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KEVIN J. ANDERSON
Licensed in Oregon
Direct Dial: 503.595.2130
kanderson@sbhlegal.com

December 17, 2019

Workers' Compensation Board
2601 25th St. SE, Suite 150
Salem, OR 97302-1282

Re: December 17, 2019 Meeting on Attorney Fee Proposals

Dear Sir/Madam:

Several of the proposed attorney fee rules to be discussed include a
submission of a defense statement of services. Oregon Rules of Profession Conduct
(ORPC) 1.6 (a) mandates an attorney cannot reveal information relating to the
representation of a client unless the client provides informed consent. ORPC 1.6 (b)
(5) allows disclosure of this information to comply with another law.

ORS 656.388(4) states the Workers Compensation Board should take into
consideration the fees earned by defense counsel. The 2015 Staff Measure Summary
of HB 2764 states one of the purposes of the bills was to ensure “attorney fees
awarded to be equitable in aggregate in relation to fees earned by attorneys for
insurers or self-insurers.” (emphasis added). The statute appears focused on the
aggregate defense fees opposed to fees on any particular case.

We would request the Board seek clarification from the Oregon State Bar or
Department of Justice of whether the Board’s authority to consider aggregate fees is
broad enough to require these disclosures without violating any ethical rules and
attorney-client privilege.

In 2017, fees awarded to claimants at hearing averaged over $9,000 for
prevailing over a denial and a little over $4,000 for non-compensability issues.
(Ex. 20-7). Defense costs per claim in the same year averaged around $5,700.
(Ex. 20, appendix 6). Claimants’ attorney fees appear to have consistently increased
despite a drop in overall litigation. Most importantly, it appears the Board’s
collection of defense fees in the aggregate has been achieving HB 2764 goals of
ensuring more equitable awards of attorney fees.

Member Lanning’s proposal properly focuses any changes on clarifying what
the claimants’ attorney has done on a file to merit their requested fee. If the Board
does move forward with requiring a defense statement of services, we would ask
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that claimants’ attorneys also be required to submit this information and the
information from both sides be limited to the issue in litigation. Any disclosure
procedures should also minimize the inadvertent or unauthorized disclosure of
protected information in compliance with ORPC 1.6(c).
Thank you for your consideration.
Sincerely,

Kevin J. Anderson

KJA:kms
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(2) a contingent fee for representing a defendant in
a criminal case; or

(3) a fee denominated as "earned on receipt,"
"nonrefundable" or in similar terms unless it is
pursuant to a written agreement signed by the
client which explains that:

(i) the funds will not be deposited into the lawyer
trust account, and

(ii) the client may discharge the lawyer at any time
and in that event may be entitled to a refund of all
or part of the fee if the services for which the fee
was paid are not completed.

(d) A division of a fee between lawyers who are not in
the same firm may be made only if:

(1) the client gives informed consent to the fact
that there will be a division of fees, and

(2) the total fee of the lawyers for all legal services
they rendered the client is not clearly excessive.

(e} Paragraph (d) does not prohibit payments to a
former firm member pursuant to a separation or
retirement agreement, or payments to a selling lawyer
for the sale of a law practice pursuant to Rule 1.17.

Adopted 01/01/05
Amended 12/01/10: Paragraph(c)(3) added.
Defined Terms (see Rule 1.0):

"Firm*

"Informed Consent”
"Matter”
"Reasonable”

Comparison to Oregon Code

Paragraphs (a), (b) and (c)(1) and (2) are taken directly
from DR 2-106, except that paragraph (a) is amended to
include the Model Rule prohibition against charging a
“clearly excessive amount for expenses.” Paragraph (c)(3)
had no counterpart in the Code. Paragraph (d) retains
the substantive obligations of DR 2-107(A) but is
rewritten to accommodate the new concepts of
“informed consent” and “clearly excessive.” Paragraph
(e) is essentially identical to DR 2-107(B).

Comparison to ABA Model Rule

ABA Model Rule 1.5(b) requires that the scope of the
representation and the basis or rate of the fees or
expenses for which the client will be responsible be
communicated to the client before or within a
reasonable time after the representation commences,
“preferably in writing.” Model Rule 1.5(c) sets forth
specific requirements for a contingent fee agreement,
including an explanation of how the fee will be
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determined and the expenses for which the client will be
responsible. It also requires a written statement showing
distribution of all funds recovered. Paragraph (c)(3) has
no counterpart in the Model Rule. Model Rule 1.5(e)
permits a division of fees between lawyers only if it is
proportional to the services performed by each lawyer or
if the lawyers assume joint responsibility for the
representation.

