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DEQ Recommendation to EQC
DEQ recommends that the Oregon Environmental Quality Commission:

e Determine that failure to act promptly would result in serious prejudice to the public
interest or the interests of the parties concerned as provided under the Justification
section of this staff report.

e Adopt temporary rule amendments as shown in Attachment A as part of Chapter 340 of
the Oregon Administrative Rules to be effective beginning Jan. 1, 2022.

Proposed motion language:
“I move that the Oregon Environmental Quality Commission determine that failure to act

promptly would result in serious prejudice to the public interest or the interests of the
parties concerned, as provided under the Justification section of this staff report, and
adopt temporary rule amendments as shown in Attachment A of the staff report for this
item as part of Chapter 340 of the Oregon Administrative Rules to be effective beginning

Jan. 1, 2022.”
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Overview

DEQ is proposing temporary revisions to the Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program (OCVRP)
rules contained in OAR Chapter 340, Division 270, to incorporate 2021 Legislative changes
affecting the program. The OCVRP contains two elements. One element provides rebates for the
purchase or lease of eligible new zero-emission vehicles (referred to as Standard rebates) if all
program requirements are met. The second element, referred to as the Charge Ahead rebate,
provides rebates for the purchase or lease of qualifying new or used zero-emission vehicles if the
purchaser or lessee is from a low- or moderate-income household and meets all program
requirements (referred to as Charge Ahead rebates). These proposed rule changes, which apply
to vehicles purchased or leased after Jan. 1, 2022, include:

e Increasing the amount of the Charge Ahead Rebate from $2500 to up to $5000

e Allowing low-income service providers to apply for the Charge Ahead Rebate

e Further defining low-income service provider

e Clarifying how low-income service providers apply for the Charge Ahead rebate

¢ Increasing the manufacturer’s suggested retail price (MSRP) cap for fuel celled vehicles

to $60,000

DEQ is proposing these revisions as temportary rule revisions, which would expire 180 days
after adoption, because the agency’s standard rulemaking procedure includes specific statutory
requirements that, when fulfilled, would not meet the legislative timeline for Jan. 1, 2022,
implementation. DEQ has convened a Rules Advisory Committee for the permanent rule
proposal, and intends to bring the proposed permanent rules for commission action in spring
2022.

Statement of Need

What need is DEQ trying to address?

House Bill 2165 (2021) made changes to the OCVRP, specifically to the Charge Ahead Rebate
program. DEQ needs to adjust its rules to account for these legislative changes to ensure
successful on-going implementation of the program. The 2021 legislation will be going into
effect Jan. 1, 2022, and applies to vehicles purchased or leased after that date. DEQ needs to
have rules in place by that time to ensure that its rules are consistent with the amended
legislation.

How would the proposed rule address the need?

DEQ’s proposed temporary rules will be consistent with the amended legislation and implement
the changes approved by the legislature. DEQ is proposing these revisions as temporary rules to
ensure all eligible Charge Ahead Rebate applicants are able to receive the increased rebate
amount starting with the Jan. 1, 2022, implementation date of the legislation.

Item E 000003



Justification

Finding of serious prejudice

Failing to act promptly will result in serious prejudice to the public interest and to the interests of
the parties concerned because it would result in a program that is inconsistent with requirements
passed by the legislature earlier this year, which become effective Jan. 1, 2022.

Consequences of not taking immediate action

Not immediately amending the proposed rules would cause harm to the the affected parties by
prejudicing the interested parties identified in this document because it would result in
potentially having low- and moderate-income households who qualify for Charge Ahead rebates
receiving a smaller rebate amount than provided in the legislation. This would also cause harm to
the public interest of providing strong incentives for individuals to purchase qualifying electric
vehicles. Additionally, discrepancy in the allowable rebate and eligible parties between DEQ’s
rules and the legislation would create difficulty for DEQ in administrating the program and
create confusion among interested rebate applicants regarding program eligibility.

Affected parties

The members of the public or parties who would be harmed if EQC did not take this action are:

e Charge Ahead Rebate applicants;

e Low-income service providers who could now purchase a new or used eligible
vehicle and receive a Charge Ahead Rebate;

e Automobile dealers that sell or lease new or used qualifying electric vehicles. Dealers
could be affected by increased electric vehicle sales due to the higher Charge Ahead
Rebate amount;

e Automobile manufacturers could be affected by increased electric vehicle sales;

e Oregonians who are interested in purchasing hydrogen fuel-cell vehicles that were not
previously eligible but may now qualify due to the higher MSRP cap;

e Other Oregonians interested in purchasing or leasing a qualifying vehicle under the
OCVRP.

