

specific information for each 
continuing education course you 
took.  You also must show that you 
completed at least 30 hours from 

certified continuing education providers, 
including the 3-hour Law and Rule Re-
quired Course (LARRC).  

Currently, you are limited to entering 
this information only during your license 
renewal month. But some licensees have 
expressed an interest in entering continu-
ing education information anytime during 
their license term, not just during their 
renewal month. 

The Oregon Real Estate Agency has 
been hard at work with the developers of 
eLicense to make “anytime continuing 
education reporting” available this fall.   
This will allow you to add, edit, or remove 
courses in eLicense at any time during your 

license term. 
More information on the timeline and 

“how-to” resources for “anytime continu-
ing education reporting” will be made 
available in the next Oregon Real Estate 
News-Journal and other Agency commu-
nications.

Self-Reporting Your 
Continuing Education

Currently, you must input information 
about your continuing education into 
eLicense during your license renewal 
month. (This is the same month in 
which your birthday falls.)

For more information on this require-
ment, please visit Continuing Educa-
tion FAQs on the Agency’s website.

www.rea.state.or.us
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/EDU/Pages/CE-Audit-FAQ.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/EDU/Pages/CE-Audit-FAQ.aspx
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Great reasons to attend the

Oregon Real Estate Board 
Meeting in Roseburg

October 6, 2014, 10:00 a.m. 
Event Center on Edenbower

•	 Meet the Board and learn how they work with the Oregon Real 
Estate Agency.

•	 Learn how the Agency operates. 
•	 Talk with Agency staff and get your questions answered.

Visit the Real Estate Board webpage for more infomation 

Sign Up to Recieve 
Alerts on New Scams 
Receive e-mail or Twitter alerts with important consumer information 
from the Oregon Department of Justice.

The Oregon Scam Alert Network was developed to let the public know about emerging 
predatory scams. The network was created in cooperation with Oregon Department of 
Justice, the Department of Consumer and Business Services, Oregon District Attorneys’ 
Association, Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association, Oregon Association of Police Chiefs, 
AARP and Elders in Action. 

To be notified of emerging scams, fraud and other consumer threats, sign up to receive 
e-mail alerts or follow @oregonscamalert on Twitter.

http://eventsonedenbower.wordpress.com/
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/Pages/board_meeting.aspx
http://www.doj.state.or.us/consumer/pages/scam_alert.aspx
http://www.doj.state.or.us/consumer/pages/scam_alert.aspx
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Agency Randomly Audits 
Clients’ Trust Accounts
Principal brokers and property managers must reconcile 
clients’ trust accounts accounts monthly. 

The Oregon Real Estate Agency randomly 
selects clients’ trust accounts to audit. It 
is looking to see that accounts are being 
maintained correctly under Oregon Real 
Estate License Law and the applicable 
rules.

When do you need a clients’ 
trust account?

Property managers must have at least 
one clients’ trust account opened and 
maintained in Oregon. If they keep tenant 
securty deposits, property managers must 
open and maintain at least one separate 
account for security deposits.

Principal brokers must have a clients’ 
trust account if they conduct property 
management. For sales transactions, prin-
cipal brokers are required to have a clients’ 
trust account if they do not deposit earnest 
money directly into a neutral escrow ac-
count per ORS 696.241.

Properly maintained trust 
accounts protect your clients’ 
funds.

If you have clients’ trust accounts or se-
curity deposit accounts, maintaining them 
is an important part of your job. You are 
tasked with protecting your clients’ funds.  
One of the ways you do this is by conduct-
ing a required three-way reconciliation for 
each account each month.

Monthly reconciliations make 
finding mistakes easier. And it’s 
required by law.

Failure to reconcile accounts and resolve 
any discrepancies each month makes it 

harder to find where a mistake, if any, was 
made.

If the Agency discovers that a licensee 
failed to reconcile a clients’ trust account 
bank statement with the check register and 
the owner ledgers (or tenent ledgers, for 
security deposit accounts), the licensee 
could be at risk for disciplinary action.