RULE 1.6 CONFIDENTIALITY OF INFORMATION

(a) A lawyer shall not reveal information relating to the
representation of a client unless the client gives
informed consent, the disclosure is impliedly authorized
in order to carry out the representation or the
disclosure is permitted by paragraph (b).

(b) A lawyer may reveal information relating to the
representation of a client to the extent the lawyer
reasonably believes necessary:

(1) to disclose the intention of the lawyer's client to
commit a crime and the information necessary to
prevent the crime;

(2) to prevent reasonably certain death or
substantial bodily harm;

(3) to secure legal advice about the lawyer's
compliance with these Rules;

(4) to establish a claim or defense on behalf of the
lawyer in a controversy between the lawyer and
the client, to establish a defense to a criminal
charge or civil claim against the lawyer based upon
conduct in which the client was involved, or to
respond to allegations in any proceeding
concerning the lawyer's representation of the
client;

{5) to comply with other law, court arder, or as
permitted by these Rules; or

{6} in connection with the sale of a law practice
under Rule 1.17 or to detect and resolve conflicts of
interest arising from the lawyer’s change of
employment or from changes in the composition or
ownership of a firm. In those circumstances, a
lawyer may disclose with respect to each affected
client the client's identity, the identities of any
adverse parties, the nature and extent of the legal
services involved, and fee and payment
information, but only if the information revealed
would not compromise the attorney-client privilege
or otherwise prejudice any of the clients. The
lawyer or lawyers receiving the information shall
have the same responsibilities as the disclosing
lawyer to preserve the information regardless of
the outcome of the contemplated transaction.
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Seventy-Eighth Oregon Legislative Assembly - 2015 Regular Session MEASURE: HB2764B
STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY CARRIER:  Sen. Rosenbaum
Senate Committee On Workforce

Fiscal: Fiscal impact issued
Revenue: No Revenue Impact
Action Date: 05/27/15
Action: Do Pass With Amendments To The A-Eng Bill. (Printed B-Eng.)
Meeting Dates: 05/13, 05/27
Vote:
Yeas: 3 - Dembrow, Gelser, Rosenbaum

Nays: 2 - Knopp, Thatcher
Prepared By: Matthew Germer, Committee Administrator

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Modifies circumstances under which attorney fees may be awarded and amount of attorney fees in workers’ compensation

claims. Requires interest payment on compensable benefits, attorney fees and costs that are withheld pending an appeal.
Allows attorney fees under certain circumstances for representation related to or before the Director of Department of
Consumer and Business Services. Requires attorney fees awarded to be equitable in aggregate in relation to fees earned by
attorneys for insurers or self-insurers. Directs Board to review attorney fees biennially. Declares emergency, effective on
passage.

ISSULES DISCUSSED:

e Overview of workers’ compensation system

¢ Compromise between management and labor that led to the -A9 amendments
e  Support of Management-Labor Advisory Committee

e Aftormey compensation limits in workers® compensation claims

¢ Complexity involved in certain workers’ compensation claims

e New attorney fees permitted in the measure

e TFunding for attorney fee increase

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:

Removes penalties. Requires attorney fees be proportionate to benefit of injured worker if insurer unreasonably delays or
refuses to pay attorney fees or costs and raises attorney fees cap from $3,000 to $4,000 in such cases. Expands circumstances
in which attorney fee is assessed.

BACKGROUND:
Claimant attorneys are private attorneys hired by injured workers to represent them through the workers’ compensation claims

process. Claimant attorneys cannot be paid directly by the injured worker but instead are paid out of the compensation
awarded to the injured worker or awarded as an assessed fee paid by the insurer or self-insurer based on the adjudicator’s
judgment. There are five broad reasons for which a claimant attorney can be awarded fees: reversing a denial, obtaining an
increase in compensation, obtaining penalties or sanctions, preventing a reduction in compensation, and negotiating
settlements. Some claimant attorney fees are set in statute by the Legislative Assembly and some fees are set through
administrative rule by the Workers Compensation Board. Attorneys representing insurers and self-insurers are compensated
without limits.

This summary has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the Committee.
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