Why or how failing to act immediately would cause the harm described above

The harm described above would occur if EQC does not act immediately for the reasons stated in
the Justification section above, and because absent temporary rules that adjust program
requirements in response to the 2021 legislation, DEQ’s rules would conflict with its authority to
act under the legislation for the OCVRP.

How temporary rule would avoid or mitigate consequences

If EQC adopts the proposed temporary rule amendments, this will prevent the harm described
above because it would clarify program requirements to implement the new legislation. The rules
would allow DEQ to facilitate implementation of the 2021 legislation in a timely and transparent
manner and allow more people to qualify for the Charge Ahead Rebate program. It also allows
potential Charge Ahead Rebate purchasers to receive the increased rebate amount allowed under
the legislation. The rule encourages higher adoption rates of zero-emission vehicles for low- and

Item E 000004



moderate-income households. It also helps reduce air pollution and moves the state towards its
greenhouse gas reduction goals.

Rules Affected, Authorities, Supporting
Documents

Lead division
Air Quality

Program or activity
Air Quality Planning

Chapter 340 action: Amend

Rules Amended - OAR

340-270-0010 ] 340-270-0020 | 340-270-0030 | 340-270-0400 | 340-270-0420

340-270-0430 | 340-270-0500

Statutory authority

Statutory Authority — ORS

ORS 468.020 2017 Or. Laws 2018 Or. Laws 2019 Or. Laws 2021 Or. Laws,
Ch. 750 Sec. Ch. 93, Sec. 18- | Ch. 491, Sec 35- | Ch. 95 88 4a, 5,
148-157 21 37 6,8 and 9

Statute implemented

Statutes Implemented — ORS

2017 Or. Laws 2018 Or. Laws 2019 Or. Laws 2021 Or. Laws,

Ch. 750 Sec. Ch. 93 Sec. 18- | Ch. 491 Sec 35- | Ch. 95, 8§ 44, 5,

148-157 21 37 6,8and 9
Legislation

House Bill 2017 (2017); HB 4059 (2018); HB 2592 (2019); HB 2165 (2021)

Documents relied on for rulemaking

Document title Document location

House Bill 2165 (2021) https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/1iz/20
21R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/H
B2165/Enrolled

2021 Or. Laws ch. 95 https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills
~laws/lawsstatutes/2021orlaw0095.pdf
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https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2021R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2165/Enrolled
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2021R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2165/Enrolled
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2021R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2165/Enrolled

Housing Costs

As ORS 183.534 requires, DEQ evaluated whether the proposed rules would have an effect on
the development cost of a 6,000-square-foot parcel and construction of a 1,200-square-foot
detached, single-family dwelling on that parcel.

DEQ determined the proposed temporary rules would have no effect on the development costs
because they only affect purchasers of zero-emission vehicles and automobile dealers and
manufacturers who sell or produce zero-emission vehicles.

EQC Prior Involvement

DEQ did not present additional information specific to this proposed temporary rule revision.

Implementation

Notification
If approved, the proposed temporary rules would become effective on Jan. 1, 2022. DEQ would
notify affected parties by:
e Emailing approximately 14,800 interested parties on the following DEQ lists through
GovDelivery:
DEQ Public Notices
Rulemaking
Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program
Low Emission/Zero Emission Vehicle Program
o Electric Vehicle Rebate 218 Rulemaking
e Emailing the following key legislators required under ORS 183.335:
o Representative Pam Marsh
o House Speaker Tina Kotek
o Senator Lee Beyer
o Senate President Peter Courtney
e Postings on Twitter and Facebook

o O O O
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State of Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Draft Rules — Edits Highlighted

m (Temporary Rulemaking) Division 270

Key to Identifying Changed Text:
Strikethrough:-Deleted Text

Underline: New/inserted text
Fextdeleted-from-onelocation - and moved to another location

Division 270
ZERO-EMISSION AND ELECTRIC VEHICLE REBATES

340-270-0010
Overview

(1) Purpose. The purpose of this division is to establish a rebate program and eligibility
requirements for the purchase or lease of new or used zero-emission vehicles in Oregon.