Notify the Agency of changes 
to clients’ trust accounts.

The Agency must be notified every time 
you open, move or close a clients’ trust 
account. Notification is done by logging 
in to your personal eLicense account and 
updating the list of trust accounts.

Keep your reconciliation 
records available in case you 
are audited.

Monthly reconciliations must be main-
tained as part of your complete records of 
professional real estate activity. 

If you are selected for a random clients’ 
trust account audit, you must provide 
the requested month’s reconciliation and 
respond to any other requests from the 
Agency. Failure to do so may result in 
disciplinary action against your license.

Where to find additional 
information.

•	 Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 
696.241

•	 Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 
863-015-0255 and 863-025-0025 
through 863-025-0040

•	 T h e  A g e n c y ’ s  w e b s i t e  a t  
www.oregon.gov/rea. 

http://www.oregon.gov/rea
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You’ve Got Mail. But Are You 
Getting Mail from the Agency?
Failing to update your  
e-mail address in 
eLicense can result 
in missed notices — 
and is against the 
law.

E-mail is the main way the 
Oregon Real Estate Agency 
communicates with you. This 
includes eLicense activity 
verifications, transfer notices, 
and, most importantly, license 
renewal notices. 

Report E-Mail Address 
Changes in 10 Days

In the course of life, events 
may take place that could 
result in a new e-mail ad-
dress. License law requires you to notify 
the Agency within 10 calendar days of any 
e-mail or mailing address changes. Notifica-
tion is done through eLicense.

Not Receiving Renewal E-mail Is 
Not an Excuse for Not Renewing

The most common problem caused by not 
keeping an updated e-mail address with the 
Agency is that the licensee doesn’t receive a 
license renewal notice. The license expires, 
but the licensee doesn’t know. The licensee 
continues to conduct professional real estate 
activity, which violates the law. 

Oregon Real Estate License law allows 
the Agency to impose a fine on licensees 
who do not renew their license on time but 
continue to work. Civil penalties range from 
$100 to $500 for the first 30 days and $500 
to $1000 for each additional 30-day period. 
So far this year, the Agency has taken ad-
ministrative action on 32 licensees, issuing 
over $33,000 in fines.  

Here are two ideas for keeping your e-
mail address with the Agency up-to-date.

Confirm Your E-mail Regularly

Log in to your eLicense account to check 
that the e-mail address on file is correct. Ac-
cess to eLicense can be found at the Agency’s 
home page. Log in with your license number 
and your password. Then review your e-mail 
and mailing address. If it’s not correct, you 
can edit it right there in eLicense.

Be Aware of Events that Result in 
E-mail Changes

E-mail addresses changes can occur 
because you change employers, you move, 
or you just don’t like your current e-mail 
service provide anymore. 

In any case, it is your responsibility to 
make sure you are receiving communica-
tions sent by the Agency. 
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ADVANCED PRACTICES
WHO NEEDS IT?

You must take:
•	 The 27-hour  

Advanced Real Estate 
Practices course 

•	 The 3-hour LARRC

You must take: 
•	 The 27-hour Property  

Manager Advanced  
Practices course

•	 The 3-hour LARRC

You must take the 3-hour 
Law and Rule Required 
Course course from a 
certified	provider	for	every 
license renewal. 

NEW BROKERS NEW PROPERTY MANAGERS ALL LICENSES

Continuing Education Reporting at License Renewal
All licensees must enter continuing education course information into eLicense at license re-

newal. This includes information from your Advanced Practices and LARRC certificates.

Be prepared for license renewal by gathering up all your certificates and entering them into the 
Continuing Education Record form before before you log in to eLicense.

You are NOT required to take an Advanced Practices course if:

•	 You are a principal broker.
•	 You are a broker who has renewed an active license at least once.
•	 You are a property manager who has renewed an active license at least once.
•	 You are renewing your license inactive. 

a New Brokers  
Renewing Active For 1st Time

a New Property Managers  
Renewing Active For 1st Time



Oregon Real Estate News-JournalSeptember 20146	

The Agency is required by Oregon 
Real Estate License Law to pub-
lish disciplinary actions. A list of 
those actions are listed below. The 
final order for each action can be 
viewed by clicking on the named 
individual.

