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ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE REDESIGN 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

Q: What is the new name of the Initial, Basic, or Preliminary Administrator License? 
A: Principal Administrator License. 

Q: What is the new name of the Continuing, Standard, or Distinguished Administrator License? 
A: Professional Administrator License. 

Q: What is the scope of the 3 year Principal Administrator License (formerly named Initial, Basic, or 
Preliminary Administrator License)? 

A: The Principal Administrator License allows the holder to work in building-level administrative positions. This 
includes principals, vice-principals, associate or assistant principals, and such other building-level positions, 
regardless of title, that is within the scope of school administrator licensure. 

Q: What is the scope of the 5 year Professional Administrator License (formerly named Continuing, 
Standard, or Distinguished)? 

A: The Professional Administrator License allows the holder to work in district-wide administrative positions. 
This includes superintendents, school administrator assignments at the building or district-level, and any 
substitute teaching assignments. 

Q: How can I reinstate my expired Reciprocal Administrator License? 
A: You can reinstate your expired license by meeting the requirements for the Principal or Professional 

Administrator License (Civil Rights, Oregon Law and Finance, etc.). 

Q: How can I reinstate my expired Initial or Preliminary Administrator License? 
A: You can reinstate your expired license without penalty, additional coursework, or PDUs if you apply for the 

license before August 1, 2022. After that date, you must meet the new requirements for the Principal or 
Professional Administrator License. 

Q: What happens if I reinstate my expired Initial or Preliminary Administrator license after August 1, 
2022?  

A: Reinstating your license after that date will require a review of your progress in your preparation program 
by an Oregon-approved college or university. The institution will determine what additional coursework you 
need to be eligible for the Principal License. 

Q: What are the renewal requirements for the Principal Administrator License (formerly named Initial, 
Basic, or Preliminary Administrator License)? 

A: The Principal Administrator License can be continuously renewed without being required to meet the 
Professional Administrator License requirements. The new renewal requirements of this license are 90 
verified professional development units or to work toward meeting upgrade requirements, 6 graduate 
semester or 9 graduate quarter credits as provided in 584-255-0010 Professional Development 
Requirements. 

Q: What are the renewal requirements for the Professional Administrator License (formerly named 
Continuing, Standard, or Distinguished)? 

A: Complete 120 professional development units or 8 graduate level semester credits or 12 graduate level 
quarter credits as provided in 584-255-0010 Professional Development Requirements. 



 

Teacher Standards and Practices Commission | 250 Division St. NE Salem, OR 97301 | Phone: 503-378-3586 
Admin Redesign FAQs | Page 2 of 3 

  

 
Q: How do I qualify for the Principal Administrator License? 
A: To meet the minimum qualifications for the Principal Administrator License, you must: 

• Have three (3) full years of qualifying licensed experience in a 1.0 FTE assignment or six (6) full years of 
qualifying licensed experience in a .50 FTE or more assignment; 

o Licensed experience must include working directly with students on any license appropriate for 
the assignment. 

o May include teaching, school social worker, school counselor, school psychologist, speech 
language pathologist, school nurse, physical therapist, occupational therapist and other school 
licensed experience. 

• Hold a master’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution in the United States, or the 
foreign equivalent of such degree approved by the Commission; 

• Provide evidence of admission to and completion of a Commission-approved Principal License 
preparation program, or out-of-state equivalent; 

• Complete a course on Oregon School Law and Finance or demonstrate equivalent competency (Oregon 
program completers will automatically meet this requirement because the course is imbedded into all 
approved Oregon administrator programs);  

• Pass the required Protecting Student and Civil Rights in the Educational Environment exam; and 
• Pass a criminal background clearance, including fingerprints, if necessary. 

 
Q: How do I qualify for the Professional Administrator License?  
A: To meet the minimum qualifications for the Professional Administrator License, you must: 

• Have three (3) full years of licensed school administrator experience in a 1.0 FTE assignment or six (6) 
full years of licensed school administrator experience in a .50 FTE or more assignment; 

• Hold a master’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution in the United States, or the 
foreign equivalent of such degree approved by the Commission; 

• Provide evidence of admission to and completion of a Commission-approved Principal License 
preparation program, or out-of-state equivalent; 

• Complete a course on Oregon School Law and Finance or demonstrate equivalent competency (Oregon 
program completers will automatically meet this requirement because the course is imbedded into all 
approved Oregon administrator programs);  

• Pass the required Protecting Student and Civil Rights in the Educational Environment exam; and 
• Pass a criminal background clearance, including fingerprints, if necessary. 

 
Q: How can I work in a district-wide administrative position if I don’t have a Professional Administrator 

License (formerly named Continuing, Standard, or Distinguished)? 
A: You must qualify for the Professional Administrator License in order to continue working in a district-wide 

administrative position.  
• If you hold a Principal License: you can apply for the License for Conditional Assignment to continue 

working at the district level while you work on meeting the requirements for the Professional 
Administrator License. The License for Conditional Assignment can be renewed twice allowing you up to 
three years to meet the Professional Administrator License requirements. 

• If you are a teacher or other licensed school personnel: you can apply for the Restricted Administrator 
License while you work on meeting the Principal License requirements. After you obtain the Principal 
License, you will be eligible for the License for Conditional Assignment outlined above if you need 
additional time to complete the Professional Administrator License requirements. 
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Q: What do I need to know if I’m currently in a Continuing or Professional Administrator Licensure 
Program (CAL/PAL)? 

A: You will not need to meet the new requirements to qualify for the Professional Administrator License if you 
complete your program before August 1, 2022. If you finish your program after that date, then you will need 
to meet the new Professional Administrator License requirements as determined by your Professional 
Administrator preparation program. 

 
Q: What if a teacher is hired to be a Principal, but they don’t have a Principal License? 
A: The teacher would be eligible to hold the Restricted Administrator License for up to three (3) years to meet 

qualifications for the Principal License. 
 
Q: What if a teacher is hired to be both the Principal and Superintendent (or other district-wide 

position), but they don’t have a Principal License? 
A: The teacher would be eligible to hold the Restricted Administrator License for up to three (3) years to meet 

qualifications for the Principal License. Once they qualify for and hold the Principal License, they may be 
eligible for the License for Conditional Assignment (LCA) for up to an additional three (3) years to complete 
the requirements for the Professional Administrator License. 

 
Q: Who should I contact if I have additional questions? 
A: Teacher Standards and Practices Commission 

250 Division St NE | Salem, OR 97301 
Phone: 503-378-3586 | Fax: 503-378-4448 
e-Mail: AdminLicense.tspc@oregon.gov | web: www.oregon.gov/tspc 
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