(2) Background. The 2017 Oregon Legislature adopted House Bill 2017 that authorizes DEQ
to establish a rebate program for zero-emission vehicles. The 2018 Oregon Legislature
adopted House Bill 4059, which clarified and removed existing requirements. The 2019
Oregon Legislature adopted House Bill 2592, which clarified and removed existing
requirements. The 2021 Oregon Legislature adopted House Bill 2165, 2021 Oregon Laws
chapter 95, which changed existing requirements. OAR division 270 of chapter 340
implements those laws.

(3) Administration. DEQ administers this division in all areas in the state of Oregon,
including the areas of the state subject to the jurisdiction of the Lane County Regional Air
Protection Agency.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill
4059 (2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37

Statutes/Other Implemented: 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill 4059
(2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37, 2021 Or. Laws, Ch. 95, §§8 4a, 5,
6,8and 9

History:

DEQ 2-2020, amend filed 01/24/2020, effective 01/24/2020

DEQ 21-2019, temporary amend filed 09/27/2019, effective 09/29/2019 through 03/26/2020
DEQ 186-2018, adopt filed 05/14/2018, effective 05/14/2018

340-270-0020
Effective Dates
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(1) The rebates for eligible new light-duty zero-emission vehicles and eligible plug-in hybrid
electric vehicles took effect on January 1, 2018.

(2) The rebates for the Charge Ahead Program took effect on January 1, 2018 for light duty
zero emission vehicles. The rebates for the Charge Ahead Program take effect on September
29, 2019 for plug-in hybrid electric vehicles.

(3) The rebates for eligible neighborhood electric vehicles and eligible zero-emission
motorcycles took effect on January 1, 20109.

; Lo i this divici : o524

(45) The effective dates of the program are contingent on appropriate funding.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, ORS
468.020, House Bill 4059 (2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37
Statutes/Other Implemented: 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill 4059
(2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37, 2021 Or. Laws, Ch. 95, §8 4a, 5,
6,8and 9

History:

DEQ 2-2020, amend filed 01/24/2020, effective 01/24/2020

DEQ 21-2019, temporary amend filed 09/27/2019, effective 09/29/2019 through 03/26/2020
DEQ 186-2018, adopt filed 05/14/2018, effective 05/14/2018

340-270-0030
Definitions and Abbreviations

(1) “Area median income” means the median income for the metropolitan statistical area in
which a household is located or, if the household is not located within a metropolitan
statistical area, for the metropolitan statistical area in closest proximity to the location of the
household, as determined by the Housing and Community Services Department, adjusted for
household size.

(2) “Charge Ahead rebate” means a rebate for the purchase or lease of a new or used light-
duty zero-emission vehicle with an electrochemical storage capacity or a plug-in hybrid
electric vehicle issued through the Charge Ahead Program.

(3) “DEQ” is the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality or a contractor selected by
DEQ.

(4) “Eligible vehicle” means a motor vehicle that:
(a) Quialifies as a:

(A) Light-duty zero-emission vehicle with an electrochemical energy storage capacity;
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(B) Plug-in hybrid electric vehicle;

(C) Neighborhood electric vehicle; or

(D) Zero-emission motorcycle;

(b) Is new, or has been previously used only as a dealership floor model or test-drive vehicle;
(c) Has not previously been registered in Oregon;

(d) Is constructed entirely from new parts that have never been the subject of a retail sale;

(e) For motor vehicles as defined in OAR 340-270-0030(7)(d)(A) and (C), and for a motor

vehicle as defined in OAR 340-270-0030(7)(d)(B) that was purchased or leased prior to
January 1, 2022, Hhas a base manufacturer’s suggested retail price of less than $50,000;

(f) For a motor vehicle as defined in 340-270-0030(7)(d)(B), that was purchased or leased on
or after January 1, 2022, has a base manufacturer’s suggested retail price of less than
$60,000;:

(of) Is covered by a manufacturer’s express warranty on the vehicle drive train, including the
applicable energy storage system or battery pack, for at least 24 months from the purchase or
lease date; and

(hg) Is certified by the manufacturer to comply with all applicable federal safety standards
issued by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for new motor vehicles and
new motor vehicle equipment.