Please note, there are individu-
als with real estate licenses that 
may have similar or the same 
names as those listed below, even 
in the same market area. If you are 
in doubt if an individual listed here 
is someone you know or with whom 
you are working, please contact the Agency for verification.

Finally, please note that stipulated settlements do not necessarily reflect all the factual 
violations initially alleged by the Agency, and the sanction(s) may have been adjusted as 
part of the negotiation process. Such settlements may not, therefore, directly compare in 
severity/sanction with other cases.

SUSPENSIONS
Fitzgerald, Gerard (Grants Pass)	
Principal Broker 891200245.Default Order 
dated June 24, 2014, issuing an immediate 
suspension.

Christianson, Mark (Beaverton)	Principal 
Broker 891000114.Stipulated Order dated 
July 9, 2014, issuing a six-month suspen-
sion.

CIVIL PENALTIES
Expired - Late Renewals 

Civil penalties for late renewals are com-
puted using each 30-day period as a single 
offense. The civil penalty for the first 30-day 
period can range from $100-$500, with each 
subsequent 30-day period ranging from 
$500-$1,000. (ORS 696.990)

Erickson, Diana (Portland) Broker, 
199910014. Stipulated Order dated May 
28, 2014, issuing a $1100 Civil Penalty.

Roberts, Antoinette (Ashland) Broker 
780900035. Stipulated order dated May 28, 
2014, issuing a $600 Civil Penalty.
 
Baratta, Michaeline (Lake Oswego) Broker 
890500065. Stipulated order dated May 28, 
2014, issuing a $600 Civil Penalty.

Like, Leslie (Hillsboro) Broker 821000051. 
Stipulated order dated June 10, 2014 issuing 
a $100 Civil Penalty.

Healy, Jeanine (Jacksonville) Broker 
200311176, Stipulated order dated June 16, 
2014 issuing a $1050  Civil Penalty.

Dunlap, Gregory (Portland) Principal  
Broker 960900082. Stipulated order dated 
June 23, 2014 Issuing a $1600 Civil Penalty.

Unlicensed Activity

Porter, Matthew (Molalla) Property Manager 
201207843. Stipulated order dated June 10, 
2014 issuing a $250 Civil Penalty.

Administrative Actions
May 15, 2014 through July 22, 2014

http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_August_2014/Fitzgerald_Gerard_2014_Default.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_August_2014/Christianson_Mark_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_August_2014/Erickson_Diana_M_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_August_2014/Roberts_Antoinette_M_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_August_2014/Baratta_Michaeline_L_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_August_2014/Like_Leslie_M_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_August_2014/Healy_Jeanine_Suzette.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_August_2014/Dunlap_Gregory_R_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_August_2014/Porter_Matthew_2014.pdf
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How Is the 
Agency Doing?
Share your customer service 
experience and help us improve.

The Oregon Real Estate Agency is con-
ducting a customer service survey to find 
out how we are doing and where we can 
improve. 

To  p a r t i c i p a t e ,  p l e a s e  g o  t o  
https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/3XSB8Q6, 
or  v is i t  the  Agency’s  websi te  a t  
www.oregon.gov/rea.

Licensee 
Honored for 
Assisting 
at Accident 
Scene
Real estate broker Sunny Freeman was 
awarded the Chief’s Coin for Outstanding 
Service by Lake Oswego Police Chief Don 
Johnson. 

On June 30, 2014, Ms. Freeman wit-
nessed a motorcycle accident that sent the 
4-year-old rear passenger into the air. The 
girl hit her head on the pavement before 
coming to a rest in the street. Ms. Freeman 
stopped her vehicle and ran to protect the 
child from oncoming traffic until emer-
gency responders could arrive.

The child is recovering from her injuries.
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