(5) “Household” means an individual living alone, a family with or without children, or a
group of individuals who are living together as one economic unit. For all motor vehicles
with a purchase or lease date before the effective date of these rules, DEQ will apply the
definition of household that most benefits the applicant, with this new definition of
household applying retroactively if it is in the benefit of the applicant. For all motor vehicles
with a purchase or lease date on or after the effective date of these rules, DEQ will apply this
new definition of household.

(6) “Lease date” means the day that the lease agreement is signed.

(7) “Light-duty zero-emission vehicle” means a motor vehicle that:

(a) Has a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,500 pounds or less;

(b) Is capable of travelling at a speed of 55 miles per hour or more;

(c) Has at least three wheels; and
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(d) Is powered:

(A) Primarily by an electric battery and may or may not use a flywheel energy storage device
or a capacitor that also stores energy to assist in vehicle operation;

(B) By polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells or proton exchange membrane fuel cells that
use hydrogen fuel and oxygen from the air to produce electricity; or

(C) Primarily by a zero-emission energy storage device that provides enough power for the
vehicle to travel 75 miles or more using only electricity and may or may not use a backup
alternative power unit that does not operate until the energy storage device is fully depleted.

(84) “Low-income service provider” means an organization that provides health, dental,
social, financial, energy conservation or other assistive services to low or moderate income
households in Oregon. Providers must be registered as a 501(c)(3) organization based in
Oregon or have an Oregon-based affiliate at the time the eligible vehicle is purchased or
leased.

(98) “Low income household” means an individual or a household with income less than or
equal to 580 percent of the area median income.

(109) “Moderate income household” means an individual or a household with income less

than or equal to 120-pereent-and-greaterthan-80 percent of the area median income.

(118) “Motor vehicle” has the meaning given that term in ORS 801.360.

(12%) “Neighborhood electric vehicle” means a motor vehicle that:
(a) Is powered using an electric battery;

(b) Has a gross vehicle weight not exceeding 3,000 pounds;

(c) Is capable of traveling at a speed of up to 25 mph; and

(d) Has at least four wheels.

(e) DEQ will require certification to zero-emission standards in California Code of
Regulations Title 13, section 1962.2 to show a vehicle meets these specifications.

(132) “Person” means a person as defined in ORS 174.100 or a public body as defined in
ORS 174.109.

(143) “Plug-in hybrid electric vehicle” means a motor vehicle that:
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(a) Has zero evaporative emissions from its fuel system when operating as an electric
vehicle;

(b) Has an onboard electrical energy storage device with useful capacity of 10 or more miles
of urban dynamometer driving schedule range, as described by the United States
Environmental Protection Agency in 40 CFR 600.116-12, on electricity alone;

(c) Is equipped with an onboard charger;

(d) Is rechargeable from an external connection to an off-board electrical source;

(e) Meets the super ultra-low emission vehicle standards for exhaust emissions, as certified to
standards in California Code of Regulations, Title 13, section 1961(a)(4) (2003);

() Has a warranty of at least 15 years and 150,000 miles on emission control components;
(9) Is capable of travelling at a speed of 55 miles per hour or more;

(h) Has an on-board internal combustion engine; and

(i) Has at least three wheels.

(154) “Purchase date” means the day that the purchase and sales agreement is signed.

(16) “Qualifying household” means a household with income that does not exceed 400
percent of federal poverty quidelines.

(3517) “Used electric vehicle” means a light-duty zero-emission or plug-in hybrid electric
vehicle that:

(a) Would have been eligible for the standard rebate at the time of its original sale or lease
had the rebate program in OAR 340-270-0010 to -0500 existed or;

(b) Is a direct model predecessor of an eligible vehicle as defined in OAR 340-270-
0030(4)(a)(A).

(186) “Vehicle dealer” means:

(a) A person engaged in business in this state that has been issued a vehicle dealer certificate
under ORS 822.020; or

(b) A person engaged in business in another state that would be subject to ORS 822.005 if the
person engaged in business in this state.

(c) It does not include a person who:
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(A) Conducts an event that lasts less than 7 consecutive days, for which the public is charged
admission and at which otherwise eligible vehicles are sold at auction; or

(B) Sells an otherwise eligible vehicle at auction at an event as described in (A).
(17#9) “Zero-emission motorcycle” means a motor vehicle that:

(a) Has zero evaporative emissions from its fuel system;

(b) Is capable of attaining a speed of 55 miles per hour or more;

(c) Is designed to travel on two wheels; and

(d) Is powered by electricity.

(e) DEQ will require documentation of the following as proof that a motorcycle meets these
specifications:

(A) Successful completion of the most current California Zero-Emission Motorcycle
Evaluation Procedure, as defined in California’s Implementation Manual for the Clean
Vehicle Rebate Project; and

(B) Issuance of a “pass” determination and verification that the vehicle meets the specified
range and acceleration requirements by the California Air Resources Board.

(2048) “Zero-emission vehicle” means a motor vehicle that that is certified to zero-emission
standards in California Code of Regulations, Title 13, section 1962.2.

[NOTE: View a PDF of California Implementation Manual by clicking on "Tables" link
below.]

[ED. NOTE: To view attachments referenced in rule text, click here to view rule.]

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill
4059 (2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37

Statutes/Other Implemented: 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill 4059
(2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37, 2021 Or. Laws, Ch. 95, 8§ 4a, 5,
6,8and 9

History:

DEQ 2-2020, amend filed 01/24/2020, effective 01/24/2020

DEQ 21-2019, temporary amend filed 09/27/2019, effective 09/29/2019 through 03/26/2020
DEQ 6-2019, amend filed 01/28/2019, effective 01/28/2019

DEQ 186-2018, adopt filed 05/14/2018, effective 05/14/2018

340-270-0400
Charge Ahead Program
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(1) OAR 340-270-0400 through -0430 establish the requirements for the Charge Ahead
Program.

(2) The Charge Ahead Program will provides rebates only for the purchase or lease of new or
used vehicles that meet the requirements of OAR 340-270-0410 if the purchaser;

(a) For the vehicles purchased or leased prior to January 1, 2022, is from a low or moderate-
incomeguatifying household during the year the vehicle was purchased or leased; or-

(b) For vehicles purchased or leased on or after January 1, 2022, is from a qualifying
household or is a low-income service provider during the year the vehicle was purchased or
leased.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill
4059 (2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37

Statutes/Other Implemented: 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill 4059
(2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37, 2021 Or. Laws, Ch. 95, 8§ 4a, 5,
6,8and 9

History:

DEQ 2-2020, amend filed 01/24/2020, effective 01/24/2020

DEQ 21-2019, temporary amend filed 09/27/2019, effective 09/29/2019 through 03/26/2020
DEQ 186-2018, adopt filed 05/14/2018, effective 05/14/2018

340-270-0420
Amount of Charge Ahead Program Rebate

(1) 4)-The amount of the Charge Ahead rebate is:

(a) For vehicles purchased or leased prior to January 1, 2022, $2,500 per vehicle or

(b) For vehicles purchased or leased on or after January 1, 2022, $5,000 per vehicle.

(2) A Charge Ahead rebate may be combined with a standard rebate under OAR 340-270-
0110 if the applicant meets the requirements in OAR 340-270-0100.

(3) DEQ will set the rebate amounts annually. If DEQ determines that the rebate amounts
should be adjusted, DEQ will engage in rulemaking to adjust the rebate amounts.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill
4059 (2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37

Statutes/Other Implemented: 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill 4059
(2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37, 2021 Or. Laws, Ch. 95, 8§ 4a, 5,
6,8and 9

History:

DEQ 2-2020, amend filed 01/24/2020, effective 01/24/2020
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DEQ 21-2019, temporary amend filed 09/27/2019, effective 09/29/2019 through 03/26/2020
DEQ 186-2018, adopt filed 05/14/2018, effective 05/14/2018

340-270-0430
Requirements for Charge Ahead Program Rebates

(1) A person may only apply for a rebate if the person:
(@) Owns or leases a vehicle that meets the requirements established in OAR 340-270-0410;
(b) If leasing a vehicle, has a minimum lease term of 24 months;

(c) Intends to retain the registration of the eligible vehicle for a minimum of 24 consecutive
months after the purchase or lease date; and

(d) Is an Oregon resident.
(2) To qualify for a Charge Ahead rebate, an applicant must:
(a) Apply using a form approved by DEQ);

(b) Provide information and documentation sufficient to allow DEQ to verify that the
applicant purchased or leased a vehicle that meets the requirements established in OAR 340-
270-0410;

(c) Provide sufficient information to allow DEQ to determine that:

(A) For vehicles purchased or leased prior to January 1, 2022, the applicant is a member of a
low or moderate-income household during the year the vehicle was purchased or leased.
DEQ will rely on documentation of an applicant’s household income from the year the
vehicle was purchased or leased or, if that information is unavailable or inadequate, from a
previous year. DEQ will rely on the most recent area median income determinations of the
Housing and Community Services Department available at the time of application; or-

(B) For vehicles purchased or leased on or after January 1, 2022, that either:

(i) The applicant is a member of a qualifying household during the year the vehicle was
purchased or leased. DEQ will rely on documentation of an applicant’s household income
from the year the vehicle was purchased or leased or, if that information is unavailable or
inadequate, from a previous year. DEQ will rely on the most recent federal poverty level
determinations of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services available at the time of

application; or

(ii) The applicant is a low income service provider during the year the vehicle was purchased
or leased. The applicant must provide documentation to DEQ to demonstrate that it provides
services to low and moderate income individuals, households, or both. DEQ will exercise its
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discretion to determine whether that the applicant has provided sufficient information to
demonstrate that it meets this requirement.

(d) Purchase or lease an eligible vehicle from a vehicle dealer or an original equipment
manufacturer, that does not have licensed franchised new automobile dealers in Oregon;

(e) Provide proof of registration of the vehicle that meets the requirements established in
OAR 340-270-0410 in Oregon;

(f) Submlt an ppllcatlon Wlthln 6 months after the vehicle purchase or Iease date—exeetha{

(9) Provide any additional information and documentation requested by DEQ that is
necessary to ascertain that the applicant qualifies for a rebate;

(h) Provide information requested by DEQ that DEQ determines is necessary to ascertain that
the person is not buying, selling, or leasing vehicles in a manner that circumvents the intent
of the Charge Ahead Program, including an attestation that the person has not in the past
owned or leased the vehicle for which a rebate is sought; and

(i) Participate in ongoing research efforts and surveys regarding the program.

(3) Recipients may assign the rebate to a vehicle dealer, or to an original equipment
manufacturer that does not have licensed franchised new automobile dealers in Oregon. The
limit established in subsection (5) of this rule does not apply to vehicle dealers or automobile
manufacturers who receive rebate assignments pursuant to this section.

(4) Recipients may not make or allow any modifications to the vehicle’s emission-control
systems, hardware, or software calibrations, or the vehicle’s hybrid system.

(5) The application review process established by OAR 230-270-0200 will apply to
applications for Charge Ahead rebates.

(6) The vehicle ownership requirements established by OAR 230-270-0300 will apply to
Charge Ahead Rebates.

(7) DEQ will conduct community outreach to low income households, moderate-income
households and community-based organizations, in order to:

(@) Solicit feedback on program implementation; and
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(b) Take steps to ensure the program is promoted effectively.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill
4059 (2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37

Statutes/Other Implemented: 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill 4059
(2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37, 2021 Or. Laws, Ch. 95, 8§ 4a, 5,
6,8and 9

History:

DEQ 2-2020, amend filed 01/24/2020, effective 01/24/2020

DEQ 21-2019, temporary amend filed 09/27/2019, effective 09/29/2019 through 03/26/2020
DEQ 186-2018, adopt filed 05/14/2018, effective 05/14/2018

340-270-0500
Allocation of Rebate Funding

DEQ will allocate at least 210 percent of available moneys deposited per biennium into the
Zero-Emission Incentive Fund for rebates under the Charge Ahead Program.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 468.020, 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill
4059 (2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37

Statutes/Other Implemented: 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, House Bill 4059
(2018), Sec. 18-21 & House Bill 2592 (2019), Sec. 35-37, 2021 Or. Laws, Ch. 95, 8§ 4a, 5,
6,8and 9

History:

DEQ 2-2020, amend filed 01/24/2020, effective 01/24/2020

DEQ 21-2019, temporary amend filed 09/27/2019, effective 09/29/2019 through 03/26/2020
DEQ 186-2018, adopt filed 05/14/2018, effective 05/14/2018
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